We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
168
56
9
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
56
9
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubribeye steakan evening mealgreat mealmain coursesticky toffee puddingrisottostayed longerhome cookedfruit juicebooked a tablepleasant staylast visitwild mushroomsquiet villageboth nightssunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Firstly this is a quality bar restaurant, soup and pate well presented and mains curry and coconut rice excellent , steak and Stilton pie was best in Cumbria. Service was unhurried and pleasant , loverly feel and ambiance. Nice lines spotlessly clean , Real Gem !

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank king2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

On holiday in the area and came across the King's Head. Called in without a reservation on the Tuesday evening and the pub was really busy which is always a good sign! Happy to wait a short time with a drink for a table and we weren't disappointed at all. Food is superb, really well cooked, generous portions and the homemade burger was probably the best burger I have ever had! Great service and great value. Really do recommend a visit, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Great little hotel in view village slightly off the beaten tourist track.
Nicely appointed & refurbished rooms and bar - great food & good real ale
Really nice breakfast and good recovery stop amongst some fantastic and challenging cycling

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 822rjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Not being from the area, we went with other trip advisor reviews and the online menu.
Came here as a family to celebrate my mother in laws 80th during a recent holiday. The staff were accommodating with our requests for cake, balloons, decorations.
Food was excellent - children’s portions were substantial.
Reasonable priced - especially compared with other pubs in the area.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank RedTartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Bar/Restaurant area warm and welcoming with lovely furnishings. Bedroom small but adequate for a single nights stay - bed was described as a large double but was a standard double and was possibly the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on. Hospitality tray with coffee/tea/hot choc etc. En-suite bathroom spacious and modern - good powerful shower although the controls could do with a little diy attention.

We ate in the dining room, service was quite slow. Food was ok, chips were undercooked and the batter on the fish was soft. Husband had steak - cooked as he requested but the peppercorn sauce had the consistency of water. Starters were nice.

Breakfast was good - everything served at your table ....incl juice/coffee/tea/cereals. This is ok but I waited ages for a refill on my cup of coffee whilst the waitress was chatting away in the kitchen (you can hear every word in the dining room). I don't think there were any yoghurts or fresh fruit - certainly didn't see any/weren't offered any.

Checked out without issue - was not asked if we had enjoyed our stay ....possible subscribing to the old adage....if you don't want to hear the answer, don't ask the question.

In summary, it all looks good - a few minor things letting it down.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTC2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews