We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Riu.com
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,243)
Filter reviews
9,243 results
Traveller rating
3,414
3,152
1,526
610
541
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,414
3,152
1,526
610
541
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riu guanacaste costa rica sports bar zip lining monkey bar pura vida steak horseback riding italian restaurant specialty restaurants howler monkeys hot springs ocean view make reservations rainy season black sand sushi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 9,243 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2022 via mobile

Family had a great time at the hotel. Has everything we were looking for: pool entertainment, nightly entertainment, excursions etc. Grounds were beautiful and everything was kept clean. Stayed at the RIU in Cabo a few years back and would definitely recommend the RIU brands.

Room tip: Booked jet skis for the teens right on the beach, used the hotel’s photographers for some great family photos.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank TinamariePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 August 2022 via mobile

What can I say this place is awesome.Lots of excursions available to see the country’s vast wildlife,volcanoes,culture all from the lads on the beach who are all friendly,reliable,knowledgeable and trustworthy.Tell then what you want,when you want to go and they will organise everything.Lovely walks along beach often greeted you with monkeys and loads of iguanas.They also have a 24hr guarded sanctuary protecting turtle eggs and realise the hatchlings back to the sea most days during breeding season.The hotel itself is great a steak bar,Chinese,Italian and main buffet restaurants are all ok.Tuesday is foam party in the pool day which is great fun

Room tip: Take lots of lower value (1 dollar notes) for tipping.Although they won’t pester you for tips they are gratefully received
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank hufc96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 August 2022

Having read mixed reviews we went with an open mind. However, we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. Decorated in a Spanish colonial style there was an ambiance of good vibes and although some have said the decor is dated we didn’t find it so. The staff work very hard and are always busy. We saw several areas being painted from the pool area to inside the hotel. There were several people always maintaining the garden and grounds. The staff in the restaurants were polite cheerful and accommodating with a smile always on their faces. A big shout out to staff in the Liberia restaurant who went above and beyond. We celebrated our Ruby Wedding anniversary and a on arrival to the restaurant a table was decorated with flowers, petals and serviettes. We were made to feel special too, as on arrival there was a message and a plate of fruit waiting in our room on arrival for our anniversary. Hospitality staff in the UK could learn a lot from the hardworking Rui staff. Hygiene was paramount as there were several cleaners discretely sweeping up dropped food from guests and spillages.While we were there we felt honoured to be able join in the celebrations of The Guanacaste bank holiday, which guests were invited to join in. The entertainment was brilliant. It was varied ranging from dancers, musicians, quizzes, dancing lessons at the pool, aqua aerobics and children’s entertainment - you could not fault it. Although, this resort is suitable for families and children we did not feel that this interfered with our relaxation as the site is large enough to find spaces to sunbathe and relax. The beach was a stone throw away and made an enjoyable walk with plenty of wildlife to view, including birds, monkeys and sea creatures. I believe in other parts of Costa Rica the sand is black volcanic but here it is a mixture of yellow and black and the Pacific Ocean was lovely and warm too. One thing I will say is to take dollars as it’s much easy to convert than colones, seeing as prices are quoted in dollars first.
I wouldn’t hesitate at recommending this hotel and hope to return one day and I this is not something I would normally do( go to the same place twice) Well done, Rui Guanacaste!!!

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
2  Thank Carolynkidger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 August 2022 via mobile

The grounds and facilities at this hotel are very well kept and beautiful. Was amazing to watch the gardeners at work to keep everything looking incredible. The buffet was surprisingly good and there was a huge variety to choose from. The Italian restaurant was great as well. Unfortunately, having to get in line 30-45 minutes ahead of time for dinner was a real disappointment. They need to come up with a better system, like reservations. Was also disappointed when my son (24) was told he couldn’t order a meal at the steakhouse because it said “for two” on the menu. This is an all-inclusive resort. If he wanted 5 they should have brought him 5. The bar staff were the best and really went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of no matter which bar we were at. Room was fine, but we only had 4 outlets in the room so needed to take turns on charging. Our toilet ran consistently and was extremely difficult to get to flush. Probably should have reported it, but we were on the go most of the time and honestly didn’t want to have to deal with it. Over all I’d say it’s a beautiful place to stay, have drinks and enjoy the nightlife, but everything else was just average.

Room tip: Get in line early if you are set to have dinner at a specific restaurant. Bring a power strip as there were only 4 outlets in the room.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank garrettf195
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Garrettf195,

We truly appreciate the time you took to write this review.

As we pride ourselves on providing great service, we are sorry to read that your stay was not fully satisfactory and that your experience was not what you expected. Please accept our apologies for any concerns about the service you received.

We have shared your feedback with our team with the purpose of improving our services and we do hope that despite your inconveniences, you will give us another chance to welcome you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2022

My husband & I had a wonderful stay at RIU. I had a JR. Suite, my room was very nice. I wish they would have some type of fresher flowing thru the rooms, but overall our room was nice. The staff was very friendly & courteous. Yenory & Katherine was so pleasant & did a wonderful job each day. The food was good, I would like these resorts & hotels would get some chicken or turkey sausages, everyone does not eat pork & don't want chicken for breakfast. The pools was great. I just think they should also have kids shows earlier, so the adults can have the nights without little ones running around late. We did a lot of excursions while there. AtV'S was really fun. The Rain forest was great, except the sales person did not tell us we should actually have rain gear. We got soaked & it was really cold rain. We had another issue one of the excursion for white water rafting we wanted to cancel because of the rain the day before & the forecast said rain the day of the excursion, us not being experienced with rafting didn't want to chance high waves. The sales guy just told us no refund so we were out of $300 dollars. Overall we had a great time.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank esbgroup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews