We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
17
19
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
19
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference roomhawkesbury riverdrinking waterfive starphone receptiona great place to relaxthe main househostschrisferndalemicrowavequiltingpropertybungalow
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2017

We stayed in a log cabin that looked over the Hawkesbury River. Whether you were sipping you coffee at breakfast or having a sunset drink the views over the river were breath-taking. Cabin had lots of room and it is a truly peaceful setting. Would recommend this place!

Room Tip: This location is away from the crowds so bring your extra nibbles and drinks
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank jeffmonicabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Ferndale is a five star destination for me. It is not a five star destination in a conventional sense - the bungalows are basic but homely, the power went off, there is no phone reception (except at the hall and dining room). But who cares? It is a magnificent getaway in the beautiful Hawkesbury; so close to Sydney city, yet so far. The location is magnificent. The hosts are friendly and urbane. The dinner and breakfast were fantastic home-cooked fare. A great place to relax. Great price. What more could you want? (And, somewhat ironically, it turns out to be the place that my sisters have been going to for years on their quilting retreats.)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank littlehawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Fantastic craft weekend getaway with some amazing ladies, I have been going to Ferndale for 19 years. Great views, nice food, lovely warm clean cabins.Great place to unwind & relax, take a long walk, read a good book or just enjoy the amazing views... Look forward to going every year, with a lovely group of ladies... Highly recommended...

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Old tired dirty messy only stayed one night instead of two would not recomend it.Very dissapointed after reading other reviews this property needs a lot of money spent to bring it up to date. It could be fabulous it wasn't

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

It was yet another last minute weekend getaway. Approximately one hour drive from Sydney. We were warmly welcomed by the hosts with some recommendations in the surrounding. It was a delight to see our cottage overlooking the Hawkesbury river. The owners should definitely work on their marketing on river views as this was a pleasant surprise for us at the price we paid.
Cottages are not modern but definitely serve all the purposes. Although we booked a one bed cottage we were upgraded to a twin with plenty of space.
The phone reception was the only negative aspect but you can use WiFi for free at few locations. The decent breakfast worth every penny.

Room Tip: Play some tennis
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews