We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Our first visit to holme lacy but our fifth different warner hotel stay and this was the best so far.
Stayed in an ambassador room that was huge with four poster bed large bathroom and plenty of wardrobe space.
Food was plentiful, well cooked and presented.
The entertainment was what really made the weekend. Friday night comedy act was brought in at the last minute due to the advertised act not being able to get there and did not disappoint.Saturdays headline act the ivy league were excellent. Sunday night resident entertainment team were the best we have seen followed by one man band comic, very funny.
There are plenty of places to visit in the area but for those not wanting to leave the hotel there are activities running all day long.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,185 - 1,189 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2009

We booked this as a last minute Christmas five day break so had to take what was left in the way of accommodation.One of The ambassador Twin rooms.
On arrival the greeting from the staff at the door was great,made my wife and I feel welcome and relaxed after our drive.
We were ushered into the room off reception for very nice mince pies and hot toddy.
Our room was situated on the second floor was clean,(the mattresses had seen better days and were not too comfortable) A very nice welcome pack.
Our first meal of the day gave a clue as to what was to come.
We were asked if we wanted a table for two? YES please, we only have table for four left would you mind sharing? NO, we were directed to a table at the far side of the hall with no room to get in or out, Can you put us in a more comfortable and sensible position table wise? NO We are fully booked and that is where you will be for all meals. At dinner we were joined by another couple the lady being a little older and less agile could not move very well and complained about the table lay out. to no avail.even the waitress said it was a ridiculous set up as she could not move to serve anyone and would talk to someone to get it altered.
After the meal I informed the head waiter that under no circumstances were we prepared to eat at that table in that position and suggested a remedy,move the tables around to accommodate us. which was done for the following days meal and suddenly a new table was allocated.(for two) and the other couple were moved the day after. complaining of the draught.
The waiter arrived with very little English and even less experience of waiting. (All of us felt sorry for this lad as the meal progressed but not his fault if he had had little training)
Christmas lunch was a disaster with an obvious problem in the kitchen.The plating up was shoddy and mismatched for the turkey meals,veg cold, turkey almost IN edible. Fortunately they had beef at the carvery so we and the row of tables along side had that which was excellent. The reason as explained to us for the fiasco.Too many people asked for the turkey? (can't understand that at Christmas)
A few plating up and food problems we faced.
Greek salad and feta cheese. No feta cheese.
Prawn and celery salad. No prawns.
cold salad on scorching hot plates.
No plates available
Whole Poached salmon.Raw in the middle. had to be returned to the kitchen.
Sweets on the menu.Not available.
After the Christmas lunch things got better ( a proper chef showed his face )
It seems obvious now that this catering and waiting staff were nor ready or properly trained,thrown in at the deep end which was a shame as the food quality was superb just the people who got hold of it messed it up.
As the days progressed things settled down and was less hectic the service improved and the food was leaving the kitchen as it should have.

Room service was excellent as the room was cleaned and beds changed during the breakfast period.lovely staff always smiling and chatty.

The front of the house staff were great.Professional and helpful,nothing was too much trouble for them.As were the bar staff.
My hat off to the entertaining crew for the shows they put on especially the dancers great energy and enthusiasm.
This hotel has recently upgraded to four star.On current performance I feel they have not quite got it right yet but are working on it.
Real efforts were made to make every one's stay enjoyable and relaxing and for our part this they achieved.
Would I recommend this for a break YES because the problems were listened to and were being actioned. The restaurant staff were becoming more confident and experienced.
The grounds and facilities are superb and all in all we had a great time meeting self minded people and lots of fun and laughs.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigdon0Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

As other reviews have said, this is a hotel for the elderly, however it's not all bad. Stayed for 2 nights in an Ambassador room (double), patio, on the ground floor, with dining in the Bremner Room. It's true, the patio is little more than a footpath, but it's nice to open the door and get some air. Room is spacious and comfy, bathroom is a bit tired, with English plumbing. Travelling with a bunch of people some 30 years older than myself, went to the beauty salon, did quizes, attempted air rifle shooting, played lawn bowls, watched Freeview television in my room, went to the gym and generally chilled out. The night-time entertainment is hillarious, but probably not on purpose. On the up side, the barman made an excellent vodka, lime and soda. The staff are really quite lovely, and must be paranoid about all the whinging old people. The alleged Wifi was a non-event, but it's not like you need to be online constantly. Dining in the Bremner room is not a culinary highlight, but what would you expect when meal prices are included in the price of the rooms? If you don't like the dining option, you can always upgrade for either £7.50 or £12.50. I wouldn't hurry back, but it's well worth a visit...

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

just returned from a 5 night break. hotel was in a great location with beautiful gardens. we had a couple of minor problems which were sorted our very quickly. room was a good size and comfortable. the food was very good. could have done with more rolls etc at breakfast and when we asked for another round of bread with our evening meal to go with a pasta dish we were refused which was a bit strange. evening entertainment was brilliant. but overall we really enjoyed it

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

My wife and I recently had a three day break at Holme Lacy and for the first time were a little disappointed. Firstly we discovered that unlike the other Warner Hotels we have visited there was no house band.Being a musician myself I have always enjoyed jhaving a live band.

Also we decided to book the Bistro restaurant for the second night of our stay and the Orchard Restaurant for the third night.

The first night we found the food excellent in The main Bremner Restaurant but the second night we were very disappointed with the Bistro.
I had vegetable soup which was completely tasteless
followed by beef which in itself was OK but the vegetables were bland and the roast potatoes very poor
My wife chose a lamb dish and found the meat very tough.
I complained to the manager and refused to pay the supplement.
Rather than risk being dissappointed with the Orchard we swopped back to the Bremmner for the last evening and had a very good meal indeed

Other than this we found the hotel delightful and the staff extremely professional, friendly and helpful including the manager

We have visited Littlecote, Cricket and Bembridge Coast and never had cause to complain in the past

It was a shame to have hade these hiccups at Holme Lacy

The Gardens and grounds were lovely and the cabaret which featured The Rubettes and Comedian Bob Taylor superb

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monnijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
6.4 km away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 11 in Hereford
478 reviews
6.7 km away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hereford
112 reviews
9.4 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
810 reviews
12.6 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
605 reviews
11.6 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing