We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cross country ski heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nipika Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 January 2009

It was perfect. We shared a three-bedroom cabin with two other couples and spent three days skiing along excellently maintained and designed trails. The snow gods cooperated -- conditions were excellent and it wasn't too cold. The kitchen had everything we needed to make our own meals, and there was lots of room for us to chat, read our books and stretch out the kinks of the day. On one evening we enjoyed an amazing presentation by Nipika's resident wildlife biologist who showed a video of her work with west coast wolves, as well as pictures of local wildlife photographed from a system of wildlife monitoring cameras located in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Freedom005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2008

I spent Christmas 2008 in Nipika Lodge with an extended family group. I'm tempted not to write a review at all, because I'd really like to keep it all to myself, but that wouldn't be fair to the people who have worked so hard to make this place so wonderful.

If I had to use one phrase to describe Nipika it would be "attention to detail." Every detail has been taken care of without losing any of the rustic charm of the setting. Every window of the lodge has a wonderful view, but the best sight of the meadow and the sunrise on the mountains is from the breakfast table in the kitchen. The two fireplaces kept the lodge cozy and comfortable even when the temperature dipped down to -20 one night. The kitchen was generously stocked with everything we needed for meal preparation/serving for a group of 12. We brought our Christmas dinner in foil trays and warmed it using the gas oven and the BBQ. (There is no microwave as all the electricity must be generated on-site.) There was a big entry room to store all of our coats, boots, skates, etc. The beds were firm but comfortable: there are enough beds to sleep 10 people plus 3 extra spaces on sofabeds/cots.

The sauna, outdoor hot tub and skating pond were only steps away from our back door. The skaters had lots of fun throwing snowballs at the "bikini crowd" as they ran back and forth between the hot tub and the sauna. Both of these are heated with wood and we felt a real sense of accomplishment as we enjoyed our hot soak, knowing that we had helped to stoke the fires!

Although we didn't get to it on this trip, there is also a big bonfire pit in the meadow suitable for mid-winter weenie roasts and campfire songs. Another group did that and it looked like fun!

One of the unique things about Nipika is that pets are welcome there. It's a great place for kids (and big kids) to be able to spend some quality time with their dogs, romping around out in the meadow.

Of course we didn't go to Nipika to stay inside! Between us, we've travelled to almost every corner of the globe and it would be hard to find a more spectacular setting. Again, the attention to detail shows in the layout of the cross-country ski trails: manageable for beginners and yet challenging enough for experts, and so very, very pretty. Whatever you do, don't miss the natural bridge and the waterfalls! "Mount Sledmore" provided a whole afternoon of tobogganing enjoyment for our crew. And even if it's cold, if the sky is clear, take a minute to look upwards at night and remember what the stars look like.

Nipika also offers ski and snowshoe rentals and lessons as well. They were very helpful with getting our kids outfitted with the right gear to enjoy their time outdoors.

Nipika is nature as it was intended to be: on our second day there we heard a car and it took a minute to realize what it was. This is a great place to get away from it all, in style and comfort. We felt so welcome there - just like family - and we can't wait to find a reason to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lindaslair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

Loved the place! First time in a log cabin and there was not one single thing to complain about. Already I am wondering how quickly can I return. Wide open spaces, lots of hiking - if you are into solitude and in touch with nature you will love the place.

We stayed at the Cross Cabin, with a creek running beside it - very nice. The place has all the necessary plumbing, wood burning stove, comfortable beds, and the rest of amenities. We of course brought our groceries and it was perfect.

Now that I am looking for another quick getway and of course another Nipika place in the BC Rockies... no luck so far.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beyondme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

I have just completed a 2 week vacation in the rockies with my wife and 15 year old son, staying in 5 log cabin resorts during our stay. Our 2 nights in Nipika was the highlight of our trip

Nipika is situated in a wonderfully isolated position around 30 minutes north of Radium and 14 km along a logging trail. It is situated on a working wood lot and guests have the run of miles of trails running through the lot and beside the Kootenay & Cross rivers.

The complex comprises a lodge and 5 attractive cabins. We stayed in the Mitchell Cabin that offered good privacy with 2 separate bedrooms in the loft area. The cabin offered a terrific view over a meadow and the Kootenay range. There is a pleasant terrace and a balcony from the main bedroom.

The cabins are well presented and furnished. The resort is "off grid" and relies upon solar panels for energy. for this reason you are encouraged to minimise energy usage although all expected services are available. The kitchen is well equipped including a 4 burner ring, an oven but no microwave. There are no televisions in the chalets which for us was a big plus. Our chalet included a selection of games which occupied us in the evenings.We also had a real log fire which even in August was a useful addition. This is a family run business operated by Lyle, his wife and son Steve. All were incredibly helpful during our stay an were there to provide advice on the activities they offer and on making the most of Nipika.

One of the key attractions of Nipika is it's solitude and self sufficiency. Myself and my son did take the opportunity to explore the trails and found a fantastic hike of around 4 hours directly form the resort this took us along the Kootenay and Cross rivers to a water fall that rivals any of the better known falls in the rockies but without the crowds! There are also mountain bikes and several other activities available on site.

Overall Nipika was a delightful place to stay and should I return to the area I have no doubt that I would visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kev_wootton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Helga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
20.5 km away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
317 reviews
20 km away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
443 reviews
20 km away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Radium Chalet
Radium Chalet
#12 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
96 reviews
19.6 km away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#1 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
146 reviews
19.5 km away
Alpen Motel
Alpen Motel
#16 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nipika Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nipika Mountain Resort

Address: 9200 Settlers Road, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1K3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range: $305 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nipika Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nipika Mountain Resort is an Eco-Resort that borders the Kootenay National Park. Our mission is to live in harmony with nature that surrounds us. The cabins you rent are totally self-contained with everything you need. Full kitchens, bathroom, luxurious linens on the beds, and Rocky Mountain Soap to clean your self up after a day of play on the trails. Nipika is the gate way to the Cross River Recreation site. We manage and build the trail system that starts at your door step! Biking, hiking, canoeing, running, swimming or just relaxing, we have something for everyone! The recreation site is a non-motorized trail system, legs and lungs is all you need! Get back in touch with mother nature and book your cabin! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Nipika Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing