We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the overhaul experience and the good pionts of staying at a warner hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This the first time we have visited this hotel and found it to be a excellent the staff from the reception restaurant and bars were first class welcoming and friendly if you had a problem they would sort it out for you the room we stayed in was very clean and spacious and the food is first class you would never go hungry there is plenty to choose from

Room Tip: superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolbilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
I was delighted to read that this was your first visit and you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Holme Lacy House Hotel.
It is always our intention to provide all of our guests with a first rate level of service in all areas of the hotel so I am very pleased that we achieved this for you.
I very much hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Holme Lacy in the near future.
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

We have been to a few of Warners Historic houses. This was the best so far. We had a lake view historic room that was newly decorated and it was great. The bath/shower is not so good for the age group that visits here as it can be difficult to get in and out of.
The food was great. Get there by 12am and try to choose your restaurant table. The only downside was that they use "My Warner Table" and not very well. We booked a table in the disabled zone as my wife uses a wheelchair. They totally ignored our booking and put us in a zone up some steps!!! They blamed it on us starting midweek and not on a Monday or Friday. Gunton Hall didn't have this problem.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esprit350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
Holme Lacy House Hotel is a magical Grade 1 listed Georgian manor house set in 50 acres of glorious award-winning gardens and I am delighted that we were able to share this with you during your stay with us
I apologise that there was some confusion over your "My Warner Table" booking, I do hope that this didn't cause you too much inconvenience and that you were still able to enjoy the entertainment.
I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Well trained, pleasant and attentive staff in a magnificent building. Excellent food and extensive well-kept grounds. Lovely walks around wonderful well-established gardens. Doesn't feel crowded even at full capacity. The quizzes and musical entertainment not to my taste, but greatly enjoyed by the vast majority of guests. No children or pets allowed, which meant that most guests were over 65, which did give a feeling of being in a retirement home! However, good food, relaxing and everyone - staff and guests were happy and cheerful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
Holme Lacy House Hotel is indeed a beautiful building with delightful award winning gardens and I am delighted that you were able to visit us and appreciate it.
Our team all work very hard to try and ensure that all of our guests receive a first rate level of service in all areas of the hotel so I am pleased that we achieved this for you
I very much hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the near future
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Carpets were old and threadbare in places, lifts were dirty and not what you would expect for a 4 star resort. On our stay we had to go out and use toilets in the corridor even though we reported the problem with the flush on our first day of stay. Once it was 'fixed' it still took a full flush and a kettle full of water to flush the toilet fully.
Food was good and staff were pleasant . Most of the clientele were old with mobility problems and yet the main thoroughfare was a series of lounges with obstacles for them to negotiate. Staff at the house would not provide shower chairs for those could not use the showers standing. Wifi access was awful and mobile connection was only possible outside in the grounds. We rented 2 rooms for older and younger family and the resort entertainment was more like what one would expect at a Butlins camp! We had awful views from rooms and we paid for an upgrade to one of them. The holiday cost £2200 for 4 for 5 nights.
Don't be fooled by the glossy brochures, I have experienced better rooms in a Premier Inn!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
I am sorry to read that you encountered some problems during your stay here with us at Holme Lacy House Hotel
It is always our intention to provide all of our guests with a first class level of service in all areas of the hotel
Wi-Fi and phone signal is a problem here due to our very rural location. All guests are offered free calls from their rooms to try and compensate for this. We understand that fibre broadband will be available in the area and to the hotel by the end of this year then wi-fi will be much improved.
Warners aim to cater for all adults and not just those with mobility problems but we do try to ensure that access to all areas is not restricted forthe less mobile
I very much hope that you will reconsider and visit us again at Holme Lacy House Hotel with our award winning gardens in the beautiful Wye Valley
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We paid £1,128.96 for this four day break!
We arrived on Monday,7th August, but were a bit delayed due to a serious accident on the M50 ( thankfully not involving us). Check in was fine, but we were directed to a person in the restaurant to "choose" our table to be used during the stay. We were not happy with the small (2) choice. This was because we were later than the majority.
Bearing in mind that we had paid for one of their Historic Rooms, with a suite, we felt totally let-down. Surely, we thought, the management would set aside suitable tables for clients using and paying for excellent accomodation. We left on Tuesday morning, 8th August! The most expensive bed and breakfast we have had and we shall never repeat it.
All staff were excellent.
We would advise giving this hotel chain a big miss.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sellbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
I have spoken to the Holiday Sales Manager about your comments and the problems your encountered.
He said that he spoke to you on the night that you arrived when you said you were not happy with your table. He left you in the very capable hands of the restaurant manager and you were told that we would do our best to move you to another table for the next day. Unfortunately you did not give us a chance to relocate you as you chose to leave after just one night.
You were also informed that by leaving early you would forfeit the full payment
Our holidays are made up of so many aspects including the Historic rooms, great food, brilliant shows, abundance of leisure activities and friendly team. If the location of the dining table is that important , I would suggest calling the hotel in advance to request a specific seat, or working with the team onsite to try to resolve the problem rather than leaving early and forfeiting the money paid.

Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
6.4 km away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 11 in Hereford
475 reviews
9.4 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
235 reviews
6.7 km away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hereford
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
809 reviews
11.7 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
416 reviews
11.6 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing