We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Castle House(Hereford)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merton Hotel(Hereford)
US$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$91
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Hereford(Hereford)(Great Value!)
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$93
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,307)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
593
440
173
59
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
593
440
173
59
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening entertainmentage groupfine diningthe blue roomterrace barwarners breaksalad barstandard roomaverage agebistro restaurantballroom dancingcoach tripdining roomsdance floorolder generationmid week breakstately home
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We have been to a few of Warners Historic houses. This was the best so far. We had a lake view historic room that was newly decorated and it was great. The bath/shower is not so good for the age group that visits here as it can be difficult to get in and out of.
The food was great. Get there by 12am and try to choose your restaurant table. The only downside was that they use "My Warner Table" and not very well. We booked a table in the disabled zone as my wife uses a wheelchair. They totally ignored our booking and put us in a zone up some steps!!! They blamed it on us starting midweek and not on a Monday or Friday. Gunton Hall didn't have this problem.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esprit350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
Holme Lacy House Hotel is a magical Grade 1 listed Georgian manor house set in 50 acres of glorious award-winning gardens and I am delighted that we were able to share this with you during your stay with us
I apologise that there was some confusion over your "My Warner Table" booking, I do hope that this didn't cause you too much inconvenience and that you were still able to enjoy the entertainment.
I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Well trained, pleasant and attentive staff in a magnificent building. Excellent food and extensive well-kept grounds. Lovely walks around wonderful well-established gardens. Doesn't feel crowded even at full capacity. The quizzes and musical entertainment not to my taste, but greatly enjoyed by the vast majority of guests. No children or pets allowed, which meant that most guests were over 65, which did give a feeling of being in a retirement home! However, good food, relaxing and everyone - staff and guests were happy and cheerful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
Holme Lacy House Hotel is indeed a beautiful building with delightful award winning gardens and I am delighted that you were able to visit us and appreciate it.
Our team all work very hard to try and ensure that all of our guests receive a first rate level of service in all areas of the hotel so I am pleased that we achieved this for you
I very much hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the near future
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Carpets were old and threadbare in places, lifts were dirty and not what you would expect for a 4 star resort. On our stay we had to go out and use toilets in the corridor even though we reported the problem with the flush on our first day of stay. Once it was 'fixed' it still took a full flush and a kettle full of water to flush the toilet fully.
Food was good and staff were pleasant . Most of the clientele were old with mobility problems and yet the main thoroughfare was a series of lounges with obstacles for them to negotiate. Staff at the house would not provide shower chairs for those could not use the showers standing. Wifi access was awful and mobile connection was only possible outside in the grounds. We rented 2 rooms for older and younger family and the resort entertainment was more like what one would expect at a Butlins camp! We had awful views from rooms and we paid for an upgrade to one of them. The holiday cost £2200 for 4 for 5 nights.
Don't be fooled by the glossy brochures, I have experienced better rooms in a Premier Inn!

Room Tip: Don't bother
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
I am sorry to read that you encountered some problems during your stay here with us at Holme Lacy House Hotel
It is always our intention to provide all of our guests with a first class level of service in all areas of the hotel
Wi-Fi and phone signal is a problem here due to our very rural location. All guests are offered free calls from their rooms to try and compensate for this. We understand that fibre broadband will be available in the area and to the hotel by the end of this year then wi-fi will be much improved.
Warners aim to cater for all adults and not just those with mobility problems but we do try to ensure that access to all areas is not restricted forthe less mobile
I very much hope that you will reconsider and visit us again at Holme Lacy House Hotel with our award winning gardens in the beautiful Wye Valley
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We paid £1,128.96 for this four day break!
We arrived on Monday,7th August, but were a bit delayed due to a serious accident on the M50 ( thankfully not involving us). Check in was fine, but we were directed to a person in the restaurant to "choose" our table to be used during the stay. We were not happy with the small (2) choice. This was because we were later than the majority.
Bearing in mind that we had paid for one of their Historic Rooms, with a suite, we felt totally let-down. Surely, we thought, the management would set aside suitable tables for clients using and paying for excellent accomodation. We left on Tuesday morning, 8th August! The most expensive bed and breakfast we have had and we shall never repeat it.
All staff were excellent.
We would advise giving this hotel chain a big miss.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sellbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
I have spoken to the Holiday Sales Manager about your comments and the problems your encountered.
He said that he spoke to you on the night that you arrived when you said you were not happy with your table. He left you in the very capable hands of the restaurant manager and you were told that we would do our best to move you to another table for the next day. Unfortunately you did not give us a chance to relocate you as you chose to leave after just one night.
You were also informed that by leaving early you would forfeit the full payment
Our holidays are made up of so many aspects including the Historic rooms, great food, brilliant shows, abundance of leisure activities and friendly team. If the location of the dining table is that important , I would suggest calling the hotel in advance to request a specific seat, or working with the team onsite to try to resolve the problem rather than leaving early and forfeiting the money paid.

Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

The good points about this Hotel were -- The great service from Jillian, our lovely Irish waitress in the Bistro Restaurant. Also, the evening entertainment was very professional and varied. The food was mostly good and the bedroom was what we expected of a Signature room. Lovely gardens.
Slight problems were caused by -- The building is very long and it is a long way from the main bedroom area to the 3 Restaurants. Also, be aware that check-in takes place in your car on arrival at the main enterance. You will need to have your booking details to hand.

Room Tip: 228, 229 and 230 are good Signature rooms
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PETERPAN342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Holme Lacy House Hotel.
Our team all work very hard to try and ensure that all of our guests receive a first rate level of service in all areas of the hotel so I am delighted that you appreciated this.
The hotel is quite a long building so some rooms can be a little way from the restaurant but this is all inside and under cover.
Our guests find the car check-in service that we offer very helpful as they do not have to queue at reception to check in giving them more time to relax and enjoy the facilities.
I very much hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Holme Lacy again in the near future.
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews