We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Wyf Cottage - Silver Sands”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duncans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Sands Vacation Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2010

This review is so difficult to write. We stayed at Silver Sands for two and a half weeks and we totally loved Silver Sands. The location is perfect, the beach is perfect, the Silver Sands Staff were great ... especially the lifeguards!

Our cottage was perfect for us as far as size and location. We wanted to be close to the beach with simple but comfortable accommodations. There is no TV, internet or radio at Sea Wyf and this was totally fine with us.

We started our vacation out with a cook/housekeeper named Ingrid. She was awesome. She was pleasant and always asked what we needed and generally aimed to make us comfortable. She took care of us for approximately a week. The main cook/housekeeper is Ms. Ivy. She would come and check in on us each day and would send us messages through Ingrid. She made us uncomfortable from the beginning.

When I booked this cottage, I was warned that Ms. Ivy is very protective and would want to check-up on us. That part of things was wonderful. It was nice to know that Ms. Ivy cared about our well being. What we didn't appreciate was being (1) scolded about leaving the air conditioning on (2) accused of breaking glasses and loosing cutlery (3) called off the beach to buy 3 eggs that were needed to bake a cake amongst other things. Ms. Ivy is a miserable woman. I'm not sure if she just didn't like us or what....but she made us feel very unwelcome and as if we were a problem to her. Every time we requested a meal, she seemed as though we were giving her a hassle.

The description for the accommodation says that the staff will work flexible hours. This was not true. When we asked for an early breakfast we were told that they work 9-5.

On one of our last days, Ms. Ivy even complained about the amount of laundry we had. She didn't want to do the laundry because the cottage owner was at Silver Sands and would complain about the electric bill (this was also why we were scolded about the air conditioner). She also said that the laundry was a problem because there weren't enough clips and because there was a lot of it, the owner would think that she hadn't kept up with our laundry.

I would recommend Silver Sands to anyone looking for a nice, safe, quiet, family-friendly location in Jamaica; however, be very careful about which cottage/villa you choose. Check the reviews to ensure that people were happy with the staffing!

I hate writing a bad review, but Ms. Ivy really could have ruined our vacation if we let her.

I hope that the owner addresses these issues!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pinkisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dreamincottage, pr manager and booking agent at Silver Sands Vacation Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2010

Kristen thank you for your rewiew however here are the facts
I m surprised you did not express any of these things to me when i met with you on the patio and asked you "so was everything alright " you said how you all,had enjoyed yourselves
Miss ingrid is awesome and has worked with us for a while Miss ivy is the lead and gives direction to the other staff
Miss Ivy met you on your arrival day and had dinner as you requested she left after 6 pm
I did warn you that Miss Ivy was very protective, im guessing that as you once lived in jamaica you did not need the extra care and attention.
Please realize that even if we the staff are not there we still care and worry if you are not back till very very very late, we do work very closely with the guards both at the gate where they record every car coming and going and the occupants, as well as with the roving security guards.
Many guests are guided by us ,and we are happy to do so and care doing it.
You were not scolded about leaving on the air conditioner, you were asked to turn it off while you were gone , we pay commercial electricity and water rates as we are a resort and therefor we do our best to conserve because yes it is very expensive and if we have to rast rates due to higher costs that you the consummer guest will have to pay higher rates ,i am positive no one wishes that .
In particular ,one day you asked the staff to turn on the ac unit , you left to come back during the night as you were off to Discovery bay, the unit was turned on (even though it takes 20 mins maximum to cool a 12 x 12 bed room the units are very efficient ) it seems you forgot something and came back very shortly after you left , was the unit on ? yes it was !
Again ,you were not even asked, Marcie was asked by Miss Ivy if there had been flatware and or glasses taken on one of your outings,
as there were some not accounted for, that did not show up in our daily inventory, if we have to repplace items missing from sets it becomes very difficult to match, we like to have compleat and matching items, if you loose things or remove things from a hotel they can and mostly do charge the guest for these non accounted for items, even a bottle of water,from say the Marriot hotel,it has happened to me
Eggs , you asked Miss Ivy to bake a birthday cake( for the lifeguards birthday and that you wished to take a piece of it to Discovery Bay for a little girl) @ 3 pm and you left for the beach
There was not 3 eggs in the villas to bake the cake,so Miss Ivy asked the life guard to ask you when you came out of the sea to purchase the eggs from the villa mart so she could bake the cake for you ( you were asked by the villa mart to open an account but you choose not to so where were we to get the eggs) before that you were asking Miss Ivy to purchase the food items and you would reimburse her she was doing that as a personal courtesy to you, previous to this
i instucted her not to do that any more, as it would take you and Marcie 3 to 4 days to pay her back , it really is not up to us and or her to supply. Did you have your caked baked ? yes you did! With iceing too !!
Miss Ivy is there to be our eyes and ears as well and does care, care very much about our guests and our properties
The very first day you arrived we did have to ask your son the refrain from climbing on the patio fruniture and gazebo, this would have
been the closest thing to scolding.
I recall on afternoon about 2.30 pm you told us there would be 7 people for dinner and you wanted 2 chickens ,rice and peas etc we were able to get one chicken for the villa mart( i don't believe you gave the money for that ) however you meal was prepaired for 7 and Miss Ivy left after 6 15 pm
I did tell you at the time of booking that if you wished different hours that it has to be scheduled with me befor hand>
I did also call twice during you stay to check in and you were delighted with everything
Several days we were asked to come in at 9 and fix breakfast, we did come in at 9 but were unable to meet you requests because sleepins were at times, till 1 pm, you are on holiday and yes sleep as much as you wish but please do ask for something and then blame us.
I recall one day when we knocked on the bed room doors, after 1 pm , there was no answer, we then went in and found no one there and the air conditioners going full blast , we did turn them off ,then proceeded to do the daily clean up bathroom clean up and makeing up of the beds etc etc .
As far as the ratings
Value >>>>Sea Wyf the lowest price house on the entire complex
Rooms >>>> i do not know what you mean by this
Location >>> there is one house closer to the beach,however you selected Sea Wyf the other Vill is quite a bit more expensive
Cleanliness>>> were you able to read the guest book , there are nothing but remarks on how clean ,both our villas are and guests rave about that constantly , if the villa is dirtied up between one days cleaning to the next days cleaning perhaps there was an lack of people wipeing their feet at the front door and tracking in sand and dirt
Service >>> i assume you mean you did not like the servvice from Miss Ivy , again did you read the guest book , constantly raves about here outstanding service ,always above the call of duty as a matter of fact Miss Ivy left after 5.30 most days as late as 7.15 pm one evening
Sleep quality >>> i don't understand this either ,if you cannot sleep at night this cannot be labled as our fault
I was at silver sands the day of the laundry,
there were 2 large black garbage bags of clothes as well as other items that were not in the bags, we had done laundry already that day ,towels and sheets from 4 beds and all was on the clothes lines i say lines beacuse we use each others clother lines when there is a lot , i did tell you that we do light laundry We did all the laundry you asked for plus this 7 loads for the bags, may i ask were the bruoght back from Discover Bay ?
After many hours of phone calls to the staff i have done my research, you have left me no other choice but to defend myself
I do however find it interesting that the comments in the guest book from Marcie and ou other friend for Florida were very positive
I wish you all the happiness in your future travels where ever they may take you .
Thank you Regards Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 208 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2010

We stayed in the Blue Moon and it was great! 4 children (12, 12, 8, and 5 [ages] ) and the dorm room was perfect. It was just a short walk from the beautiful sandy beach. There was a golf cart available for our use but unfortunatley was not running. The 3 cooks were absoutley fabulous. You just tell them what to cook for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and they will serve it at any given time. The private pool and sea view was amazing and relaxing and fun at the same time. The rooftop sun terrace was great for sun tanning. At night, there were many different activities available from crab racing, and karaoke night. In conclusion, Blue Moon at Silver Sands was an absoloute amazing, relaxing and unforgetable experience, and will recomend this vacation to anyone!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calebhawdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We have stayed at the seashell coattage from jan 23 to 30th, just a great verandah to stare at the sea, we were there all the time.
Very close to the beach
Had great food from our housekeeper sylvan !!
Great value, but there is no pool at this house but with the sea so close you don't need it !!
We will reteun to silver sands for sure !!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlos2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

First off, our maids (Krystal and Sherry) were so very kind and pleasant that we immediately felt right at home. The house is an older four bedroom, three bath, two kitchen unit situated on the cliff with an outstanding view. Ackee, sweet sop, and naisberry trees were all in fruit and literally hanging over the kitchen entrance for picking. A quick walk down the stairs takes you to your virtually private beach. The water is quite shallow and tapers off very gradually. Ideal snorkeling can be had right there at the little coral outcroppings, or you can try your hand at the reef some hundred yards further out.

The house is a little dated, but frankly it felt as though Hemingway might have stayed here...all the usual modern amenities exist, mind you, but you know you're at the beach and that this place is for relaxing, or writing your novel while out on either of the two verandas, rum in hand. Sting rays can be easily seen from there as well. Dinner happened to be served in the downstairs dining room, which was a real treat. There is no pool, as many of the other villas have, which to my mind makes it feel more detached from civilization, in any case the Caribbean is no further than the back door.

There are geckos all over the place, but these didn't bother us in the least (excepting Sherry who has an evident aversion to lizards) however small they were. I suppose they take care of the more undesirable insects, though this didn't sway Sherry. There are dozens of villas one might easily stay at in Silver Sands and be perfectly content. However, Sea Breeze is absolutely charming in every way. Beautiful flowers in bloom, friendly hummingbirds, spectacular views. When John Wesly saunters by, be sure to ask him for a few pounds of lobster; he'll deliver it to you fresh next morning.

We are already contemplating a return for at least two weeks. Jamaica will capture your heart

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nushenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We really enjoyed our vacation at Pineapple Cottage Sept. 13th-19th. This was our 7th vacation in beautiful Jamaica, but the 1st time at a villa/cottage. I wish we knew about this from the beginning! We had a WHOLE house with a private pool, jacuzzi, and staff (9-5 p.m. daily) and the complete vacation price was equal or less than our previous stays at the big resorts!

Ms. Palline (Pauline) is a wondeful cook, housekeeper and person who kept the place spotless and prepared the BEST lobster I ever tasted! Our fresh lobster cost us 7 U.S. dollars a pound delivered to our doorstep by Rasta, who I affectionally called "Rastamon." The curried goat was tender and tasty as well as the other dishes prepared for us. Also, Ms. Palline ironed our clothes for us.

Our cottage included a 62-inch high def T.V., computer with high speed internet, FREE calls to the U.S. and Canada, Bedroom T.V., microwave, stove/oven, full-sized refrigerator/freezer, and anything else you needed! That's right! FREE calls! Amazing!!!

Ms. Palline bought the groceries we requested and presented us the bill for the week. We knew it wasn't all-inclusive but when I did the math we came out equal or less than our previous stays. Groceries for my wife and I were about 300 U.S. dollars for our entire stay. You would spend more or less depending on your meals. Our price included breakfast and dinner including 3 lbs. fresh lobster and garlic shrimp. We were too full to eat lunch ! I had a homemade bananna bread which was tthe best, but I wasn't able to finish it by weeks end!

The only complaint I had was the bedrooms are the only rooms airconditioned, and the ceiling and wall fan in the living room wasn't enough to keep us cool during the day and the dining room was also too warm for us. The next time we visit here would have to be in the cooler months (maybe mid-October thru April).

The grounds and villas are gorgeous, security is 24/7, the Villa Mart at the resort had ANYTHING you needed with reasonable prices, etc., etc., etc.

In conclusion, this was our best vacation ever and Pineapple Cottage and Silver Sands is the best kept secret in Jamaica! Or should I say "WAS" the best kept secret!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AhhJamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncans
32.9 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,751 reviews
34.5 km away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,173 reviews
18.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Royalton Blue Waters
Royalton Blue Waters
#1 of 6 in Falmouth
1,508 reviews
35.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
5.8 km away
Melia Braco Village
Melia Braco Village
#1 of 1 in Rio Bueno
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Vacation Villas

Address: Duncans, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Trelawny Parish > Duncans
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Duncans
Price Range: $185 - $1,982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Vacation Villas Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing