We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Staff, Great view of the Lake...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We had a great stay at this place. Room was well kept and the front desk staff were great! We had a warm welcome from Andy... Who also helped us with any questions we had regarding our trip to Tobermory. Very friendly and easy to talk with. That in itself would make me want to go back there again.
Also the ladies at the desk,Katlin and Stephaine were very sweet and eager to please us. View from the room was nice with the lake right at our window...Very relaxing stay.
All around, great stay. Will go back again :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desstiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0496, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very much appreciated and my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We feel very fortunate that we have the best location in Owen Sound and the only hotel on the water.
I will pass on your lovely comments to Andy, Katlin and Stephanie. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in the near future.
Have a great day.
Lorne Sarmiento, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 496 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very friendly reception desk. Our room was not ready because we arrived early. They got us another room right away. Very nice room, tv, fridge, coffe maker, iron. Excellent. The restaurante is very good. Only the Whirpool had too much chlorine. Wish the have a pool. Exercise room available.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chequen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0496, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the amenities we have to offer. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable experience like yours.
Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day
Lorne Sarmiento, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

1st stay at this location. Given ok upgrade (not the best room but 2nd best) for BW Diamond member.

Positives
-Room was spotless. Excellent cleaning job
-Food at the restaurant was excellent. A bit pricy though considering its Owen Sound
-Room service was prompt
-Nice patio area. AC fans very noisy though so not very relaxing
-Staff were all friendly and helpful
-Lots of Parking
-Close drive to downtown. A bit far for a walk.
-Nice river view.

Negatives
-Surprised to find an earwig bug in the bathroom
-Tub was not properly cleaned in a long time. Sprayed off but soap scum not scrubbed off as it normally would be. Had to clean myself...too bad to use. Quite a contrast given the rest of the bathroom was spotless.
-Room service food temperature a little cooled down and they should cover up the toast and not have it exposed and just sitting on the plate cover
-Not really a riverside hotel as facility distant from the waters edge
-On the edge of downtown past a weathered industrial area next to a convention center so not the prettiest spot but the hotel is a good business or passing through place to stay. Not a destination hotel but probably one of the better hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Smokers tend to hang out at all the exits so keep in mind ground floor rooms have little privacy. Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear TM
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations . We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. We are proud of the hard work our room attendant do. Each attendant is I Care 2 certified, which means that they not only clean the room but sanitize it as well. Unfortunately, we made an error and I can assure you that this will be brought to the attention of our executive housekeeper to ensure it won't happen again.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you on your next visit.
If you would like to contact me to discuss your concern, please contact me at 519-371-9200.
Thank you
Lorne Sarmiento, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stay at this hotel whenever I have to travel to Owen Sound or the surrounding area.
It is nice and clean. Conveniently located. The dining room does a nice breakfast.
Nice view of the bay from my room.
Friendly staff.
Rooms can fill up quickly, so you need to book in advance.

Room Tip: ask for one facing the water. and some rooms come with breakfast included in the price...ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Jenny
Thank you for posting your lovely comments on trip advisor. We are all pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel and the friendly service you received from our employees. My staff and I try to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
If we can be of assistance in the future, dont hesitste to contact us at 519-371-9200.
Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day.Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Lorne Sarmiento, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stay at this place many times for work. It definitely is the best hotel....in Owen Sound. Yes the star rating is low, but for a business traveller it has everything you need. Single bed with couch in the room and fridge. The wallpaper is meh. The gym is just a treadmill. The pool is really just two hot tubs, one with hot water and one with cold water, but it's the best you'll find in this town.

Free breakfast buffet is nice. The pricing however is very high for what you pay and receive. They definitely know they are the best relative option and charge at least $150 a room for corporate or rack rate. Government employees pay $100 + tax but still, it's high. I have stayed at the Days Inn (near courthouse/tim hortons) and Knights Inn (10th street?) and both are relative crap compared to this place. Actually both of those rooms have a very dirty motel feel.

Until a holiday inn express, hilton, mariott, hell any SPG hotel opens up in the area, this will be the place you'll have to go to. I rated it 4/5 because in terms of needs, it met what I was looking for and gave me everything I needed to do business.

One very good plus is that the view is great. Steps outside is Georgian bay which you can walk/jog/sprint up and down. It's also near some decent pubs and sushi joints. I recommend Futogenki Sushi for AYCE and Shorty's for pub grub. Shorty's gives 10% off if you're staying at the Best Western.

Room Tip: Book early, because apparently something is always happening (hard to believe eh?). Book online as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Aaron
Thank you for posting your comments opn Trip Advisor.We do our best to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We are constantly upgrading our hotel to meet the needs of our guests.
We are pleased that we met all your needs and do hope to continue to have this relationship with you.If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 519-371-9200.
Again, Thanks for taking the time and have a great day.
Lorne Sarmiento, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
176 reviews
1.1 km away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#9 of 10 in Owen Sound
497 reviews
2 km away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 km away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
368 reviews
2.3 km away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#6 of 10 in Owen Sound
166 reviews
35.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn On The Bay

Address: 1800 2nd Avenue East | P O Box 516, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5RI, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range: S$163 - S$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn On The Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Best Western Inn on the Bay hotel gives guests no shortage of pampering along with a fantastic location right on the shore of the Georgian Bay. Owen Sound is located where the Niagara Escarpment meets Georgian Bay so stunning views and fresh air are standard here. We're less than 10 minutes away from three beautiful waterfalls with hiking trails, so outdoor lovers and photographers have struck gold. This is one Bruce Peninsula hotel that never disappoints. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Best Western Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn On The Bay Hotel Owen Sound
Best Western Owen Sound
Owen Sound Best Western
Inn On The Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing