We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as attending a wedding close by. Hotel was clean and the staff were lovely. We had a meal in the hotel the night we arrived and it was delicious. Beds were so comfortable and we had a great nights sleep on our 1st night. Other 2 nights were at the weekend and there were weddings on in the hotel and there was a bit of noise outside but not enough to disturb our sleep. Were heard after our stay that the hotel was closing, such a shame. Great hotel with accommodating staff.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sunseeker_9979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood H, Guest Relations Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear sunseeker_9979,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards

The Westwood Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Just back from a 5 night stay here. Staff in the bar are really pleasant. Not much of a selection for breakfast. Rooms are dated and beds not comfortable. On our last night there was a wedding and it got very loud and also we received annoying and threatening phone calls in the middle of the night and the next morning from some idiots in another room, i did phone reception to complain, but was told they couldnt do anything about it. Hotel is close to the town centre. On check out there was not even a mention about the phone calls from reception. Not a good experience!!!.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank pauline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

My family stayed at this hotel to take in the west coast for a few days. The hotel was fairly close to the train station and staff were pleasant on checking in. The worst part about of our stay was that this hotel hosts big wedding receptions. We were there 2 nights, 2 receptions. I'm fine with that except the fact that the 80s dance music could be heard clearly till way past 2am. We had a full day tour the next day so that wasn't great. The music and very similar the next night. I mentioned this to hotel staff but they didn't seem to concerned as it's a regular thing. The last negative point, which was our feeling of the place at departure, I was charged for a pint of beer from the previous night, but I never had one. I paid for everything at time of dining. However the reception staff didn't care and I was expected to pay. Due to a constrained schedule, I paid to make our train on time. Next time I would look elsewhere to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank GrantO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Had a wonderful time at the Westwood. We asked for an early check in and we so happy when they said "Sure we will try for 10 am", and at 10 am we got the the room!
Check out is 12 noon and we asked to stay half an hour more and they smiled and said of course". All the staff in this hotel were really nice.
The food we had in this hotel was 5 star! Salmon cooked to perfection and wonderful Irish breakfast with great choice of coffees.
The room was very quiet and clean, with a generous size bathroom.
The location is a 10 minute drive from city center which is 12 Euro by taxa, or 45 minutes to walk.
The hotel has a really nice pub with 3 tables outdoors. It opened nice and early.
Accommodation in Galway is expensive and I also found this hotel very expensive.
The hotel will be closing down on 01.01.2018.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood H, Guest Relations Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Pix5,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and for your kind words in relation to our team. We are delighted that we were in a position to accommodate your request for an early checkin, sometimes it's the small things that make the difference.

Kind Regards

The Westwood Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Needed a room at relatively short notice in Galway and chose the reassurance of 4* Westwood House at 200 euros for the night. Not one of my best decisions. My subsequent complaint to the hotel was not that they should rent this room to me but that it was downright disrespectful to rent it to anyone. The picture also begs the question that if this chaos represents the hotel's housekeeping - what else lurks behind the scene.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aidand0yle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood H, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Aidan0yle,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. We were aware at your time of check in that you were unhappy to be overlooking the service area of the hotel. You were offered a room move at this stage which you declined.
It is a requirement for all hotels to have a service area and unfortunately in most cases there will be a certain number of rooms that overlook this area. I think it is unfair to comment on the hotels housekeeping when you yourself said in a subsequent call made to the hotel that you were happy with every other aspect of your stay. Our housekeeping team pride themselves in keeping hotel standards at the very highest level.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,

Therese Dalton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
10.0 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,137 reviews
4.2 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
3.7 km away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
390 reviews
2.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#6 of 46 in Galway
2,076 reviews
5.7 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range: $93 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing