We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Meems' Elliston B&B
Nearby Hotels
Seaport Inn(Port Union)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
34
5
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
5
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroot cellarsdelicious indian foodcommon roomone of a kindeggs cooked to orderlovely hostscomfortable bedhomemade muffinslovely roomrooms were very cleanhome away from homepuffinsgoabergsmilacurtainshike
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017

I just spent 8 wonderful days at The Meems'. First of all, If you haven't seen this part of the globe--GO! Go now while the unspoiled natural beauty still reigns. And when you go, stay at The Meems'. It's a charming, delicious B & B that's full of atmosphere and local colour. The rooms are cozy and comfortable with wild flower bouquets and beautiful touches of India (curtains and duvet covers)--and modern, private bathrooms. We began our day with a delicious home-cooked breakfast--eggs cooked to order and each day accompanied by some sort of gustatory surprise: a different type of jam or confiture, edible flowers, buckwheat pancakes--while looking out the dinning room window onto the picturesque village of Elliston. Our hosts, Maila and Rachid, made our sojourn even more enjoyable. They are welcoming and warm and can guide you to the best of everything in the area: coffee, cheesecake, shops, swimming holes and hiking trails--each one somehow more jaw-droppingly beautiful than the last--and if you're lucky, you might get to hear an iceberg cracking as you hike on the cliff edge above. You might even get to have your water cooled with 25,000 year old ice. The ocean is just a short distance from the B & B--and magnificent puffin watching cliffs just a walk away (on the way back from the puffins, I stopped for lunch and ate one of the best burgers of my life). I loved the area and I loved staying at The Meems', It was my first time staying there, but it will not be my last time.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lauramitchell2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meems13_11, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Holy mackerel, Laura! Somehow, or other, we never got around to responding to this gorgeously stellar revue...blush.
Thanks so much, and please do come back one day with your queriiido husband for another kind of divine relax here in Elliston, one of the Rock's gems! We offer our return guests preferential rates, and a guaranteed fabulous stay, too, hey... So sorry for the awful delay with this reply. ;(

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Very clean, comfortable and friendly hosts.

Rooms have private bathrooms, which is a big plus as well as laundry. TV in main room, but not in bedrooms.

Close to main puffin site as well as Bonavista Peninsula.

Matt

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MattF1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We had a larger room with a separate entrance. It was clean and pleasant, though I would have enjoyed more lighting. Breakfast was very good. Good location for exploring Elliston and surrounding region.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxtail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

You couldn't ask for a cleaner, brighter, more comfortable place to stay anywhere. The hosts are welcoming and warm, and ready to give great advice about hikes, restaurants, and shops, as well as information about the local flora and fauna.
The breakfasts at The Meems' were delicious: fresh fruit salad, jams made from local ingredients, homemade muffins each day, everything fresh and flavorful, with plenty of variety. The beds were super-comfortable, the bathrooms clean and pretty, and the whole house is decorated beautifully, with colorful curtains and table cloths brought from India by the hosts. All in all, this B and B provides real warmth and comfort, great hospitality, and great food, in a pristine natural environment that couldn't be more beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycamper528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meems13_11, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Aw, well thanks so much for this lovely review! We try our best to offer exactly what we'd like to find in accommodation, but that doesn't always suit everyone. Very happy you felt comfortable & enjoyed staying with us. Please come back some time, as there's lots more to do, see, and experience in this gorgeous neck of the woods. We offer special Rates to our return guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Four friends and I recently spent a reunion-holiday at Meems and must thank Maila and Rashid for their fabulous hospitality and first-rate food in one of the loveliest places on earth. Eggs any way you want, muffins, fresh fruit and yogurt, homemade beans, etc., etc. Puffins, eagles, icebergs, whales, hiking, the ocean! What on earth are you waiting for?

Room Tip: All rooms have en suite bathrooms and the "family room" has a private entrance.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MontrealLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meems13_11, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

It was a colossal pleasure for us to have such a bevy of fabulous women such as you all here with us. Thanks so much for your lovely review, and we look veeeery forward to your next visit in whatever constellation you travel in, whatsoever. Keep in mind that we have preferential discount rates for our return guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews