We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Stop when in Iqaluit”

Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Iqaluit
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre is centrally located in the capital of the Nunavut territory in Canada, Iqaluit. We serve as a regional information centre for the Qikiqtani (Baffin) region of Nunavut and the entire territory. Visitors can receive all the information and materials they need to plan a trip or learn about the destinations they are travelling to in the territory. We also have many beautiful displays of Inuit art, artifacts and dioramas of Arctic life (including many Arctic animals and scenery). We offer cultural programming throughout the year including movie nights, guest speakers, the Inuit Art Experience, various workshops and much more. Our staff of Information Counsellors are here at your service to answer your questions about travel, history, culture and this beautiful land we call Nunavut. The Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre is operated by Nunavut Tourism for the Government of Nunavut.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Located adjacent to the Nunatta Sunakkutaangit Museum, the Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre is a must see for those new to Iqaluit. The exhibits are well done with plenty of interesting information neatly displayed.

Staff are wonderfully helpful and friendly. Plenty of brochures, maps, and tourist literature to pick up including other areas of Nunavut.

Bring the children along; they'll have a blast exploring the displays!

7  Thank Su S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Your compliments have been passed on to the staff. Glad you enjoyed the Visitor Centre!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stopped here on the off chance on a quite Saturday morning and was pleasantly surprised to find the centre open and helpful staff willing to answer my questions. I really enjoyed the thirty minutes or so I spent exploring the exhibits and learning a little of the geography, peoples, culture, wildlife, fauna and flora that makes up Canada’s newest and most ecologically sensitive territory.

5  Thank SussexGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 July 2016

Thank you for your comments, they have been passed on to the staff. Glad you found our centre informative and you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Very worthwhile. The centre is not large but it has impressive exhibits and gives a good overview of Nunavut as a whole. There is a desk with maps and guidebooks etc - and a library next door if you need to check email. Also a building over is the local museum which is a good place to buy local art - but check the opening hours - it's not open as much as you'd expect.

4  Thank jamesmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the Visitor Centre and found it informative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Has menus from all the restaurants, guidebooks, good advice, and the center itself has a lovely display area. We stopped to watch a 1950s film on the community - quite well done. See the library too.

4  Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 July 2016

Thank you. We strive to provide the most up to date and relevant information. Glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was really happy to come here when I first arrived in Iqaluit.

More than just a tourist info centre, there is a very informative and easy to follow display about the seasonal life of Inuit before they were settled in communities. I loved learning more about the nomadic life and the intrinsic relationships between arctic seasons, seasonal activities, hunting and hunting implements and culture. It also offered some information about today's Nunavut, a huge territory with just 26 small communities. There is a library, a few additional display cases, a comfortable video viewing area and a gift shop.

Well worth a visit.

3  Thank Inga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 July 2016

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed the Visitor Centre and found our interpretive displays interesting and informative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre also viewed

 

Been to Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing