We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
11
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here outside the ski season as a weekend break from Canberra. It's a beautiful place, and one we'd seen glimpses of through the trees on the way to Thredbo without knowing what it was.
We were B&B novices, and this was a great way to dip our toes in the water. Plenty of privacy but also a lovely living area to relax in. The B&B seems purpose built, and is a lovely warm place with magnificent living and dining areas complete with open fire. Host was brilliant and we'll definitely return for another trip, it surpassed all our expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I agree with all the other reviews, the White House combines great design, modern elegance, loads of comfort AND genuine hospitality. There is a sign over the fireplace that says 'Arrive as guests, leave as friends'. I would suggest we were friends long before it was time to leave. Paul is a real people person and is happy to share the property, his time and great local knowledge. Comfy beds, hot showers, a great breakfast are all welcome, but its genuine hospitality that make a memory. Thanks Paul, loved it!.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardAtSchonegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We arrived Friday night after a long drive and were greeted by our lovely host Paul who really made the stay. The fireplace was lit, music was playing and the lounge perfect for a wine or two. The four guest rooms are cosy and comfy with lovely en-suites. Two of the rooms look straight out onto the beautiful Australian alpine bushland. These rooms could be booked out for a group or friends or family. Andrea's white house is half way between Jindabyne and Thredbo, and close to a number of really yummy places to eat and the schnapps distillery. It's an easy drive to the snow or into town. The place has an amazing feel about it, its light, clean, airy and homely. Would be lovely for a summer or winter getaway. Left feeling relaxed and refreshed, even after a long weekend of skiing. Will definitely stay here again!! Thanks Paul!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the bush
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend and it was fabulous. Accommodation in the area is notoriously expensive and bad quality. Andrea's White House was everything we were looking for. Bedrooms have comfortable king size beds, and lovely little extras like robes & slippers. The common area has lounges and a fireplace and there is also a dining area with kitchenette where you can store your own drinks and make tea/coffee. A separate TV room is also available. In the morning, hot breakfast is cooked by the warm, welcoming & knowledgeable host (Paul in our case), or if muesli & king island vanilla bean yoghurt and home made fruit compote is more your style, you can have some of this (too!). And, the coffee is superb! All in all, a great place to stay whether skiing at Perisher or Thredbo. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolzsunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

If you only ever stay in one B&B in your life, stay at this one. I simply cannot praise this place enough - it genuinely was the perfect place to stay in the Snowy Mountains. Hospitality was warm and welcoming and they will do anything for you - recommend restaurants, ski hire (where you get a discount!) in fact even if you just want a chat about the area in general these are the right people to talk to.
The place is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is a feast, cooked fresh to order by Greg and only the very best ingredients are used. Plus, the little touches like schnapps are what really makes this place. We stayed in winter and every night a roaring log fire was kept on for us - perfect after a day's skiing/boarding.
Absolutely nothing can be improved - stay here (and thank me later!)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews