We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 1860's Luxury besides the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A 1860's Luxury besides the Lake”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We have found this hotel by chance, because it was very close to the 1000 islands tour ferries. The building has a unique 1860's design besides the lake, lovely atmosphere. Rooms are clean and beds are extremely comfortable. Lovely lake view from rooms and very nice garden. Competitively priced, the restaurant also seems to be very popular with local people and fish is delicious. However SPA services is not sufficient. Limited place, personnel and time means you have to book a day before, to use the facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake viewing room for best satisfaction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serhano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for your generous review. We are so pleased that you found us and enjoyed the grounds and gardens before the snow begins to fly! I'm so sorry the Spa was fully booked during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    169
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
89
271
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were looking for a place to stay on our way back from Niagara Falls and this was the perfect place. We booked the Admiral suite which is the top floor of the Cedar Knoll house and loved it! There are 3 separate bedrooms, 1.5 bath and a small living room with access to the deck. The main bathroom is large with a jaccuzi. We shared the suite with other family members and were a total of 8 people.

In our opinion, this is the best location in Gannanoque. We drove around and this appears to be the only hotel on the water. The suite has it owns private balcony. It was great to enjoy the water views and watch the boats go by. The Inn is walking distance from the boat lauch taking you for the tour of the Boldt Castle which by the way, is an attraction not to miss. It was also walking distance to souvenir shops, restaurants and a park by the water with a small beach where our kids played in the sand & water. The only downside is that it does not have a pool. But the views and prime location made up for it.

The Inn itself is not new and shows a little bit of wear-and-tear. However overall, the place was clean. The staff was polite and very helpfull. They leave complementary cookies in the room which is a nice touch. The free HOT breakfast was great! We tried a couple restaurants in town and liked the Gannanoque Inn the best! If you are looking for a relaxing place with a rustic charm, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchladyalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Gananoque Inn and Spa and we appreciate you taking the time to comment so favorably. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

After spending a wonderful day on the water taking a tour to bolt castle we were ready for a great dinner. to our surprise it was total disappointment. the menu was limited and the food was like a tasting menu. Very small portions. We were so unhappy we did not bother with dessert! I would never have a dinner at that place again maybe drinks and appertizers we be ok.
they should be ashamed of them selves its a scam taking advantage of tourists.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank machita17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
We have a second restaurant on the premise, Muskie Jake’s Tap and Grill, which may have suited you more – larger portion and a less sophisticated menu. Both restaurants have fabulous desserts made by our in-house pastry chef. You missed something special! We are open year round, not just during the tourist season, and have a strong local following. No scamming here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Overpriced restaurant with an attitude. Very samll portions. wine list with poor selection and also very expensive.
I had a duck breast seared, that was exactly 4 bites. a joke for $35 a plate before tax and service.
it is a shame since the location is great on the water.
these people need to wake up

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PURCHASING E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your meal in Watermark, our fine dining restaurant. We take great pride in using local producers and farmers to supply this restaurant. Understandably they cannot offer us the same pricing as large, corporate factory farms and this is reflected in our pricing. The "Go Local" philosophy has, however, been very well received. Perhaps you would have enjoyed the other restaurant on the premises. Muskie Jake's Tap and Grill has different suppliers, a less sophisticated menu and lower prices. We feel we are able to offer all of our guests a satisfying dining experience somewhere within the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Listowel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed in The Prime Minsters Suite to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. The room was very spacious, with a fireplace (didn't get to use it - too warm) and sitting area furnished with a couch and easy chairs. The many windows made the whole suite very bright and airy. I really liked the wooden shutters, rather than curtains for the window coverings. This made it much easier to adjust for privacy without completely darkening the room. The bathroom was also very large, and very well appointed. The only issue we had during our stay was the lack of complimentary toiletries... an oversight on Housekeeping's part. Management was very apologetic and adjusted our bill to make up for this error. The buffet breakfast included in the price of the room was a nice bonus, which was not noted on their website.
This is a lovely area to visit, the 1000 island cruise being one of the highlights. We hoped to do the 5 hr tour, with the stop over at Boldt Castle, but arrived one day too late. The 2.5hr cruise was a good alternate cruise.
All in all, our stay in Gananoque and at the Gananoque Inn was a wonderful experience; one we hope to do again!

Room Tip: Call the Inn for prices before booking - might be cheaper than listed on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.6 km away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
10.9 km away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
1.5 km away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Property: The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price range (per night): $117 - $254
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing