We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Swan at Hay(Hay-on-Wye)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
82
16
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
16
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth walesan early dinnerfull welsh breakfastquichegenerous portionscouple who runb and bcooked mealslovely teawatch the worldthis place by accidentgreat little placestopped for lunchlunch menutea and cakelittle gemlovely lunch
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018

I stayed one night here after visiting a concert in Brecon. Travelling from Aberystwyth I could have driven back but I was glad i decided to stay over.This B and B is about 20 minutes from Brecon (max). It has parking and the room was very comfortable and clean. It was lovely to open the curtains in the morning to the sun streaming in and the mountains in the distance. I didn't have a full breakfast as I'm vegetarian and don't eat a lot in the morning but the scrambled eggs were very tasty. The welcome was very warm - I arrived a bit earlier than I had said I would but that wasn't a problem - and I would stay here again when going to the theatre, or just drop by for a coffee or food on my way elsewhere. The lunch menu that was hanging up looked tempting!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vdaviesw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica F, Owner at Wye Knot Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Winnie, thank you very much for your lovely message and for the time you have spent writing it. It was a pleasure for us to meet you, and we are happy that you enjoyed the room, breakfast and the views of the black mountains. We wish to see you again soon, thanks again. Kind regards. Jonathan and Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We stopped here on saturday morning for breakfast. It was pre-arranged as we were going to be travelling past a bit earlier than they opened but what a lovely warm welcome! They were very accommodating and the breakfasts were fantastic and very reasonable. I absolutely cannot fault them at all. When we next travel to Bala from south wales, we will stop there again. Such lovely people.
Carol.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica F, Owner at Wye Knot Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Carol.
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us, it is very pleasing to read your excellent comments about our service and food. This makes us work with more enthusiasm every day. We hope you and your family return to visit us soon.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.
Best Wishes
Jonathan and Paola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Called here this morning 11.00am. On the way home to North Wales. Proprietors are a lovely couple who seem to employ nice local young people.
Well cooked and tasty breakfast,served quickly and efficiently.The bacon was the highlight.
Piping hot lovely tea.They also do lunches and bed and breakfast.Set in a nice village in the Wye valley.
Pub across the road is shut at the moment but there is a nice one within easy walking distance.
Will definitely call again.
Thank you

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Glyndwr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica F, Owner at Wye Knot Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for such a beautiful message and for the time you have spent in writing it. It is a pleasure for us to serve people like you, who value all our work and appreciate everything we do. We hope you to return to our restaurant and continue enjoying each dish like the first time.Thank you again. Kind regards. Jonathan and Paola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

A bit disorganised at the counter and did attempt to charge us twice (a bit group came in just behind which probably explains this) but the coffee was good and the place seemed to have a good atmosphere inside (we took ours away). Clean loos. £2.20 for a latte so ok price.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LVC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica F, Owner at Wye Knot Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Many thanks for taking time to give your comments. We apologise for any inconveniences caused at the till and that we were disorganised. We aim to give a family feel of service and at times (especially on Bank holiday weekend) we can get caught up when large groups arrive, hence we are so sorry for attempting to charge twice for your coffee. We are pleased however you enjoyed your lates and hope you come back to try our food. Kindest regards Paola and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We stopped in this cafe to have lunch with my Grandmother. We were warmly welcomed and served quickly. There was a good variety of options to choose from on the menu and the Spanish omelette I had was delicious. We ordered a portion of chips to share (although the portion sizes were large enough that we did not need them) but we have never made such a good decision. They are without a doubt the most delicious chips I've ever eaten. Crispy, soft in the middle and well seasoned-I could go back just for the chips!! A very reasonably priced place and a beautiful setting. You must go!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica F, Owner at Wye Knot Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you very much for this wonderful message. It makes us happy that you and your Grandmother enjoyed the food and the atmosphere of our restaurant, we like that clients like you have all the best that we can offer. We look forward to see you again. Thanks again. Kind regards. Jonathan and Paola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews