We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

โ€œWonderful setting with great facilitiesโ€

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had a family gathering here last weekend (22/23/24 July 2011). The food was good - plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meals. The service was good at these times too. Lunchtime meals was a bit of a fiasco though on the Saturday. The staff didn't seem to be able to cope with the outside bar-b-q they had laid on. Long delays ensued. If you want to buy food or drinks then it's a good idea to sign up to one of their Warner plastic cards - which you then use like a credit card to pay for drinks etc. As paying by any other means seems to be more difficult - heaven knows why!
They have lots of activities to do but if you want to do pistol shooting, rifle shooting or archery - then it's best to sign up immediately as places are very limited as we found out to our dissappointment. The fencing wasn't fully booked so I signed up to that which was very enjoyable. They also have tennis, swimming, bowls, croquet, a putting green, a fishing lake - don't forget your rods (all other equipment can be borrowed from the sports desk by the pool. The gym equipment room is very well appointed with all the latest gear and you can watch TV whilst you work out.
We signed up to the hot air baloon flight which was fantastic - but do be prepared to set off at 6.00am and also be prepared to climb over a fence and walk across a field to get to the baloon. Also be prepared to help roll up the balloon after you land - but it's not compulsory if you are not yound and fit.
Live entertainment every night will also appeal to many - dancing and music. I especially enjoyed the Saturday lunchtime 3 piece Irish folk music band whilst waiting for the bar-b-q.
The bird of prey display was fantastic too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin_1958_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,173 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed in historic room 306 which was up 2 flights of stairs. It had a large bathroom and medium sized room. Bed was very comfy. It was bright and airy. We ate in the orchard restaurant which was very good and very bad for my diet. We enjoyed jazz on the terrace, mini golf, shooting, archery and the murder mystery evening ( acting was excellent by the staff) and I will not ruin it by telling you who did it ! I would go back again and recommend it highly, gardens are lovely as is the scenery. I also had an excellent Swedish massage which got a lot of my knots out of back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ningaloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I Booked This For A Treat For My Mother As She Has Been Ill,We Were Staying For One Night Only Just For A Rest . We Had a Lovely Time ,Just what the doctor ordered . Food was fantastic, staff were polite and helpfull. The hotel is in a beautiful surroundings and it is very clean, rooms are nice and spacious. We spent most of our time in the leisure suite in the sauna and steam rooms and lying down relaxing. There are lots of things to do if you want a more energetic time and the evening entertainment was very good too with different themes every night. WE WILL DEFINATLY GO BACK REALLY SOON.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaime1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Lovely gardens and surrounding area. We went into Hereford for a visit to see the Mappa Mundi, and Ross on Wye. Lunches out in Hereford are very expensive for what you get ยฃ13 for two jacket potatoes and a pot of tea ( not good either). So pop in a shop and get a packed lunch together.

The beds are really comfortable, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated.

Activities:- we did Archery and used the pool, gym and sauna. The Holme Lacy players put on a few good shows especially Blithe spirit. Take the house tour as it is delivered with great enthusiasm.

We are in our late 40โ€™s and this Hotel did seem to cater towards 70+. We came out of our room one morning to nearly trip over a electric wheelchair being charged! (We were on the ground floor though).

Got a great deal paying less than most would so our review reflects THE REALLY GREAT VALUE. The breakfast is plentiful with waiter service. The dinners had waiter service for some dishes & wine- the rest buffet style. The food is very good โ€“ They proudly display their awards in the reception. We met up with some people who paid ยฃ50 extra for all inclusive this could be good value. We planned to go out a lot so didnโ€™t bother.

Room Tip: Gound floor rooms tend to be convrted for disabled guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LONDONCABDRIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

great service staff could not do enough for you. Food superb, all inclusive deal excellent value for the money. Room extremely comfortable , we had a signature room which has been beautifully decorated. The amenities are excellent and there is always something to do on a rainy day. The grounds are lovely to walk around and are well maintained. A lovely place to visit for a relaxing short break with everything included. A short trip into the historic town of Hereford, which the hotel also runs a trip to.
There is nothing bad you can comment on. We have been over thirty times, so that must say something!!!.

Room Tip: request a room number once visited staff will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rooty2758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
6.4 km away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 11 in Hereford
486 reviews
5.4 km away
Travelodge Hereford Grafton
9.4 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
851 reviews
13.5 km away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
223 reviews
18.3 km away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing