We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
155
3
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
3
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade sconescareful attentionperfect accompanimentkedgereeon arrivalperfect hostsbreakfast was deliciousprevious staytea trayrooms are beautifulbeautiful houseb and bthought of everythingwarm welcomecomfortable bedsdevon countrysidenothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We stayed with Charles and Julia for the second time in December last year, and found the same very warm welcome and impeccable surroundings. Our beautiful room faced south and east, and was bathed in morning sunshine. The breakfast was delicious, served in a very elegant dining room, also full of light. All the rooms are furnished in an elegant country manor style, comfortable and relaxing. You may need to concentrate on finding it for the first time, but this just means you enjoy wonderfully quiet nights. In fact you are within easy journeys of Exeter, Ottery St. Mary, Honiton and the coast. Thank you, Charles and Julia, for making my significant birthday very special.

Room Tip: The suite at the front, with super king-sized twin/double has lovely views, a spacious bathroom and dressing room.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ada-Katerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarkbeareGrange, Owner at Larkbeare Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

It was great to see you again and thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. Everywhere is looking spectacular with all the daffodils out and lambs in the field - spring is just around the corner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Our second visit to larkbeare and once again it didn't disappoint . Peaceful, friendly and a really good breakfast along with the home made jams and bread . Beds very comfortable and good quality toiletries in the bathroom. Highly recommended

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank edw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkbeare, Owner at Larkbeare Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

It was great to see you both and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It always spurs us on and brings a smile on a dreary wet day! With very best wishes Charlie and Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Loved it here..Such a lovely home.Julia and Charlie are the perfect hosts.Loved the food and the fantastic recommendations where to eat in the evening.Hope to make it back.Thank you for making us feel so welcome

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank tonytimlin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarkbeareGrange, Owner at Larkbeare Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

It was great to meet you all and the group cooking at breakfast time was fun! Glad you are enjoying our Instagrams and hope to see you all again one day. Best wishes for a very Happy Christmas and New Year, Charlie and Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Another fabulous 4 night break at Larkbeare Grange, as we now call our "home from home". Our 2nd visit this year! Charlie and Julia were their usual welcoming selves, making our stay so relaxing. Fantastic breakfasts and afternoon tea's with all homemade and local produce.
We are already planning our next trip back...who knows...we might make it 3 times next year!
A definite stay, a must if you are visiting this part of beautiful Devon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireCox2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarkbeareGrange, Owner at Larkbeare Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Thank you so much for your second lovely review - it is really kind of you. As always, it is great having you all here and you certainly packed a lot of activities in. We shall very much look forward to seeing you next time - and we love your new car! Best wishes Charlie and Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

What a treat we had for two nights! Beautiful room, everything thought of and perfect breakfasts .
Julia and Charlie could not be nicer and more thoughtful. They just wanted our precious two days away to be perfect and they were. We were sad and surprised to read the review entitled "Beware" and can only assume there was a misunderstanding. If you are thinking of staying here, think no more! Book it and you will not be disappointed .tThank you Charlie and Julia.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Lizzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkbeare, Owner at Larkbeare Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

It was great to meet you both and thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you were able to relax and recharge after your busy summer and glad you had a nice surprise at The Pig on the Beach! Best wishes Charlie and Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews