We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2016

From our arrivlal and greeting in Reception to service at dinner and breakfast all the staff we encountered including housekeeping are a credit to this hotel. Their friendly approach and helpful attitude ensured our stay was most enjoyable.
We had a three course dinner and breakfast included in our stay which was bought as a Christmas present from our daughter. The food was well presented and plentiful at dinner together with our friendly waitress Annie it was most enjoyable. The bar staff were attentive everyone involved seemed to enjoy their work. Breakfast was plentiful and hot served quickly agan by Annie. The only complaint was the sausage at breakfast which had obviously been cooked for some time which made the skin hard and inedible this was a shame as it spoilt an otherwise great breakfast. The hotel is still undergoing some refurbishment I wish them good luck for the future.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was very happy to to that you felt we have "wonderful staff a great stay"

I will pass your comments onto the team who will be delighted that they have helped in creating such a memorable stay for you.

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Lime Leisure Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 444 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay here with my boyfriend. Beautiful surroundings. Went for a lovely walk, so peaceful. Room was nice too. Well worth a visit if you are in the area. Would definitely come back again in the future.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank gemmybear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Guest

Thank yo for such a positive review. I was delighted to read that you had such a "lovely stay" at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Lime Leisure Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here quite a few times and it doesn't fail to surprise me every time I stay.
The staff are fantastic particularly the bar/restaurant staff.
The rooms are very clean and to a pretty good standard with comfortable beds, safe etc.
Unfortunately once again the pool was out of order which I was slightly annoyed about but the gym made up for this by have new equipment installed.
I truly think the staff and the food in the bar/restaurant could teach other mainline hotels a thing or two. I didn't get their names but they are always friendly, approachable and helpful.
Breakfast is excellent.
I always try to book the leisure break as this provides the best value in my eyes.
Go and stay there you will understand why I think it is so good.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
Thank drjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and repeat business, we really do appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Lime Leisure Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

We arrived only to be told we had been double booked, to which they showed very little concern and were extremely unhelpful.. only when we kicked up a fuss were are complaints taken seriously and eventually came up.with another room.
This room was most certainly not to the standard we had booked for.
The noise was ridiculous and continued into the early hours when sleep.became possible only to woken a couple of hours later (around 5 am) by the staff arriving and deliveries.

Our complaints were yet again shrugged off on check out.

Extremely poor.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

As this review is fictitious,it was posted in an attempt to damage our business as we were to host an event on behalf of the Braes of Derwent.

The event is not proceeding. As we have listened to our genuine customers.

We have had no double bookings, our deliveries do not arrive at this time of day, nor could any of our guests hear them as the delivery gates are not located within the vicinity of the guest rooms.

This is a blatant attempt to damage our business and as such threatens many jobs with such inaccuracies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

My husband and I stayed here for the Fizz Friday deal as a gift from our children. We arrived early to use the pool and were pleasantly surprised to be told our room was ready for us. Our room was clean and had everything we could need including 2 double beds. We used the pool which was a nice although a little cold. Our evening meal was not served in the restaurant due to refurbishments but the room we ate in was lovely. The meal its self was beautiful as was breakfast. We enjoyed drinks and a game of pool in the bar afterwards. All in all a delightful stay, staff are excellent and can not do enough for you. Will definitely return and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us for our "Fizz Friday" offer.

I am very happy that you had such an enjoyable experience at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest regards

Keith Donkin
Director
Lime Leisure Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
25.2 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
737 reviews
26.7 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,204 reviews
14.2 km away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,595 reviews
33.8 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
19.2 km away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: $129 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing