We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Ribs”
Review of The Fat Cow

The Fat Cow
Ranked #27 of 118 Restaurants in Mount Maunganui
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Shared pork rib meal (fries and coleslaw and pickles) for dinner. Service was friendly and efficient and our meal was delicious. We will definitely return next time we are back in The Mount.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank njp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2021

We visited here for dinner on a week day recently. We opted for the sharing platter and it was amazing! There were different kinds of meat including pulled pork and brisket as well as dinner rolls, fries and coldslaw. It was a little pricy but given the location it was definitely worth the money - more than enough for two and very delicious. The restaurant is spacious, has a good selection of other items on the menu and has some great cocktails as well as local wines and beers. It is a popular place so would recommend booking a table. Highly recommend giving it a visit when at the mount.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KiwiTraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2021 via mobile

So so disappointing. Really wanted to give it a fabulous review as the food was incredible. We are a young couple in our mid twenties and felt utterly unwelcome and out of place by the staff. They asked for our credit card, which we noticed they did not do for other people. We also had to go up to the bar to order as they appeared to have forgotten about us. Staff were super unfriendly and made us feel so uncomfortable that we pretty much scoffed the food and left. Quite a horrible experience for what was supposed to be a nice dinner out.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank annaphnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Taco was absoloutely delicious, also had buttermilk chicken, dumplings and brie which was also great. Friendly service and amazing food.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Hazeypaige05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021 via mobile

Mind evening dinner. Quickly seated and given a run down of how the place runs. Drinks ordered and arrived in double quick time. Starter order taken, staff member had a refreshing and positive persona about her. Buffalo Chicken Wings YUM ! Spicy and Tangy, did I mention YUM?! Mains order taken, can’t go past a good scotch fillet steak. Cooked perfectly, awesome roast potatoes along with a tasty green salad. Double YUM. Recommended to all who haven’t been. No need to recommend to those who have as they know already !!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank camerona648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Cow also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to The Fat Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.