We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chez Larbi Ourika(Ourika)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Le Maquis(Ourika)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kasbah Omar(Ourika)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kasbah Atfel(Ourika)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Altas Secret(Ourika)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Top Ourika(Ourika)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
502
116
29
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
116
29
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsourika valleyvegetable gardenberber omelettemonday markethour trekhigh atlasberber villagepool suiteget away from it allr rgardens are beautifulamazing locationcamel ridemarrakech airportlovely poolprivate terraceour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

It is difficult to put into words how wonderful this place really is. We arrived in the afternoon, having been driven from Marrakech in a taxi that we arranged ourselves. We were immediately welcomed with wonderful tea in one of the cosy sitting rooms, before being taken to our room. The room was absolutely wonderful. They had taken the time and effort to put petals absolutely everywhere - the bed, bathroom, sinks!! Our room had the most magical views out onto the red mud hillsides, and the view from the bath is exactly the same through 2 huge windows! Magical. Dinner was absolutely delicious and a welcome break from traditional Morrocon food - the duck was fantastic, as was the house red wine. Breakfast the next was an absolute feast, with so much on offer it was hard to chose! But it's a great way to start before a 3 hour trek, which was organised the night before for us. We had a great guide, Mohammed, who took us to have tea at his house as well. We returned back in time for lunch, which was also fantastic, and time to stroll around the incredible gardens and pool (unfortunately it was raining so we didn't swim) before heading back to Marrakech. My only regret is that we only spent one night here. I couldn't recommend this more. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and Amanda made sure that everything ran smoothly for us and that we were very well looked after. I absolutely loved it and want to go back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The journey from the airport was in a prebooked 4x4, which is definately needed for the last part of the journey through unmade hillside roads through villages until you arrive at the blissful Kasbah Bab Ourika, which is exactly where we stayed for 4 nights!
In need of complete rest and relaxation, we didnt actually leave the property, although there was plenty of organised mini excursions available to local Berber villages, waterfalls and markets as well as back to Marrakech. However we were going onto Marrakech after our stay here so didn't do that.
The grounds of the Kasbah are really well kept by the staff (52 staff for very few guests), and guests are free to wander through the large vegetable garden that supplies the Kasbah with its herbs and vegetables, there are also a lot of rose bushes in well kept gardens.
There are so many things that we loved about this small property that it's hard to list them all, but I will try.....
The relaxing seating and lounging areas around the property, you can always find somewhere quiet to lounge and read and enjy the views. Actually every single guest was reading!
The fact that you can only get wifi in the reception area for me was a bonus, likewise the lack of televisions and phones in the rooms.
Speaking of the rooms, we had a deluxe with terrace (canyon view) and a fireplace, that was lit each evening by one of the excellent staff.
Food-where to start? everyday brought us a new and exciting menu, not too much choice but enough to satisfy most palates I would have thought. If you have special requirements then just let the chef know. They try their best to use local and their own produce.
Wine, was very good value, and we got though a couple of bottles a day!
There is a nice pool with loungers, although we didnt get to use much as weather was quite cloudy.
I prebooked a massage for my day of arrival to start the relaxation which was relaxing.
We left Kasbah Bab Ourika completely relaxed and at one with the world.
Highly recommend for couples.

Room Tip: If its winter months definately for for a fireplace room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Having explored the Souks of Marrakech, my wife and I were after a night of romance in the High Atlas mountains, and the stunning Kasbah Bab Ourika did not disappoint. From the moment we climbed the scenic mountain road to the Kasbah’s entrance it was to be a view of the mountains like no other. With gardens and views on all sides it’s simply stunning, and just so peaceful. The Hotel beds are like sleeping in the clouds that surround you and the dining experience is a feast for the senses.

We awoke to a thick mountain mist and started to climb the adjacent mountain path as recommended by the Kasbah’s very helpful Manageress so to photograph a fantastic vantage point for capturing the valley, it was breathtaking. Climbing back down to the Kasbah I near collided into a group of local Berber women in authentic dress and politely asked if I could take their picture to which they were more than happy!

What an experience this location & hotel truly brings to a westerner used to life in a modern city. Just go and see for yourself.

Go to Marrakech its hectic, original

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We booked through the very helpful 'Lawrence of Morocco' and were collected in Marrakech by the charming Abdul who drove us brilliantly, calmly negotiating the Monday market and fine collection of hairpin bends, to reach Kasbah Bab Ourika - perched on a rocky outcrop with stunning views - and drops - on three sides. A warm welcome from Amanda and a tower room with a straight-on view of the Atlas Mountains was a brilliant start. Our first night was a bit too eventful as the heating had failed (our room didn't have an open fire) and I can't breathe calor gas too well. Eventually, an eco electric heater appeared and things got much better from there on. Lunches on the terrace, fabulous views, beautiful gardens with many quiet places to sit, delicious food and the charming other guests made our few days stay very relaxing. Kasbah Bab Ourika feels more like a friend's large comfortable house rather than a hotel - a sincere compliment. It is stylish, has personality and actually takes care of its guests well in a low-key way. Small but significant touches, such as a straw hat placed on every sun bed by the pool or offered at lunch, added to the pleasure of being there. On our departure for a late flight home we were given a delicious picnic and Abdul drove us safely away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonsAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed for two nights in March at the Kasbah, which is about a 45mins drive from Marrakesh, but longer on Monday because it is market day in Ourika and the traffic is much worse! It is in an excellent position, overlooking the valley but within very easy walking distance of the national park (10 mins walk from the front door) which is perfectly suitable for less adventurous walkers. A range of excursions are available if you are looking to be more ambitious, but otherwise the gardens and salons are designed to give guests personal space even when the Kasbah is busy.
We had a junior suite, which meant a spacious room and bathroom and included a private balcony overlooking the national park. Particularly delightful was the fire set each evening in the fireplace so that after dinner we returned to a warm and glowing room.
The food provided was enjoyable, but not always what we expected. Meals are fixed price per course with 2 or 3 options for each course, and everything that was provided was flavoursome. However, I received a herb omelette rather than a berber omelette for breakfast, and the soup at lunchtime certainly wasn’t cauliflower. We also got given dirty dishes, although these were promptly exchanged.
However, the general customer care was excellent. We had some heavy rain, and I did slip and hurt my foot. The ladies cleaning the terrace rushed to my assistance, and every assistance was offered, including a reputable doctor if I needed one, which fortunately I didn't.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank By_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews