We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slaley Hall(Slaley)
US$219
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$260
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Beamish Park Hotel(Marley Hill)
US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$88
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$38
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,573)
Filter reviews
1,575 results
Traveller rating
713
525
176
91
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
525
176
91
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsderwent manortwo double bedsleisure facilitiescourse mealon arrivallovely hotelgrand hallrestaurant staffgroupon dealbar mealsthree coursessauna and jacuzzievery member of staffwedding venuelovely settingroom was largeafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 1,575 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We went up in a large family group booking several rooms to attend the Polar Express trip. For the price & star rating we were very happy witg what we got. The rooms could do with a bit if modernisation but the hotel was clean & tidy throughout with the communal areas having a rustic charm to them. Nice food in the bar / restaurant and the children all made to feel very welcome.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank triploverCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent family trip.

All of our bedrooms have undergone refurbishment, along with our Bar and Restaurant.

We are pleased to hear you were made to feel welcome and enjoyed the food.

We hope you will return in 2018 to see the the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Overnight stay for my wife's birthday.
Location, food and facilities all fantastic. Newly decorated rooms tastefully done. Staff warm and helpful. Great price too. Would definitely recommend and will stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We got a great deal for dinner, bed and breakfast for the weekend. When we arrived we were told we were in the apartments due to a wedding being on. The apartment was perfect for us, with a lovely living room which enabled us to invite my parents the next evening for some drinks.
The food was delicious at the restaurant and we got a complimentary round of drinks one evening by the lovely manager as our starter took a while-this was much appreciated!
My husband and I had an amazing weekend, with some lovely walks and plenty of time spent in the spa overlooking the incredible view. So restful! All of the staff are lovely but special thanks must go to Christine, who went above and beyond and got us fresh towels after the spa plus some tea bags as we had run out. She os a huge asset to the hotel. We felt very well cared for during our whole visit and cannot wait to return. Thank you.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Flamegirl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Flamegirl1982,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and shall pass over you special thanks to Christine who will be most grateful.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We booked this as a cheap 2 night deal with dinner so we weren't expecting much.The hotel has recently been refurbished and looks incredible.we got a 3 course meal each night and was incredible. The room was well decorated and bed was comfy. There is a small pool and hot tub with a gym upstairs. I would not to hesitate to recommend this place a very pleasant surprise.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

3 days after our wedding we put an 17 point complaint in which wasn’t even acknowledged by higher management leading to me taking in a 19 point complaint on 2nd January 2017.

I went in to have a meeting with the owner on the 19th January where I was made out to be a liar along with my husband & cake maker.

Everything was either a slight oversight on their behalf or someone had misread what was written in the contract when it was clear that this could not be the case.

What ever you do don’t trust these people with your wedding - they ruined our wedding day then tried to act as though it was nothing…They had me ringing our cake maker on our wedding day & were lying to us at the same time…but that was a slight oversight!

It was disgusting how we were treat & they took money off us for items they did not supply on the day but the owner & those at Best Western were not interested.

A couple of things yes but not 19 things...I would hate for any other couple t have what happened to us happen to them so just don't

Room Tip: don't waste your money
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank migglyban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your further feedback regarding your wedding on 11th December 2016.

As a director of Lime Leisure that owns the hotel and that of Best Western, I assure you we took your feedback seriously and fully acknowledged your concerns that were brought to our attention and categorically refute your allegation that we were not interested.

As a hotel we always conduct ourselves with honesty and integrity and assure you that we had done this prior, on your wedding day and post wedding in dealing with your feedback. I am also aware that you had issues with other suppliers who were part of your wedding day; where you also posted and or threatened to post negative reviews unless refunds were given.

As discussed in depth in the meeting between ourselves and our operations manager, we acknowledged that we had misread one or two points that you had brought to our attention and I apologize once again unreservedly for this.

With regard to the cutting of your wedding cake; I fully stand by the decision to contact your cake maker for clarification of how this had to be cut as it was not a traditional cake and we were fully aware of the need to cut your novelty Dr Who cake in a specific way and did not wish to do this incorrectly.

We as a hotel were fully aware of how important your wedding day was and as a result of this even though your wedding coordinator had left our employment, who you had built up a very good relationship with during the planning of your wedding. So much so you often arrived at the hotel to see your coordinator without an appointment for events that were not directly associated with the wedding venue. With this relationship she agreed to return to run your wedding some four weeks after leaving our employment.

You also fail to mention in your review that you did receive a partial refund for the items that we agreed were incorrect.

Once again thank you for your continued feedback and we wish you a long and prosperous marriage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews