We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Small room but well laid out. Clean and comfortable good bed. No safe in room but safety deposit box avail at front desk. Shuttle bus free from airport we had Jerry as driver and he was great and very informative. Not a lot of restaurants in area. Moxeys in hotel but pricy. Denny in walking distance as well as a tims for breakfast

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jackiefrombrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse S, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear jackiefrombrampton,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We take pride in knowing that we have lived up to your expectations and our staff were helpful. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Best Regards,

Jesse Steele
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Have stayed at Sandman hotels before and was very happy. This time was not a good experience as we were woken up with a loud fan outside around 3 am. Could not get back to sleep so called to complain, they gave us another room but it was not nearly as nice as the first one, and had a funny smell inside. However we stayed there as we were flying to the UK the next day, but when we got up we were so tired.

We went to breakfast around 10 am, then went and complained at the desk, luckily the manager was there and we told him our plight. He was very nice about it and reduced our bill by half, but really they should not have put anyone in that room as we found out it was from the kitchen. The shuttle was on time and we got to the airport, tried to relax as it would be a long journey home. hoping others do not have the same experience.

Room Tip: Ask not to have a room overlooking the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jasullivan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 September 2017

Dear jasullivan2016,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are most concerned to read about your disappointing experience during your visit. We are fortunate to hear you were able to speak with a manager and compensation was issued. Please rest assured we are taking this matter extremely seriously as we always strive for service excellence. I do hope to you return to Sandman Hotels on your next visit to Canada.

Best regards,

Jesse Steele
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This is an old hotel that is in need of some refurbishment! Our main complaint (for an airport hotel) was the curtains. They are old and only cover the window frame. They let in the light and it is very hard to sleep unless you have eye shades. If you do stay here, be sure to ask for a room that is NOT along the highway as those rooms are very noisy as well. Perhaps bring ear plugs to go with those eye shades!!! The shuttle to and from the airport was fine though. Moxie's restaurant is good and it has a nice Happy Hour from 3pm. The next time we need a Vancouver airport hotel, we will pay the extra money and stay somewhere that is more modern and comfortable.

Room Tip: Do not get a room along the highway. You will not get any sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank snjdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 September 2017

Dear snjdom,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. We have rooms that due to face the highway and would accommodate a room move upon request. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant Moxie's, and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future and to exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,

Jesse Steele
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Came to the area for a soccer tournament. Had to get 2 rooms as a family of 6. They said we'd get side by side rooms, we didn't. no adjoining rooms in the section they had for us. Small (double) beds, very small rooms. Rooms definitely need updating.
Air conditioning was barely working. Very hot weather, it ran non stop and didn't seem to keep the room cool. (I get cold very easily and even I was too hot) .. No fan in the bathroom so the steamy shower just made the room feel even hotter. There is a pool which is nice but if you need to stay there with your kids the only sitting area, you will get wet in because the deck of the pool is quite narrow. It was a place to sleep but not really a place you could hang out. Check in and out was easy. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 September 2017

Dear Liana L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept our apology as your stay did not meet your expectation. We are about to continued the process of renovating our rooms (we have completed about 70% so far). Our adjoining rooms have 1 queen bed adjoining to another room with 2 double beds. We do try our best to accommodate family's close to each other on the same floor. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel to show the level of service Sandman can offer.

Best regards,

Jesse Steele
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days, with our cat.

Check in was quick and efficient.

Room was clean and beds were comfy although quite small and short. My husband who is 6' 1" noted that his feet were hanging off the end of the bed!! Rather strange for a hotel.

Good location, about a 15 minute drive from the airport. They have a free shuttle service that runs every half hour. Special mention of our driver: Darnell (??) he was friendly, efficient and an excellent driver, got us to the airport pronto the evening we left and with a smile!!

A few areas with room for improvement, front desk staff could have been a bit friendlier overall, seemed to be quite stressed when requiring multi tasking which is obviously part of being at a front desk. A smile can go a long way when you are waiting for service. I don't have names of staff as I didn't note any signage about who was on duty, at any given time. But this is an area that should be addressed. Not rude but not warm and welcoming either.

Price was ok but not exceptional for what we had booked. Two double beds and a fridge with microwave, TV...but ok, compared with other hotels in the area.

There is a Costco close by and a restaurant on site.

Don't know if I would book this hotel again but it met our needs on this trip.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2017

Dear GJ L,

Thank you for your kind review. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. We will pass on your comments to our friendly shuttle bus driver. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall with us, and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future and to exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,

Jesse Steele
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
942 reviews
Bridgeport
Travelodge Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport

Address: 3233 St. Edwards Dr, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $132 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple 10 minute drive from Vancouver International Airport (YVR), Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport has easy access to downtown Vancouver, shopping, museums, and restaurants via the Canada Line SkyTrain, Vancouver's rapid transit line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Richmond
Sandman Richmond
Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport Richmond, British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing