We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Home Base for Canada's 150th”
Review of Lunenburg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lunenburg Inn
Ranked #11 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This was the 2nd time with Donna and Daryl as we loved Nova Scotia and Lunenburg and the Luneburg Inn so much we came back for the Tall Ships show with friends this time. They were awesome hosts and accommodated our friend's special needs. The food is always great, the rooms are stellar, the Inn a story in itself and it is literally 2 blocks to all the shops on the waterfront. Donna is a super ambassador and day trip advisor and Daryl covers all the rest of the parts of a guest's needs. They have rooms to suit all types. We stayed this time on the top floor which has the only room that accepts 4 people. Last year was on the second floor for the 2 of us. Both awesome. Our friends raved about the exceptional sleeps they had there. Second floor has a nice deck to enjoy a beverage or two and they are literally a couple blocks to great restaurants and local sites. Having this as home base makes a trip to Lunenburg one of the best parts of a trip to Nova Scotia.

Room Tip: 3 floors,no elevator, rooms set up for 2 people only except 3rd floor room that sleeps 4. Cot can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Owner at Lunenburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

T & B, it was fabulous having you back again & we certainly enjoyed meeting W & S!!! Thank you so much for the awesome review & look forward to having you back!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

We lucked out in staying here! We were greeted by Donna, who took us to our room and made sure we were comfortable and ensured that we had everything we needed for our stay. She asked if we had any dietary restrictions for breakfast and we gave them to her.

She recommended the Knot Pub for dinner, which was excellent. The B and B was full that evening but both my husband and I had a good sleep.

Breakfast was excellent. You had a choice of hot or cold breakfast. Food was fresh and very tasty. We asked if we could leave our car in her parking lot for a couple of hours while we walked around Lunenburg and she said "absolutely".

The amazing thing about Donna, in addition to her energy, is her ability to remember all of her guests' names. Remarkable.

We hope to make a return visit to the East Coast and we'll be sure to book the Lunenburg Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Owner at Lunenburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed you stay & welcome you back anytime!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We arrived in Lunenburg as the tall ships were leaving, and it was absolute chaos, but once we found the Lunenburg Inn we felt we had found our refuge. Donna greeted us by name and we felt so welcome as soon as we walked in the door - a bit frazzled.
She did the usual check in procedures and showed us to our room, on the ground floor. A beautiful room with its own sitting area and private area on the porch, which we did use often after trekking around all day.
The Inn is centrally located and within walking distance of restaurants and the harbour. The breakfast was well prepared and we were always greeted by Donna's friendly morning welcome. We did not meet Donna's husband, but he was to cook - full marks to him.
Donna was also very knowledgeable of the area and the activities in town.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this great inn. Thanks you Donna for your great welcome., amy you both keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank euchreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Owner at Lunenburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you so much for the glowing review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay & welcome you both back anytime!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

From the time we arrived until we left, the innkeeper Donna could not have been more accomodating. We were given a warm welcome to the Inn, and ushered to our room. Donna gave us dining tips, driving/walking directions, and the breakfasts were delicious. The cleanliness was perfect. We feel she went above the call of duty by taking our bottle of wine from her refrigerator up to our room after her on duty timely the evening, presented in a lovely ice bucket and towel. I was also treated to an early morning pot of tea well before breakfast. Wonderful B and B. Highly recommend it. Would come back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fair_critic_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Owner at Lunenburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

B & T, thank you so very much for the wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both & hoping all is well at home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed at the Lunenburg Inn last week. This beautiful old buildling is everything you would expect of a top-notch historic inn. It exudes a soothing atmosphere, with lovely common areas inside and out. Our room was on the second floor. It was spacious with windows facing both directions. Donna (the innkeeper) had opened the windows and there was a nice breeze coming in so we didn't need to turn on the air conditioner. We had a queen bed that was very comfortable. What struck me about our room and the inn in general, was how immaculately clean it was, especially the bathroom which was sparkling clean and fresh. Our breakfast the next morning was nice (I just ordered toast but Donna suggested some fruit to go with it which was nice) - I don't know where the bread came from but it was delicious. My husband had blueberry pancakes and sausage, served with real Nova Scotia maple syrup.
What really put the icing on the cake for this trip was what happened several days after we left. On returning home I found I had lost an earring (one of my favorites). After searching our luggage and vehicle, I emailed Donna as a last resort on the off chance she might have found it. Turns out she had found it and she promptly put it in the mail to me. This went above and beyond what I would normally expect in such a situation. I am very grateful to her for doing this.
I highly recommend the Lunenburg Inn. It is charming, within walking distance of the historic area of Lunenburg and has a marvelous innkeeper. What more could you ask for?

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Kiddyhawk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Owner at Lunenburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

P & S, thank you so much for the fabulous review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay & so glad we could get your belongings back to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.5 km away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
282 reviews
0.7 km away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
348 reviews
0.2 km away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 26 in Lunenburg
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Kaulbach House
Kaulbach House
#8 of 26 in Lunenburg
124 reviews
0.7 km away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
0.7 km away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#16 of 26 in Lunenburg
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lunenburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lunenburg Inn

Address: 26 Dufferin Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lunenburg Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lunenburg Inn is a Registered Heritage Bed & Breakfast Inn. We offer guests the comforts of home on their vacation. Full breakfast served each morning with home-made afternoon cookies during season. Sun decks, common areas and easy access to walking trails and the waterfront. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing