We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous authentic Mexican food”

Iguanas Mexican Grill
Ranked #17 of 80 Restaurants in Powell River
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Your destination restaurant in the B.C. Sunshine Coast for authentic Mexican, made to order food.
Restaurant details
Description: Your destination restaurant in the B.C. Sunshine Coast for authentic Mexican, made to order food.
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Went to this with my brother & family, who lived in Mexico for years. The food was terrific! The La Iguana dish had great flavours, with lots of tortillas to scoop up the mound of good meat, cheese, pineapple etc. The portions were a good size, too. The Queso Fundido was so good! Staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs. Would highly recommend this to anyone who loves Mexican food!

Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma R, Owner at Iguanas Mexican Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Denisse thank you for visit us!! and taking the time to give us a review, we try to brig a little bit of our Mexico to the table in every dish we have and we are glad you enjoyed. We hope to see you and your family in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

A number of locals told us about iguanas. Had fairly high standards going in, definitely didn't disappoint! Extremely fresh, large portions and friendly staff! Will definitely check it out next time we're in town

Thank kari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma R, Owner at Iguanas Mexican Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi Kari we are so happy to live up to your standards ! we do take pride in using fresh ingredients and bring out the mexican inside of everyone. Don't forget to visit next time you are in Powell river

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Unable to decide between both the latin restaurants in PR (this one and Costa del Sol), we naturally chose both. Iguanas was our first stop, so we figured nachos would be the best bet.

Nope!

They were about as good a bet as picking the Canucks to win the Stanley Cup.

For a total bill of $15 (including tip and $1 for sauce they didn't tell us was extra), we got the world's least inspiring, cheese-starved, and paltry nacho platter since my nightmare of 12 chips for $18 in Geneva, Switzerland.

The service was fine and maybe, hopefully, the other dishes are better. Give them a chance if you wish, but we'd recommend Costa del Sol instead.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UnconventionalRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

all the food is excellent, great service and they remember you. we usually have the burrito but it all is good

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KurtDeMeaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma R, Owner at Iguanas Mexican Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi Kurt ! All our costumers are important to us we couldn't do it with out all of you, thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

The owner is a fun guy. Always balancing a dozen things at once. The food is ok - nothing new. But the service is fun. A small place but they turn the seats over quickly and manage a good takeout business

1  Thank JaimeVancouverIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iguanas Mexican Grill also viewed

Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Iguanas Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing