We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
477
248
70
27
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
477
248
70
27
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thorpe cloud dovedale bar haddon restaurant bar area afternoon tea lovely hotel bar food peak district superior room stepping stones excellent food following morning sandwiches main course hotel is situated fish and chips spa bath
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The Bedrooms are in the process of being upgraded. We stayed in a Superior double, where the water pressure to the shower was poor & floor creaked, and boiler outside the window was noisy. Hence, whilst the room was large, it still needs the upgrade! We also found the food, whilst mainly very good, very expensive, with limited local competition. However, service was good, and we would be happy to return to an upgraded Bedroom!
Well located for country walks to Dovedale & Ilam Park.

Room Tip: Rooms to the east / older side of the house have best views, and are probably quieter than those to the west wing.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rawlinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Rawlinsd. Thankyou for taking the time to review us. I am pleased to hear you found the service and food good. I am sorry to hear you were disturbed by the boiler and take on board your other comments. Kind regards, James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Set in a lovely location. Great for long and short walks.
The bar itself was quaint and traditional. They catered well for 23 people and we were giving a whole room within the pub.

The food was nice but nothing to write home about.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Kirsty, thank you for taking the time to review The Izaak Walton Hotel. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you and your party of 23 were so well accommodated. We hope to welcome you back again soon and would recomend booking direct with the hotel for our best available rates. Best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We booked two nights to catch up with friends and we chose the hotel - no pressure then!
First impressions were not good, the gardens were a bit unloved, the grounds as seen from our room looked like a dumping ground and our superior room, whilst large was 'tired'.
The evening bar food menu was limited and not of the best, this put us off trying the expensive restaurant the next evening.
Imagine then our relief the next morning at breakfast - what a contrast. The food was excellent and varied, and served very quickly despite the fact that the hotel was very busy. In fact the staff worked very hard and were very friendly throughout.
Clearly the fantastic location of the Izaak Walton is its selling point, but whether this make it worth the price is debatable.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Peter Z, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed breakfast. We do have a fairly small bar menu but this is primarily because most evening meals are served in our 2 AA rosette fine restaurant which is definitely worth a visit. Best wishes, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Stayed for 3 days with a small group of friends. Staff could not have been more helpful. Restaurant was excellent although menu was a little limited; however, we switched into the bar menu and unprompted additional options were added for our third night. Our rooms were comfortable and well proportioned, the hotel was comfortable throughout.The location is idyllic with a superb walk up Dovedale from the hotel. difficult to think how it could have been improved.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Malcolm thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your 3 day stay at The Izaak Walton Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals in both The Haddon Restaurant and Dovedale Bar and that you found your rooms to be comfortable. We do hope you will visit again when next in the area and we would recommend booking direct with the hotel for our best available rates. Best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We were given a lovely room at the back of the hotel but unfortunately were kept awake half the night by a barking dog on the farm next door. The next day we were moved to another room at the front, equally comfortable and were not disturbed again. The hotel was situated in a beautiful location and ideal for our purposes. The food was quite good but not much of a choice on the menu. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank SUE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Sue, thank you for taking the time to review The Izaak Walton Hotel. It is good to hear of your 4 night stay and I am pleased you were so well accommodated and were able to enjoy an undisturbed stay. It is also good to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will visit again and we would recommend booking direct with the hotel for our best available rates. Best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews