We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
yescapade.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Riu.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,250)
Filter reviews
9,250 results
Traveller rating
3,415
3,154
1,528
612
541
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,415
3,154
1,528
612
541
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riu guanacaste costa rica sports bar zip lining monkey bar pura vida steak horseback riding italian restaurant specialty restaurants howler monkeys hot springs ocean view make reservations rainy season black sand sushi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 9,250 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2020

Just come back from the Riu Guanacaste after 2 weeks holiday a lot of negative reviews about this hotel but don't let that put you off as the hotel is very good and the location is excellent a bit isolated but right on the beach ,Check in was excellent quick and easy all keys and paperwork ready as soon as we got their .ROOM was big with a large balcony overlooking the national park and we could see the howler monkeys in the trees at close range, mini bar was great 4 optics with the fridge containing beer, branded mixers sprite, coca cola, Fanta Canada dry and 2 litres of water which was replenished every 2 days, bathroom needed a bit of updating with shower over a sunken bath but was adequate for our needs and the air conditioning was very good with overhead fan which was needed as the temperatures rarely went under 30 degrees .POOLS no need to get up early even though the hotel was full lots of sunbeds both around the pools and on the beach with plenty of shaded areas ,the pool bar is the biggest I have ever seen and was always busy and loud but their where quieter areas around the lower pool area .RESTAURANTS the main buffet restaurant had a great choice of food at breakfast ,lunch, and evening dinner ,and their are 4 additional restaurants Steakhouse ,Asian ,Italian,and fish restaurant we visited them each twice although you need to queue up 20 minutes before they open to book a table on a first come first serve basis which caused a few issues with people but we always got what we wanted and they were worth the wait with a variety of different food served from the main buffet restaurant so it doesn't get repetitive .BARS 5 bars including pool bar including 24 hour sports bar which shows most major sporting events but not English premier league and if you are peckish you can pick up a sandwich ,hot dog ,burger etc the bars also serve branded spirits if you ask for them at no extra charge but if you are a beer drinker they only serve Imperial which is not the best beer I have had and a lot of guests bring the cans from their room which is a better beer .ENTERTAINMENT the animation team work hard not pushy during the day and put on a show at night the highlights were the Pool Party, White Night and the Neon Night the work they put into that was brilliant ,their was a resident band that played a set most nights before a themed show by the animation team ,on sight their is also Pasha Disco and a Casino .STAFF this made it for us they are brilliant whether it be around the pool where you never have an empty glass if you want it ,the bars and restaurants where the staff always have a smile on their face and work so hard ,the gardeners who keep the picturesque gardens immaculate and the cleaners who work so hard to keep the whole complex clean and never stop working .NATURE one of the reasons we picked this hotel was because of the animals that live naturally around the grounds the iguanas that stroll around the pool and sometimes swim across it ,the white faced monkeys that you can feed on the beach who are so friendly the racoons that come out at night and the howler monkeys that you are in touching distance from your our balcony a sight to be seen. The hotel itself has really comfortable seating areas in the vast reception and bars, is kept very clean throughout and lovely gardens right on the beach, it is not perfect and needs a bit of refurbishment in a few areas to make it a bit better than it is but what a great holiday we had .

Room tip: 2ND Floor 2022 overlooks Diamante National Park
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gib186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear gib186258,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share with us your experience and for trusting Riu Hotels & Resorts.

We are glad to know that in general you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Riu Guanacaste and that we lived up to your expectations.

Your feedback is highly appreciated and we will forward it with our Management Team.

It was such a pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back in some of our worldwide hotels in the near future. Wish you all the best in the meanwhile.

Wish you all the best in the meanwhile.

Sincerely,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2020

Some of the reviews for this hotel were not so good so we were a little concerned before we arrived. However we ended up having the best holiday.

The hotel and grounds are really well kept and very clean. The gardens were beautiful and it was lovely walking along the paths, past fountains and palm trees down towards blue ocean and the beautiful beach. The resident Iguanas were amusing to watch on the way. The sound of the ocean and the nature surrounding the hotel made this an unforgettable experience.
We are a middle aged couple and had asked for a quiet room on a higher floor. We were not sure if this would be possible but we were really happy to be given room 4018. This room overlooked Diamante nature reserve and we were able to watch a troop of 10 or more Howler monkeys in the treetops close to our balcony every day. The sounds they made at dawn and dusk let us know they were there! We could also watch the zip liners in the nature park whizzing along.

The room was peaceful and we avoided the noise being made by a few groups of young people who were closer to the courtyard. The room was cleaned to a very high standard every day and the mini-bar was replenished every second day with a good variety of soft drinks and mixers. We often had fresh flowers left on our bed which was so nice. The pillows were very small as stated in other reviews but did not stop us sleeping. The air con was perfect and the ceiling fan helped further during the day. Our wi-fi signal was excellent.The bathroom was spotless but the shower had seen better days but was not a problem. We did not have any mosqiuitos or flies around so did not need repellant. We did not really use the pool area so I cannot comment on that. We just wanted to relax on the beautiful almost wild beach. You can always find a tree to sit under for shade and find a secluded spot to relax. There is not a bar service on the beach but we enjoyed the tranquility and peacefulness. The sand gets very hot so beach shoes are a must. The sea was really warm to swim in and sloped gently. There were a few days with "red flags" due to the waves and currents but generally safe to swim. There are quite a few stones in the water so best to wear swim shoes.Beach towels are available by the pool and there are plenty of sunbeds available. There are a few local beach sellers who are really nice and if you say you are not interested they leave you alone. Some of the things they sell can be haggled down to a good price so it is worth having a look.

We decided not to line up for the restaurants as were were happy with the food in the Liberia Restaurant buffet. There is always a good choice of food and the coffee is delicious. We were usually served by a young lady called Ligia, who was lovely. She always made sure everything was OK and our glasses were never empty. Thank you Ligia, you are a little star.
The food was always hot and cooked to a high standard. A huge selection of salads and fresh bread always available and the deserts were just too good. Breakfast had egg cookng stations, bacon, tomatoes, sausages, cereals, smoothies and just about anything you can think of. Pancakes, waffles, french toast, muffins, doughnuts .....the list goes on.

The evening entertainment looked good but after a long day on the beach we just tended to have a quick cocktail and then get some sleep before our 5:30 am Howler monkey alarm call!
We used USD throughout our stay so it is not important to get Colones. Sun creams cost around $40 at the hotel so bring plenty of your own with you.
Overall, for the way we wanted to use the hotel we could not be more happy. Even without booking day trips there is so much nature around the property, even white faced monkeys further down the beach. We did go on the Sloth Adventure and really enjoyed it.
To sum up, all I can say is that the parts of the hotel we used was perfect. The food was really good and our room was exactly what we had hoped for. Fantastic coffee!
We would really consider coming back to this hotel as for us it was perfect.

Room tip: Rooms facing the nature park eg, 4018, are generally quiet and we were never bothered by too much noise. The pool area is the nosiest area .
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Elainekay42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear Elainekay42,

Thank you for your time and for letting us know your experience. Your positive feedback is gratefully received!

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable time with us!! We can assure you that your compliments are very appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Wish you all the best in meanwhile.

Sincerely,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2020

Great hotel atmosphere. We ate every meal outside. Entertainment at night very good. Room was wonderful. We enjoyed all the staff here. Wild animals were around the edges of the property. Warm,warm weather. Absolutely no bugs. No need for mosquito spray. Best pool I've ever seen.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 3-bcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Dear 3-bcs,

Thank you for the phenomenal review!

We love to hear such positive feedback about our pool area.

We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Costa Rica.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020 via mobile

Was a bit worried about our stay after reading all the negative reviews but soon realised when reviewers were complaining about the colour of the towels or size of the pillows then we would probably have nothing to worry about. The hotel is isolated but great walks along the beach to escape the cabin fever soon made us forget this. Turn left out of the hotel and within 10 mins you reach Monkeys bar a great little bar in the forest and an escape from the hotel. Keep walking another 10 minutes and you will come to the end of the beach, climb over the rocks at low tide and you will discover paradise, a beautiful deserted white sand beach. The hotel itself is immacculate and well laid out, we had room 5132 on top floor over looking the jungle with great sea views. The army of staff work tirelessly to keep this place rinning and always have a smile on their face. Didnt have an issue with the restaurant booking system just rocked up at 630 each day and managed to book a table for around an hour later, Toscano was our personal favourite wirh the fillet steak to die for. Pool area is basically split into 3 with the swim up bar area being the busiest and resembling a spring break kind of atmosphere, great if thats your kind of thing. Quieter areas around the pool could be found if needed. 20 mins to coco beach on the water taxi for $20 , a little bit rough and got siaked but we did stay on a very windy week so added to the adventure. The gardens are beautiful with all kinds of wildlife on show, dont forget the monkeys just in the trees to left of the hotel along the beach. The only negative for me was the quality of the alcohol, very poor in my opinion, the better stuff is under the counter, just ask the barstaff amd they will be happy to oblige. It was NFL play off weekend whilst we were there, the atmosphere in the sports bar was buzzing. After reading all the negative reviews I guess its a case of expectation vs reality , you get what you pay for at the end of the day and £1000 for a week in paradise is great value in my book.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
11  Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving this kind and generous review of our hotel!

We are proud to hear that your experience was nothing less than memorable and that our staff was able to serve you in that way!

It is our hope to see you again soon!

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2020 via mobile

My husband and I visited this resort for 2 weeks in Beautiful Costa Rica.
Excelente food, very clean rooms, a good variety of drinks, sports bar open 24 hours with snacks, good resort for families with children, or adults, early entertainment for kids follow by adults entertainment

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Evita300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Dear Evita300,

We greatly appreciate your five-star review.

It is wonderful to see that you liked our All Inclusive 24h basis.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Riu Guanacaste.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews