We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
147
85
21
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
85
21
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night al castello small village stayed here small pool garden area huge bathroom great place gourmet dinner malpensa airport restaurant castle history grounds end shopping outlets
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We, a group of 7 couples in our seventies, came for one night before our flight home from Malpensa without much expectations but were amazed by the spacious rooms, the friendly reception and the excellent dinner served by an attentive member of the family staff and prepared by a Chef with a real Michelin past.
Recommended

Room tip: room 101 has a built in sauna
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 925HaroldE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina v, Proprietario at Tenimento Al Castello, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Based in a small village this is an unspoiled gem! Great hotel, spacious rooms decorated in an authentic and very charming style and with a high sense for every detail. There is hardly anything else to do here than to relax at the pool and enjoy the very friendly service and hospitality from the family owners. Unless you want to go shopping at the designers outlet 6km away or want to take a daytrip to the lakes of Magiore or Como. Food is a story on its own. Yesterday evening we enjoyed a lovely dinner in the charming ambience of the restaurant - expect a price level of 12-15€ per dish. Great value. Small but delicate choice of italian wines at affordable prices. Tonight we will have the Gourmet dinner where the Michelin star chef has promised us. Four more days to go here - la vita e bella!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina v, Proprietario at Tenimento Al Castello, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you so much Michael, you're so kind!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We didn't have any expectations for these place but in the end it was wonderfull stay. Only one night but We should come back . Nice staff. They don't speak English easily but with charm they overcome any trouble. Restaurant Is good, rooms newly furnished, parking in the garden and nice swimming pool.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vlado Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina v, Proprietario at Tenimento Al Castello, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you for your review and see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We were looking for a traditional, cosy, friendly Italian hotel somewhere quiet. We found the Hotel Tenimento al Castello on the internet and decided to email them direct and arrange the booking. They spoke enough English to easily arrange a room for 2 adults and 4 children. Very easy to find with the use of SatNav. On arrival you park outside the front doors and go inside to book in. They have a private and secure car park around the back and will open the wooden gates for you.

All the staff are super friendly and very helpful. The hotel has a small pool that the children loved. We ordered small light food to eat beside the pool which was very good and reasonably priced.

Room was large, very well appointed and has quality fittings. Bathroom was also fully equipped and plenty of space.

The breakfast was self service and plenty of choice both for adults and children. Usual fresh pastries, bread, fresh fruits, boiled eggs, coffee machine, yoghurts, cheese, ham and more. You can sit inside or outside in the garden under cover.

Has lots of space outside to sit and relax.

Its a lovely hotel that makes you feel welcome and somewhere ideal for either a stop over whilst travelling south or as a base to tour Northern Italy from! The Hotel needs more visitors supporting it like us - You have to book here!!!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina v, Proprietario at Tenimento Al Castello, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear guest,
It's a pleasure to read your review. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

One night in a castle....beautiful room, huge room, huge bathroom, and a very big cute dog hiding behind the reception desk!
We spent only one night here but it was very much worth it although it was in the middle of nowhere (close to Novara, though). The room was maybe a bit too big (can you believe, in Italy!) but the bed was very, very comfortable, the shower divine with a rain shower. The breakfast was adequate...a bit impersonal but you have all the basics (coffee was from a machine that does espresso, cappuccinos, etc but I think they should have done fresh coffee) and its filling.
There's a restaurant where the service was great - we had dinner there (don't think there anything else within walking distance there) and the waiter brought us some prosecco and prosciutto as an appetizer.I had the risotto of tome and Nebbiolo which was very good and my husband had a tagliatelle with wild boar sauce - this dish was alright.
They had price tags on a lot of the decorations in the restaurant - everything is for sale so felt a bit "commercial" - but if you're looking to pick up a souvenir or two there are some nice stuff on sale, such as cushions, plates, lighting, and even some handbags.
Not sure why there were any bad reviews as per the device because when we were there the staff were very kind and welcoming (although service was only by one waiter in the entire restaurant, which had quite a big floor space, so a tad slow. We didn't mind thought as we were not in a rush and were able to unwind "all'italiano").
The garden area is very pretty, too. There was a pool and a country house / reception area for weddings out in the back, which I'm sure would be nice when the weather is warmer.
I would come back here next time I'm in northern Italy.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bonvoyage2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews