We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude server”

The Lake Village Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Welcome to The LVB! We are a locally owned bakery in beautiful Osoyoos, BC, Canada. We specialize in traditional artisan sourdough bread and pastries, such as sourdough croissants & pain au chocolat, sourdough cinnamon buns, coconut macaroons, classic butter tarts, and new pastry features weekly. We also offer a rotating selection of plant-based goodies, like cookies, muffins, and more. Aside from our house-made treats, we offer locally made cheeses, honey, coffee, cold beverages and preserves from our neighbours in the community.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to The LVB! We are a locally owned bakery in beautiful Osoyoos, BC, Canada. We specialize in traditional artisan sourdough bread and pastries, such as sourdough croissants & pain au chocolat, sourdough cinnamon buns, coconut macaroons, classic butter tarts, and new pastry features weekly. We also offer a rotating selection of plant-based goodies, like cookies, muffins, and more. Aside from our house-made treats, we offer locally made cheeses, honey, coffee, cold beverages and preserves from our neighbours in the community.
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Bakery opened at 8:30 we arrived at 8:45.
We were a group of 5 and we ordered 4 of their chocolate croissants. The server said there was a limit of 2 because they only make 12 a day? Did not see any signs with limits. We think the lady was making it up. Wow maybe you should make more of your best sellers. Overrated and be kind to your customers or you’ll be out of business.
Wow what a nice way to start the day.
What happened to customer service

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Excursion75366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian Y, Owner at The Lake Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you so much for review your most recent visit to the bakery. When reading your review, I feel there might be a bit of confusion as to the items you were trying to purchase. Currently, we do not place any limits on the amount of chocolate croissants that can be purchased, as we know they are one of our top sellers. On the particular day that you visited us, I believe we had made a featured 'chocolate-cherry' croissant', and yes, there was a limit on how many of those could be purchased. You are correct that there was not a sign stating this, and I am sorry to hear that the message was not conveyed to you properly. When creating featured items, we place a limit on how many can be purchased in an effort to ensure that as many people as possible will get the opportunity to try what we've made.
We have already discussed this situation with the team, and are using it as a training exercise to make sure we are always putting the customers needs first, and to make sure we are communicating in a positive way with each and every customer that comes through our door.
We hope you will give us another try when you return to our beautiful town of Osoyoos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

It’s a busy little place in the back where all the magic is done and the output is simply some of the best backing we’ve had. Fresh, warm and tasty breads and croissants. We just wanted something quick to walk around the parks with. They were great!
We shall return!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank WilsonKonaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian Y, Owner at The Lake Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for the kind words Jack. We look forward to your next visit!

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Something that we always do, get some bakery while visiting Osoyoos. It is a quaint little shop and is a perfect breakfast stop.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Mitch7775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian Y, Owner at The Lake Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We really appreciate the nice review. Thank you so much, we look forward to seeing you again!

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We were on the hunt for a good baguette and drove to Osoyoos looking at the address listed on Cottonwood. The correct address should be noted as the Cottonwood Mall on Main Street.

We found it and happily bought a baguette which we later enjoyed with Brie cheese. It was one of the best baguettes I have ever had.

We also bought butter tarts and they were rated as the best ever. Wish I would have had one..

I will return to buy their sourdough which looked wonderful.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We live a few blocks away and frequent the Lake VIllage for bread, pastry, and surprisingly good coffee. The staff are wonderful, and even host annual "classes" for preschool children. Even if we lived far away, this would still be a favourite.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Moss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lake Village Bakery also viewed

Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Lake Village Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing