We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveller rating
546
102
23
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
102
23
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset cruise shoulder massage our honeymoon foot bath candle making daily treatments full board package jamu making bike ride palm leaf refreshing drink little touches tembok bali pool staff transfer from the airport lunch and dinner menu worth the journey
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 686 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

One of the best holidays me and my wife have had.

There is hardly a fault and I have come back feeling so charged and healthy. I declare this more as a retreat than a action packed resort. So if you are looking for a escape and recharge with your partner than this is the best choice.

Restaurant
All the food is incredibly healthy, delicious and filling. We had 3 meals a day and each meal comes as a 3 course. Everything is well cooked, with lots of vegetables and fruit on the side to keep you healthy and most of the dishes look like artwork! they all come in fancy designs and shapes.
The waiters are incredibly nice, approaching you with a smile and continuously topping up your drinks.
There is vegetarian options everywhere on the menu and they went a step further for my wife and catered for her allergy. They even knew my wife preferred warm water and would bring this over without a request.

Activities
We had a one hour massage everyday. There were a couple of days we missed the massage and to our suprise the staff added our massage to the next day. Upon checkin to the hotel too we were treated to a 'welcome 30min foot massage'.
Morning and day you have range of activities from Yoga, Karate and gym which are fun and also relaxing.
At night they provide a star gazing float where they will lay a mat on the pool and you can drift with your partner while looking up at the stars and listening to music.
There is a range of tours you can book through hotel. I especially recommend their sunset cruise (in which we were lucky to see Dolphins).

Beach
Beach is stunning and is just in front of the resort. The sand is a strange black which I have never seen before and the sea is clean. You will find good decent waves which are fun and warm. Snorkling gear is also provided.

Villa
Our Villa had a bath, shower, TV, outdoor pool and a outdoor bed. Staff cleaned it twice a day and even lit candles everywhere. In front of the villa was a stunning beach view of the sea that we still miss waking up to.

Staff
Staff are what made this place special. We were not allowed to lift a finger. For example, a couple of times we placed towels on the beach beds and Sika (the guy who works by the pool) rushed over and took the towels from us and set up everything. He even kept bringing us glasses of cold water.
In the two weeks we only had one complaint which was they forgot to pack us sandwiches once. The reception manager came to us in the most humble and concerned manner to apologise and ordered sandwiches to our room immediately
The restaurant staff kept approaching us with a smile and there a special shout out for Abi! we have never seen such a huge grin. He brings over food and smiles and keeps getting us drunk. He brought us shots, cocktails and they were strong drinks!
House keeping staff are cute. They clean the house twice a day and leave little notes behind with sweets and flowers. For my wife's birthday they left decoration with an elephant made out of towels.

You will have to go to see the magic for yourselves! Words and photos just can not do it justice.
Thank you Tembok Spa Village for the memories we will never forget. Hopefully one day we will meet again.

Room Tip: Samudra villa is the best. They have sea views or pick the suite
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We had the most amazing time at the Spa Village which was just what we needed to unwind from our hectic lives.

The staff are all amazing throughout the hotel - everybody was so friendly and attentive. The food was divine and the gardens / pool are immaculate. We stayed for 4 nights on a full board basis which included a 50 minute daily spa treatment.

Nice touch when the kitchen presented my wife with a lovely birthday cake for her 45th birthday.

Whist you couldn't drink the tap water we were incredibly impressed to see that free safe drinking water was readily available throughout the hotel. This not only means that all the guests are suitably hydrated but saves on generating huge amounts of plastic waste...

We spent most of our time relaxing but really enjoyed a personal sunset cruise which offered terrific views of Mount Agung and the surrounding coastline.

We would definitely return to the Spa Village and wholeheartedly recommend this resort to a friend or family member.

Simply stunning adults only resort!

Room Tip: The rooms near the lobby manage to pick up the WiFi on the balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrP_and_MrsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Arriving in the early hours of Nyepi day we were greeted with a relaxing massage before being shown to our room. Staff are extremely attentive and seem really pleased to help - we could not have asked for more. The daily massage treatments were just what we needed to make an amazing holiday. We cannot fault Spa Village at all and would recommend to anyone who wants an holiday where you are spoilt from the moment you arrive. We used the hotels driver who was totally helpful and took us to some wonderful sights that we would never have found on our own - reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank enj0yinglife2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We stayed for a week in May, and only wished we had stayed much longer. It is 'adults only', so don't expect to take young families, and it's not a busy party type location - quite the opposite. The theme is chill-out, relax and completely forget the rest of the world.

Staff
The most wonderful staff you could ever wish to meet, and this applies to all areas of the resort. Dubai can boast of 7-star hotels, but this place has 7-star staff.

Location
It is on the North coast of Bali, quite remote and extremely quiet. It does however need a 3-4 hour drive from the airport, and the mountain route is horrendous if you haven't got the stomach for the many hill climbs with hair-pin bends and Louis Hamilton style driving.
The village of Tembok is quite sparse with just a couple of shops/stalls on the main road. Own transport or a man with a car is a definite must.
The resort does organise many types of trips out and about in Bali.

Resort
This a haven of tranquillity, from the moment you arrive to the time you leave. Make sure that you book the full-board package - you'll not regret it. The grounds are kept immaculate, and the pool area is beautiful.
The beach is nothing to write home about, being only 4-5m deep and quite rough and challenging on bare feet. The red flag was flying for most of our stay, so the sea was out of bounds.

Food
There is no buffet service at this resort (hurrah!), all meals being served by staff from breakfast, lunch to dinner. The menu is not extensive but there is plenty of choice. All meals are freshly cooked from tasty local ingredients, with lots of fruit, spices and herbal inclusions. The chef is always attentive and will cater for all culinary needs, such as gluten-free meals.
Water is always on hand in every part of the resort, and is even delivered to you on a regular basis when around the pool and beach/garden areas, with no extra charge.

Spa
It was wonderful to have a massage or treatment every day, and the Jamu (herbal drinks) were something else to look forward to.

Gym
This was very basic, and was a little hot in the room for a decent workout.

Accommodation
We had a 1st floor room with a balcony, and had wonderful view across the tropical gardens towards the pool and sea. Towels and sheets were changed on a very regular basis, and the room amenities were very good.

Other activities
It was great to get involved in the other activities like daily yoga, Jamu making and the Lontar drawing (hand engraving on palm leaves). Excursions can be arranged if you want them.

Communications
Basic wireless internet connectivity is available in the Balai (Lobby) only, but don't expect to be downloading films or uploading photos and the like. The idea is to get away from the current trend of constant electronic communications and enjoy the peace and tranquillity without them. Most guests are welcoming of the noise-free and technology-free environment all around the resort. Noisy mobile and tablet users beware!!

Small Warning
The lighting is subdued on the resort and it is not always easy to see the profile of a number steps during the evenings. This can lead to injury through sprained ankles (as we saw). Similarly, the paths across to the various spa treatment rooms are made of flat stones, which can also lead to further ankle injuries. Please take extreme care.

Overall a really excellent holiday. A place to completely relax, not party.

Room Tip: 1st floor balconies have better views, but ground floors have direct access to the garden areas with no steps
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights for the first part of our honeymoon to relax and unwind and it didn’t disappoint. From the moment we arrived you could feel the calmness and relaxation. The staff are very friendly and went out their way to make sure we were happy. Also the food the was very tasty everyday and fresh with 3 courses served for lunch and dinner. The treatments were also brilliant and very relaxing, we did the sunset cruise which I would also recommend. My only improvement would be to the gym as it could be updated a little, and have some more equipment. Would be lovely if all the doors opened so you could work out watching the beautiful view. Thank you for a lovely stay, we would definitely recommend and come back!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews