We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely perfect.”
Review of Kasbah Bab Ourika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Our stay here was totally faultless. I cannot remember staying somewhere and loving it more than here, the location is stunning, and the charming staff, expertly lead by the marvellous Amanda made our stay my most memorable part of our trip. The room was superb, looking over the incredible valleys, complimented by a large comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom did not do the photos justice, I could not believe the value for money the entire trip offered. The food and delicious local wine went way beyond my expectations, the "Berber omellete" at breakfast (also complimented by stunning scenery!) was fantastic. Amanda went beyond the call of duty in every sense to make our trip enjoyable, and I can't thank her enough for making our stay here my favourite holiday to date.

Room Tip: All are spectacular, you wont be dissapointed whatever you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 403 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

It is difficult to put into words how wonderful this place really is. We arrived in the afternoon, having been driven from Marrakech in a taxi that we arranged ourselves. We were immediately welcomed with wonderful tea in one of the cosy sitting rooms, before being taken to our room. The room was absolutely wonderful. They had taken the time and effort to put petals absolutely everywhere - the bed, bathroom, sinks!! Our room had the most magical views out onto the red mud hillsides, and the view from the bath is exactly the same through 2 huge windows! Magical. Dinner was absolutely delicious and a welcome break from traditional Morrocon food - the duck was fantastic, as was the house red wine. Breakfast the next was an absolute feast, with so much on offer it was hard to chose! But it's a great way to start before a 3 hour trek, which was organised the night before for us. We had a great guide, Mohammed, who took us to have tea at his house as well. We returned back in time for lunch, which was also fantastic, and time to stroll around the incredible gardens and pool (unfortunately it was raining so we didn't swim) before heading back to Marrakech. My only regret is that we only spent one night here. I couldn't recommend this more. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and Amanda made sure that everything ran smoothly for us and that we were very well looked after. I absolutely loved it and want to go back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The journey from the airport was in a prebooked 4x4, which is definately needed for the last part of the journey through unmade hillside roads through villages until you arrive at the blissful Kasbah Bab Ourika, which is exactly where we stayed for 4 nights!
In need of complete rest and relaxation, we didnt actually leave the property, although there was plenty of organised mini excursions available to local Berber villages, waterfalls and markets as well as back to Marrakech. However we were going onto Marrakech after our stay here so didn't do that.
The grounds of the Kasbah are really well kept by the staff (52 staff for very few guests), and guests are free to wander through the large vegetable garden that supplies the Kasbah with its herbs and vegetables, there are also a lot of rose bushes in well kept gardens.
There are so many things that we loved about this small property that it's hard to list them all, but I will try.....
The relaxing seating and lounging areas around the property, you can always find somewhere quiet to lounge and read and enjy the views. Actually every single guest was reading!
The fact that you can only get wifi in the reception area for me was a bonus, likewise the lack of televisions and phones in the rooms.
Speaking of the rooms, we had a deluxe with terrace (canyon view) and a fireplace, that was lit each evening by one of the excellent staff.
Food-where to start? everyday brought us a new and exciting menu, not too much choice but enough to satisfy most palates I would have thought. If you have special requirements then just let the chef know. They try their best to use local and their own produce.
Wine, was very good value, and we got though a couple of bottles a day!
There is a nice pool with loungers, although we didnt get to use much as weather was quite cloudy.
I prebooked a massage for my day of arrival to start the relaxation which was relaxing.
We left Kasbah Bab Ourika completely relaxed and at one with the world.
Highly recommend for couples.

Room Tip: If its winter months definately for for a fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Having explored the Souks of Marrakech, my wife and I were after a night of romance in the High Atlas mountains, and the stunning Kasbah Bab Ourika did not disappoint. From the moment we climbed the scenic mountain road to the Kasbah’s entrance it was to be a view of the mountains like no other. With gardens and views on all sides it’s simply stunning, and just so peaceful. The Hotel beds are like sleeping in the clouds that surround you and the dining experience is a feast for the senses.

We awoke to a thick mountain mist and started to climb the adjacent mountain path as recommended by the Kasbah’s very helpful Manageress so to photograph a fantastic vantage point for capturing the valley, it was breathtaking. Climbing back down to the Kasbah I near collided into a group of local Berber women in authentic dress and politely asked if I could take their picture to which they were more than happy!

What an experience this location & hotel truly brings to a westerner used to life in a modern city. Just go and see for yourself.

Go to Marrakech its hectic, original

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We booked through the very helpful 'Lawrence of Morocco' and were collected in Marrakech by the charming Abdul who drove us brilliantly, calmly negotiating the Monday market and fine collection of hairpin bends, to reach Kasbah Bab Ourika - perched on a rocky outcrop with stunning views - and drops - on three sides. A warm welcome from Amanda and a tower room with a straight-on view of the Atlas Mountains was a brilliant start. Our first night was a bit too eventful as the heating had failed (our room didn't have an open fire) and I can't breathe calor gas too well. Eventually, an eco electric heater appeared and things got much better from there on. Lunches on the terrace, fabulous views, beautiful gardens with many quiet places to sit, delicious food and the charming other guests made our few days stay very relaxing. Kasbah Bab Ourika feels more like a friend's large comfortable house rather than a hotel - a sincere compliment. It is stylish, has personality and actually takes care of its guests well in a low-key way. Small but significant touches, such as a straw hat placed on every sun bed by the pool or offered at lunch, added to the pleasure of being there. On our departure for a late flight home we were given a delicious picnic and Abdul drove us safely away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonsAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourika
24.9 km away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
819 reviews
3.7 km away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#3 of 3 in Ourika
77 reviews
17.4 km away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Auberge Le Maquis
Auberge Le Maquis
#2 of 3 in Ourika
73 reviews
26.8 km away
Les residences du domaine
Les residences du domaine
#306 of 500 in Marrakech
230 reviews
23.5 km away
Dar NanKa
Dar NanKa
#186 of 500 in Marrakech
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Bab Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bab Ourika

Address: Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range: $234 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Bab Ourika 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Ourika perches majestically on a hilltop at the apex of the Ourika Valley, guarding the gateway to the snow-capped Atlas Mountains – yet it is only 45 minutes from Marrakech’s International airport. With 360 degree panoramic views, this innovative new hotel receives warm sunlight all day, ending in spectacular sunsets. From its unique eyrie-like position it offers a birds eye view of the Atlas, of traditional Berber villages and of the lush river valley below. The Kasbah is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in Morocco; constructed principally from rammed earth, the traditional Berber building technique, it seems almost to have grown out of the rocks beneath. The thick walls provide such good insulation that air-conditioning is unnecessary. Solar panels provide hot water for the hotel and and the underfloor heating in the dining and bar area. Soon a biodigester will provide electricity and compost not only for the hotel but also for the village below. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kasbah Bab Ourika Hotel Ourika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing