We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shallowdale House
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel(Huby)(Great Value!)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
43
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguests feel welcomewarm welcomegreat hostsphilipyorkshirehelmsley
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

On arriving at Shallowdale house we were met by Phillip with a very warm welcome. As soon as we climbed the stairs to the first landing the first thing I said was WOW ! The views are absolutely stunning. The bedrooms are really comfortable and spacious. The breakfasts were fabulous , fresh local produce cooked superbly by Phillip and served impeccably by Anton. We ate dinner one night while staying and this was just as good as any Michelin star restaurant , also we had the restaurant to our selves.
Anton and Phillip are warm and friendly and very attentive , however the respect your privacy but still make you feel like you are a member of their family staying in their beautiful home. Cannot wait to return and would highly recommend .

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Shallowdale House is a delightful house in a delightful,nay,stunning location.The welcome from the proprietors was warm and friendly. The House is beautifully furnished with a wide variety of excellent paintings. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms contain all necessary facilities and toiletries. The breakfasts are a great start to the day and the dinners are sumptuous and of a higher standard than many first-class hotels. To stay at Shallowdale House is like visiting a favourite friend in his beautiful home

Room Tip: The view from all windows is breathtaking and a wonderful sight to start the day as one wakes in the morning
Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

I have been visiting here for over 10 years. That says it all. A wonderful place and my idea of heaven. The views are out of this world and the hospitality outstanding. Thoroughly recommended. I shall be returning.

Room Tip: Everything one could wish for.
Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A4817GYjennya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

The house is spotless and beautifully decorated. The welcome is great and one feels treated like a member of the family. The tea offered in the afternoon is super. It is well worth having dinner one evening as the food is good quality and delicious. Breakfast is fantastic.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great.
Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank georgejosephp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Only downside, for me the bed was too hard. Breakfasts were 5 star. Our hosts know how to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. The room was comfortable, clean and I loved the fresh coffee. The bathroom is well appointed. The provision of a shower cap was a nice touch. The views across country are lovely.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews