We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Meems' Elliston B&B
Nearby Hotels
Russelltown Inn(Bonavista)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast(Bonavista)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaport Inn(Port Union)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherwood Suites(Port Rexton)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
31
5
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
5
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroot cellarscommon roomone of a kindeggs cooked to orderb bhomemade muffinslovely roomfriendly hostsrooms were very cleandelicious breakfasthome away from homecomfortable bedpuffinsbergsmilacurtainshike
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017

I cannot say enough about how lovely, warm and generous our hosts were at Meem's. Maila and Rashid are great sources of informed knowledge of where to hike, where to swim, where to grab a great coffee, where to find the best seafood. But the best breakfast anywhere is to be found with them, in the lovely room off the kitchen where we were treated to freshly baked muffins daily, the finest poached eggs anywhere, and an assortment of delicious jams, fresh fruit and homemade yogurt. The rooms were lovingly furnished, very comfortable--and adorned with fresh wildflowers daily. If all that weren't enough, there is always the stunningly gorgeous location--a little village nestled amongst sea cliffs, with puffins, whales, icebergs and several wonderful hiking trails all within walking distance. And if THAT weren't enough, take a 10 minute walk down the road along the ocean to the sandy beach cove, and savour the best cheeseburger of your life. I have already booked Meem's for a week next year. July 2018. Can't wait.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and quiet. You'll never breathe fresher air anywhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meems13_11, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thanks so much for such a superlative review, Ann! We can't wait for you to come back with the whole famn damily. Hopefully, we'll have it running all that much better, so's to be able to spend more time enjoying the local sites & adventures along with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We had a lovely room at the rear of the home... very quiet. We went to this area to see puffins and icebergs and it was perfect for both. We were served a delicious breakfast...home made muffins...jams... eggs etc.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katiej50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rashid_13, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Elliston seldom disappoints, that's for sure. Glad you found it comfortable here, and had a good stay. Hope to see you again, sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Friends of ours recommended this place and we were delighted to spend 2 nights with Maila and Rashid, the owners of this one-of-a-kind B 8 B. They were so accommodating and took excellent care of us, providing a delicious breakfast and my favourite - real Indian chai! The room was comfortable and the mattress excellent.

Elliston is well situated - 10 minutes away from Bonavista, with easy access to 2 stunning oceanside trails. We went when the puffins were nesting and the access to these beautiful birds were just minutes away from the Meems' The icebergs were beyond surreal. Elliston is a very quiet town which suited us very well. There is a charming restaurant nearby located in an old church.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jaanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rashid_13, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

It was a treat for us having you come visit. Hope our paths cross again, sometime. Thanks for this lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Great people with real values. Great breakfast, clean rooms, location hard to beat. Hosts were very happy to help out with directions suggestions and anything else we asked about. Ice Bergs were the order of the day in Elliston; the Craft Store on the waterfront held pleasant surprises with Wilbur Hobbs, antler carver, as host, and the icebergs as a backdrop. Enjoyed the walking, the proximity to Bonavista and The Dungeons, Root Cellars, and Puffins. Would go back in a heartbeat. The road coming into Elliston is bad, but the hosts told us how to travel without using that road.

Room Tip: Did not see other than one I stayed in - which was clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meems13_11, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017


Thanks so much for this superlative review!
We will definitely share your lovely mention of Wilber Hobbes' Crafts shop with him.
Sincerely hope to cross paths again, sooner than later. You are always most welcome at Meems', and we look forward to your next visit.
All good things,
Rashid & Maila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

I stayed at the Meems' B&B for the duration of a month. I was out there on business. I could not be happier with the hosts and their hospitality. Rashid and Maila's food was great and there was always something different and exciting to look forward to for dinner. It was a clean environment. Although they were always available when I needed something, I also had my own space that was required for business. Rashid and Maila are very friendly and even through the stormy weather we were able to laugh and I always had great company. I will be returning on my future trips. Thanks to Rashid and Maila for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenefitsWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meems13_11, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Jose, you're a 5-star guest, and a veritable member of the family, now! We'll be delighted to welcome you back anytime. Hopefully, one day, on holiday!
A huge thanks (specially from Rashid) for taking the time to write this review.
Till next time, take good care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews