We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant lunch”

The Valley Restaurant
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Description: The Valley Restaurant is a modern take on fine dining without the high price tag. We offer a great selection of meals, our mains are designed to be able to share your side dishes, giving you the option of trying several different sides. Bookings are essential for groups larger than 4.
Restaurant details
Description: The Valley Restaurant is a modern take on fine dining without the high price tag. We offer a great selection of meals, our mains are designed to be able to share your side dishes, giving you the option of trying several different sides. Bookings are essential for groups larger than 4.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was good but far to expensive.
Service extremely slow.
Definitely not worth the money especially when you have to get your own drinks from the bar.
If you want to charge top prices then you need to provide quicker service and provide table service drinks.
Won't be returning

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Z7327ZYjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a big family dinner here last night, and my husband and I also dined here a couple weeks ago. Both experiences were outstanding.

This isn’t wanky, fancy, pretty small portion food. This is super well-balanced, filling and tasty meals. I had the butterflied barramundi with a lemon butter sauce (no bones - how did they do that?!?!) perfectly cooked and seasoned. The risotto and garden salad were simple, but super yummy and were perfect accompaniments! We tried popcorn shrimp, pork spring rolls and squid for appetizers - all amazing with super tasty, zingy dipping sauces. All the other dinners last night - schnitzels, steaks, salmon and pork belly were rated 5/5 by the family.

We had cheesecake and chocolate lava cake for dessert (recommend the lava cake with raspberry sorbet - divine!!!)

We are officially huge fans of the Valley Restaurant and will travel to dine there as long as chef Jordy stays!!! My only suggestion, which really has nothing to do with the restaurant, is that the bar really needs an improved wine menu selection to pair with such delicious food. The wine choices aren’t very exciting.

So happy to have discovered this gem during our brief rental time in Maito!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2021 via mobile

Wow, wow, wow! Chef Jordy, you've excelled yourself again! Lamb rump with cauliflower au gratin plus mushrooms and spinach: every mouthful was a taste sensation! The lamb was awesome, cauliflower was crisp and tasty, the dressing on the mushrooms and spinach was divine: all together it was awesome, then.....creme brulee for desert. This was a dish where each mouthful was savoured, enjoying the taste, before taking another spoonful and savouring the fresh taste again! I've run out of superlatives! A truly sensational dinner. Do yourself a favour if you're in the Maitland area; go to East's Leisure Golf and Bowling Club and dine at The Valley Restaurant! It's sublime! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Eaglerider53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2021

With three nights in Morpeth for a short break, we chose this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. The chef has had a load of experience both here and overseas, and it shows in his cheerful and thoughtful menu. We chose the Chicken Saltimbocca with sides of green beans and bacon and chunky fries, and the Pork Belly with an Asian sauce, Asian greens and chunky fries. Both meals were beautifully cooked and the creamy Parmesan sauce on the chicken Saltimbocca was finger licking good and the pork belly tender and moist. Having a choice of sides and sauces is a great concept. We would happily return any time.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank Elless111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021

Having just moved to this area recently, we are lucky enough to call this our local restaurant. The food is well cooked, flavours are terrific and its well presented. Not what you expect from a club! When you select your main, you can choose 1 sauce and 2 sides from the menu. We've been having fun experimenting, putting a sauce you wouldn't normally have with the mains. Its reasonably priced, very good value for money. I highly recommend the duck, and if you are really hungry, the gnocci would probably feed a small country. All of the staff, and I'm ashamed to say I don't know their names yet, are excellent, friendly and very knowledgeable about their menu. Chef Jordy is doing a great job, if I were him I would be pushing for a wider wine list - they only have 1 Shiraz! And I'm being really picky, but the tables are very "Club". I'm not a great lover of tablecloths, but in this instance it would add to the ambiance and give more of a restaurant feel.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FussyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Valley Restaurant also viewed

Maitland, Greater Newcastle
 
East Maitland, Maitland
 

Been to The Valley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.