We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Rate for a solid 3-star location”
Review of Hotel Duvernay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Duvernay
Ranked #10 of 19 Gatineau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I was attending a function in Ottawa and needed a one night stay. Unless I was willing to spend upwards of $350 for a night, everything else was sold out. The Hotel Duvernay for under $100 was cost effective, clean and convenient. Check-in was two blocks north-east at the Les Suites Victoria - who were very pleasant, prompt and helpful. Room was very large, with a queen bed, kitchenette, large fridge, micro-wave oven, large bathroom with shower. Taxi to downtown Ottawa was $12.00. Overall an excellent experience. Breakfast voucher for $7.00 for the restaurant Le new-yorkais was good for coffee and muffin - or with an additional $5 - a full breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BalticGuyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Our suite was reasonable in price for it's proximity to Ottawa, spacious, and comfortable. The reason for 3 stars include our inability to figure out the remote for climate control so we were either too chilly or too warm (suggest asking at check in); no staff or services within the building-check in is one block over at Hotel Victoria; voucher for breakfast is irrelevant if you plan to eat before 11 am on either Saturday or Sunday; and the weekend noise from local bars is loud--our white noise machine was invaluable.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank crzywestiewomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

First, at check in the lady at the desk was rude. (By the way to check in gotta walk to the back street, which was not a problem for me). the room was clean but had a funny smell. the Duvernay is not a hotel. I would not stay there again. Dont worth the budget price

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Tiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights while in Ottawa on business.. Very large accommodation with kitchenette, good shower with loads of towels, quiet, free wifi close to good restaurants and a couple minutes cab ride to Ottawa. Why pay perhaps twice as much in Ottawa. NB Registration is at a hotel a 2 minute walk away.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Ptgdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I stayed for the full month of August and would stay longer if I could. The amenities have been well documented in other reviews so I'll be brief.

Fabulous location!

Five minutes to Ottawa landmarks like parliament buildings, Byward Market, National Gallery etc.

In fact, you could easily walk or bike and see much more than if you drove.

Gatineau (the former Hull of my youth) was quiet, comfortable and welcoming. My high school French from the 1960s was rewarded with patience, smiles and pity sometimes but it was always a pleasure to meet the local residents, merchants and restaurant staff.

There's a mall across the street (Starbucks, Tims and Timothy's) and two liquor stores within two minutes.

There's a short pedestrian mall a few meters away with nice bars and happy people, sometimes with free musical groups outside.

Eddy street nearby has restaurants and stores including Giant Tiger for groceries. I have a car but didn't need it locally.

The entrance to Gatineau park is five minutes drive from here, if you don't go you will be cheated of this areas most beautiful area, don't miss it.

There's also a weekly small farmers market right behind the building.

Parking is right outside the door.

The maid (not politically correct term) was friendly and helpful.

Shawn, the manager was absolutely great! He was friendly, brilliantly bilingual and efficient.

There are no staff members on site but so what, it's like being at home in your own small apartment.

Minor issues were quickly resolved, this place is not pretentious but it's great value, clean and well located.

I really hate to leave, it's been my summer home, but I'll be back.

Au revoir (in a regrettable accent)

Room Tip: 105 was great, quiet and between two exits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Veganguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
Les Suites Victoria
#6 of 26 in Gatineau
144 reviews
District des Promenades
Motel Ritz
Motel Ritz
#11 of 26 in Gatineau
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Philemon
#1 of 19 in Gatineau
14 reviews
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 26 in Gatineau
1,354 reviews
Motel Les Pignons Verts
#1 of 1 in Buckingham
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duvernay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duvernay

Address: 92, rue de l'Hotel-de-Ville, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 2E6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Gatineau
Price Range: $91 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Duvernay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Duvernay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing