We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Cuban Eats!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ajiaco Cafe

Ajiaco Cafe
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Cojimar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Fiddletown, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cuban Eats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I were on an Earthbound Expeditions Cuba "people-to-people" tour for a week. We ate very well, but one lunch stood out above the rest - lunch at Ajiaco Cafe. The service was fantastic. We received a very warm welcome and the food service was outstanding. I had marlin steak for the very first time and I was not disappointed - it was fantastic! My wife, who had her fill of fish during our tour decided to have the grilled chicken. It also was very tasty. The obligatory rice and beans dish and other sides were delicious. After lunch we were invited to grab a marker pen and leave a message on one of the walls - a nice, fun touch. If we ever get back to Cuba, we will certainly come back to Ajiaco Cafe!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FiddletownCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelchef75, Propietario at Ajiaco Cafe, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
dear costumer, thank you for your great review about us, this is a great thing for our team work, thank you again and we hope to see you again in your next visit to cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    29
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California, USA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Havana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We spent seven days in Havana. Every meal we had was blander than the next for our first three days. Everything was overcooked and underseasoned at most of the restaurants in town. Then we came here. This was a gourmet restaurant that could compete with anything in a major city in the United States. For a very low fee we had an amazing meal of lobster, shrimp, one of the best soups I have ever had, with great seasoning, perfect cooking, and depth of flavor we didn't find anywhere else in Cuba.

Helpful?
Thank Zootarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelchef75, Propietario at Ajiaco Cafe, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
it´s a great pleasure for us to make you happy in our restaurant, thank you very much for your opinion, we hope to see you in your next visit to cuba, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Agree with the good reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were with a small, 13-person group tour and had no say about where we went for lunch. This was our first privately owned and run restaurant (paladar) during our Havana area stay. What a pleasant surprise! Everyone in the group seemed extremely pleased with their food. As a vegetarian, I had been having a very hard time eating ANYTHING. At Ajiaco, I had the most delicious vegetables en brochette. Plus, dessert was a great combination of fresh fruit, unlike anything we ate elsewhere in Cuba. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rap_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelchef75, Propietario at Ajiaco Cafe, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
dear costumer: it´s a pleasure for us that people like you enjoy our food and our service, we try to give happiness to our costumers, thank you very much for your opinion, we hope to see you again, thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
2 reviews
“I didn't know Cuban food could be this good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This was the first private restaurant we ate at on our tour. It was a revelation. The food was excellent, good choices, top quality and well-prepared. I ordered a special cocktail, "El Presidente," and was told the charming story behind the name. The staff were friendly and welcoming, I really enjoyed this meal. Highly recommended, you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelchef75, Propietario at Ajiaco Cafe, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
dear costumer: thank you very much for your review about our restaurant, we are very happy for this. it´s very important for us to give good service and great food. i´d like to thanks again, we hope to see you in another visit to cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Lovely little restaurant off the beaten path. I went here with a tour group in early December. The food was delicious and the staff was great! It was the best meal I had while staying in Havana.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ldv75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelchef75, Propietario at Ajiaco Cafe, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
dear costumer, we are very happy for your opinion about our restaurant, it´s a great pleasure for us.
thank you very much, we hope to see you again, we´ll be here for you. thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ajiaco Cafe also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Cojimar, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Cojimar, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Ajiaco Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing