We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountainview Inn(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestige Inn Golden(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rondo Motel(Golden)
US$70
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
36
47
46
26
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
47
46
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanhot tuboff the highwayboiled eggskids loved the poolfire pitvisit goldengreat place to staycomplimentary breakfastwould stay here againmountain viewfresh fruitteslawatersidesaunacerealbc
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as a base to travel the surrounding area. Basic rooms that are clean with a reasonably comfortable bed. Bathroom was clean but a bit dated. Pool is a nice addition but money could be better spent elsewhere.

Rooms are noisy due to poor sound insulation, road noise and the carpark right in front of the rooms. They need some descent double glazing. The fridge in the rooms is also very loud.

The breakfast was basic but ok for the money. Unfortunately the room is far too small for the number of guests though.

The worst thing by far is the use of disposable cups, plates, plastic glasses and cutlery in the room and at breakfast. The amount of non-recyclable waste produced at breakfast is shameful. Proper china, glasses and metal cutlery would go a long way to improving this. Using disposables like this in an area of such outstanding natural beauty is disgraceful.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank DNOD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager46704, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and will take your suggestions under advisement for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable. Reasonably priced with a free breakfast. Friendly staff . The place was quiet a good stop over on a long journey. Close to a decent bbq smokehouse restaurant just around the corner

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mushroom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager46704, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thanks for leaving us your comments Mushroom J, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next trip through the Rockies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Looking around Golden for hotels that were reasonably priced was tough. We booked in here and were very surprised with how clean and friendly the staff were. We had a quiet night sleep and felt refreshed the next morning. You can tell the owner really cares about his property which is a great. Will be back for sure if we are in the area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank LDJB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager46704, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Stayed here for a night while on our journey through the mountains. Most of Golden was sold out. This would not have been my first choice. I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were clean and comfortable. The washrooms were clean.
The carpets in the room was terrible. There was stains all over the carpet.
It looks like they have tried to make some up grades. Well carpet needs it badly.
The breakfast was OK but not great.
Quiet place
They have a pool and hot tub that we did not use.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager46704, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us Jackie. We will look into the issues you have mentioned and address this with our housekeeping department. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your input, and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Was the worst accommodation by far on our recent trip around the west of Canada....breakfast was disgusting and the sheets were dirty. Spoilt an otherwise great experience of Canada.The Inns of Banff was a great location as was the Tonquin Inn at Jasper.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager46704, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We appreciate your feedback Mick, and we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. We strive to provide our guests with positive experiences and seek to rectify issues and complains as soon as they arise, which is why I am surprised of not hearing of this any issues previously. I am not sure with whom you booked your tour through, but I assure you that we work closely with our tour companies to ensure guest satisfaction on all levels. Please accept my apology that you felt we were not approachable enough to address your concerns directly with us, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip through Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews