We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
59
9
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
9
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams wonderful breakfast excellent hosts other guests bonavista peninsula puffins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

Great location, clean, they no longer serve breakfast. Which is a problem because the nearest breakfast restaurant is 10 km away. The first day they were kind enough to make muffins for us, which got us through as we wanted to go to the local puffin colony.

Room tip: Bring food
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tourist19985024456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rashid Lone, General Manager at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Due to Covid-19 issues, we have reduced our rates & now serve a simple coffee/tea & fresh-baked something, or other, to all our guests. This is clearly stated online, and we are sorry you were disappointed. You must have got caught up in all the breakfast descriptions of past reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2020

Myself and my two adult children were stuck to find accomodation after two AirBnB cancellations in one week in this area! Then we called Maila and lucked in to staying with her and Rashid!! Such a great stay. Their welcoming hospitality & easy-going nature was just what we needed. We stayed in the family suite, which was great-- had private entrance, private bathroom, ample space, comfy. Only issue is that it's a tad musty/ damp-- but may be due to age of house-- we also didn't open the windows - so that would help.
BnB is in a perfect scenic location with parking, use of backyard, firepit (although we didn't use it-- but they would accomodate it). Maila and Rashid made us excellent hot breakfasts and for a reasonable price- we also had a delicious authentic Indian supper one night (way better than we would get at overpriced, trendy restaurants nearby!). Also very open to us having our own snacks in fridge, or taking along fruit, muffins that they had on our day trips. It is noteworthy that Maila and Rashid are very environmentally/eco conscious, so the lack of microwave, processed foods/ junk available- may not be for everyone-- but we certainly embraced it -- buckwheat pancakes and homemade condiments for breakfast were the best- they will accomodate and make you alternate food. We didn't use tv-room, but wifi was good for us. I highly recommend it and would stay again--- just for hospitality and extras alone !

Room tip: Family room separate entrance and large.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddymom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Abdul Lone, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2020

Thanks so very much for taking the time to post your excellent feedback.

Good that you"ve reminded us to turn on the heater in the Family Room when it has been vacant for a few days, and to point out that it is there to use as needed.

Thanks for the positive critique, as well. Our heads are a bit swelled up, but it sure is nice to feel appreciated from time to time. By all means, now that you know where we are, Tracy, come back anytime, with any constellation. You can be sure that we'll offer you our best hospitality at the special, preferential rates offered to our return guests!

Thanks & all good things,

Maila & Rashid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2020

Meem's B and B was reasonably priced.Great hosts.Superb,quality cooked meals.I would strongly recommend staying with Maila and Rashid.My son and I stayed for three amazing days and didn't want to leave.The breakfasts were unbelievable (homemade jams,homemade Montreal bagels,Chai tea,super scrambled eggs.)Main meals were mouthwatering and very,very delicious.Anyone staying in the Bonavista area on vacation should definitely stay at Meem's for the unbelievable hospitality,great cooked meals and amazing friendly hosts.We got more than our money's worth staying at Meem's Band B.
Thanks Maila and Rashid for making our stay at your B and B such a great experience.
Mike Ryan Marystown,NL

Room tip: All rooms are very clean and quiet to stay in.They are even pet friendly.
Date of stay: June 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikerJ8748GX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Abdul Lone, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2020

You are tooo kind, and how amazingly auspicious for you and your lovely family to be our very first guests of this crazy year! You're officially part of the Meems' team, and we look forward to spending more delicious time with you & yours, Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2019

These hosts give new meaning to "Going above and beyond." Not only were they gracious enough to allow us to bring our dogs, they even offered to dog sit for us while we were out exploring. After an evening of unexpected rain, we return to find our two dogs snuggled up in the host's living space! They took them in so they wouldn't get wet.

But aside from this, the hospitality was beyond comparison, and the stay incredibly comfortable and cozy. The breakfast was generous and the service extremely attentive. Even though one of the hosts was dealing with some post-surgery pain, he was still kind enough to chat with us. Would recommend a thousand times over—dogs or no dogs.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylemooney781
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Abdul Lone, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2020

Anytime, fellahs! Come back for a visit, and please bring along the canines who are adorable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019

I know it was summer, but room was overpriced. Breakfast was beans and scrambled eggs with homemade yogurt, after paying $150 for a very basic room with a shower too small to even consider using. Owner was condescending, with us and with other guests. I've truthfully never been so dissatisfied with a stay, which is a shame. Elliston a lovely place to visit, but for the price something in Bonavista would have been much better option.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgeyegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Meems13_11, Owner at The Meems' Elliston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019


Here's a perfect example of not being able to make everybody happy.
So very sorry that you found our rate high, and bayside humour condescending.

To be fair, breakfast, ALWAYS includes homemade granola, a variety of jams/preserves, some freshly baked items, lots of fruit, as well as eggs to order, with different sides, and we ask that anybody with dietary issues let us know, so we provide a suitable choice of menu.

We include quite an array of COMPLIMENTARY services here at the Meems', such as unlimited teas & coffee & spring water, as well as doggie bags for the hikers, laundry service, and great tips/pointers about what's on the go in the vicinity,
Our rooms may be basic, but spotlessly clean, the mattresses very good, and the linens line-dried.
As for the shower being small, we would have gladly arranged for you to use a larger one, or even a bathtub, had you voiced your dissatisfaction. Just like it says in the guidelines posted in your room, "You name it, we'll do our best to provide it".



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews