We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lunch”
Review of The Lake Grill

The Lake Grill
Ranked #11 of 334 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serving Whitby for over 10 years, casual, fine dining and friendly service. Specialize in seafood, premium grade steak and delicious sauce pasta. Highly recommended to make reservations for dinner and lunch on weekdays and Saturday dinner. Gourmet breakfast on the weekend (9:00 am to 2:00 pm), sorry no reservations. We believe in fresh, in-house sauces, dressings, desserts and more. Catering available offsite.
Reviewed 7 October 2017

I had the chance to eat lunch at the Lake Grill recently with some visiting family members. The inside of the restaurant was small but nicely decorated. The place was quite steady but I had no problem getting a table for the four of us around 12:45.
The server was very friendly and made the experience great.

The lunch menu was quite impressive with a array of options that were healthy and interesting. I opted for a smoked salmon wrap which was wonderfully presented and flavoured excellently with lots of fresh ingredients. This is served with your choice of salad or fries.
Other lunch menu options that were good were the crab cake appetizers and a glazed salmon on top of a salad. The California Chicken wrap looked very tasty as well.

I will certainly be back to sample the dinner menu. It is nice to go to a restaurant that serves up fresh food that actually uses fresh herbs and does not just dish out the usual.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grey0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelakegrill_ca, Manager at The Lake Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you very much of your feedback, in behalf of The Lake Grill, we're glad that you enjoy your lunch. Chef Jose believes in fresh and quality ingredients. Every customers who come by, we always want them to feel special and wanting them to come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

I could rave about about the perfectly done Crab Cake Eggs Benedict with asparagus spears, or the sumptious Lobster Omelette and Incredibly tasty homefries. Suffice it to say that each item we sampled was cooked by a chef that knows what he is doing, cares about the quality of the food, and consistently produces flavour packed dishes. If you are looking for an el cheapo early bird special, stay away. If you demand quality and fresh ingredients rather than the typical mountain of homefries surrounded by eggs and bacon swimming in a pool of grease, then come and pay chef Jose a visit. The service was excellent and the atmosphere pleasant and relaxed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelakegrill_ca, Manager at The Lake Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you very much, greatly appreciated your feedback. Chef Jose have passion and love he's cooking, it has to be delicious and beautifully presented as well. Looking forward to see you guys again. Come try our dinner with family and friends. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Husband (chef) and wife owned. Superb food (Steak, Seafood, Pasta) with excellent service. Nice atmosphere. Tucked away near Whitby Marina.

Thank Bmorck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelakegrill_ca, Manager at The Lake Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you very much of your great feedback, were happy to serve you. See you again soon. It's actually not a couple just work together, we work like a family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This restaurant is smaller in size, has a light and simple design layout that boasts an open view kitchen. The lunch menu was good and offered enough variety. We ordered a well-done burger/fries and California wrap. The burger was rare when it arrived and subsequently had to be returned. The waitress was very accommodating and when the food was brought back it was perfectly done. The fries were great but the wrap was nothing to write home about. I can see why this place is a hang out for locals as it seems like a great fit for the area. Overall this restaurant provided good and friendly service and was pleasant enough.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smcreates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelakegrill_ca, Manager at The Lake Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for coming by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Our meal was lovely, the service was fine, though we felt a bit rushed. Most bothersome though was the noise. The ventilation fans in the kitchen, which is open to the dining area, are huge and cause a deep rumbling noise. It sounds like there is a transport truck parked inside the restaurant. Unfortunately this made our dinner and conversation rather uncomfortable. Since the restaurant is small, and the kitchen pass opens to the dining area, the fans are no doubt necessary but a real intrusion on the dining experience.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Penelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelakegrill_ca, Manager at The Lake Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Sorry for the inconvenience, we will keep on trying to minimize the noise from the kitchen. Thank you for coming by. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lake Grill also viewed

 
Whitby, Ontario
 

Been to The Lake Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing