We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very budget friendly”
Review of Hotel Duvernay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Duvernay
Ranked #10 of 19 Gatineau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Our suite was reasonable in price for it's proximity to Ottawa, spacious, and comfortable. The reason for 3 stars include our inability to figure out the remote for climate control so we were either too chilly or too warm (suggest asking at check in); no staff or services within the building-check in is one block over at Hotel Victoria; voucher for breakfast is irrelevant if you plan to eat before 11 am on either Saturday or Sunday; and the weekend noise from local bars is loud--our white noise machine was invaluable.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank crzywestiewomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

First, at check in the lady at the desk was rude. (By the way to check in gotta walk to the back street, which was not a problem for me). the room was clean but had a funny smell. the Duvernay is not a hotel. I would not stay there again. Dont worth the budget price

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Tiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights while in Ottawa on business.. Very large accommodation with kitchenette, good shower with loads of towels, quiet, free wifi close to good restaurants and a couple minutes cab ride to Ottawa. Why pay perhaps twice as much in Ottawa. NB Registration is at a hotel a 2 minute walk away.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Ptgdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I stayed for the full month of August and would stay longer if I could. The amenities have been well documented in other reviews so I'll be brief.

Fabulous location!

Five minutes to Ottawa landmarks like parliament buildings, Byward Market, National Gallery etc.

In fact, you could easily walk or bike and see much more than if you drove.

Gatineau (the former Hull of my youth) was quiet, comfortable and welcoming. My high school French from the 1960s was rewarded with patience, smiles and pity sometimes but it was always a pleasure to meet the local residents, merchants and restaurant staff.

There's a mall across the street (Starbucks, Tims and Timothy's) and two liquor stores within two minutes.

There's a short pedestrian mall a few meters away with nice bars and happy people, sometimes with free musical groups outside.

Eddy street nearby has restaurants and stores including Giant Tiger for groceries. I have a car but didn't need it locally.

The entrance to Gatineau park is five minutes drive from here, if you don't go you will be cheated of this areas most beautiful area, don't miss it.

There's also a weekly small farmers market right behind the building.

Parking is right outside the door.

The maid (not politically correct term) was friendly and helpful.

Shawn, the manager was absolutely great! He was friendly, brilliantly bilingual and efficient.

There are no staff members on site but so what, it's like being at home in your own small apartment.

Minor issues were quickly resolved, this place is not pretentious but it's great value, clean and well located.

I really hate to leave, it's been my summer home, but I'll be back.

Au revoir (in a regrettable accent)

Room Tip: 105 was great, quiet and between two exits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Veganguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

I usually don't write reviews. But after staying at Duvernay for a week, I really want people to know what they are getting into.

We arrived on a Wednesday. This place was more like an apartment building rather than a hotel. There was NO STAFF, no front desk on site, so we had to get the key from another hotel called Victoria.

We got into the room. The room does look clean. We were happy with it until we ran into our first problem: the TV in the bedroom was not working. We called Victoria hotel, but they said there was nothing they could do. It certainly doesn't feel right, but we let it slide since we could live without the TV.

Then I washed my hair and realized that there was no hair dryer. Good thing that the weather was hot enough to dry my hair really quickly.

The next day, we made some breakfast in the kitchen. We left the ventilation fan on the entire day but somehow our room still smelled like burned egg. I opened the cabinet above the vent and realized that the vent DOES NOT connect to anything. It doesn't have a pipe that brings all the air out. Instead it's just blowing the air from one side to another side. So in the end we had to open all our windows and front door to clear the air.

Then the weekend. To our horror, we found out that there was a night club across our room. And it was blasting music the ENTIRE NIGHT. By Sunday I couldn't take it anymore. I went to Vicoria hotel asking to switch room, but again they told me there was nothing they could do because they do not have access to Duvernay's system.

I endured the noise and finally made it to Monday, when I had to work remotely. I woke up, turned on my laptop, and found out that the WIFI IS NOT WORKING. Again I called Victoria hotel. They told me that they could send an email to the general manager (who is not on site) but asides from that there was nothing they could do. I asked if there was any number I could call, but they told me no. In the end I was working from the cafe in Victoria hotel.

By this time, we also ran out of toilet paper and shower gel. We planned to stay at this place for a week. When we first got here, we saw that there was one set of shower kit and 2 rolls of toilet paper, but we thought the cleaning staff would provide us more later.

WRONG! We had to walk all the way to Victoria hotel again to ask for more supplies.

I couldn't take it anymore. I wanted to check out immediately and find a legit hotel in Ottawa. I talked to Vicotria hotel but they wouldn't give any refund, despite the fact that Expedia also called them telling that there would be no cost for them.

Also I forgot to mention that this area was absolutely dead at night...except that night club of course. There was not grocery store around, only a few depanneur. During weekend it was literally a ghost town. The only good thing about it was that it was close to the bus stop for bus #8, which brings you all the way to downtown Ottawa.

In the end, I managed to stay.

But do yourself a favor: choose a better hotel in downtown Ottawa, even thought it can be more expensive. Especially with the time and price you pay for commuting to downtown Ottawa, overall it's worth it to stay there.

You do not want to go through all the trouble I went. The price was not worth it.

Room Tip: Do not book this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Huang E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
Les Suites Victoria
#6 of 26 in Gatineau
143 reviews
District des Riverains
Motel Adam
Motel Adam
#7 of 26 in Gatineau
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel du Parc
#2 of 19 in Gatineau
8 reviews
District des Promenades
Motel Ritz
Motel Ritz
#11 of 26 in Gatineau
72 reviews
Le Philemon
#1 of 19 in Gatineau
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duvernay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duvernay

Address: 92, rue de l'Hotel-de-Ville, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 2E6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Gatineau
Price Range: $87 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Duvernay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Duvernay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing