We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little hotel in a peaceful setting”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stretton Sugwas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

I booked the priory a little last minute and wasn't expecting anything special, however when I arrived I was pleasantly surprised. Nice room, not overly expensive bar, really friendly staff, beautiful setting. All in all I would say it's one of the best hotels I've stayed in for a while.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank BigDave88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a five star review, we have a very quiet location down a country lane but only 10 mins out of the city centre. As a small independent hotel we aim to offer friendly service with attention to details. All our rooms are of a good size and well furnished, offering a comfortable unfussy stay. We would be very happy to look after you again when in Herefordshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

The hotel owner was extremely welcoming and friendly, the hotel was comfortable and clean and the food, although only a small menu, was very nice and well priced. Only a small way out of town but as a regular traveller who is away usually at least one night a week and who has stayed in Hereford several times before I would be more than happy to return to the Priory.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lee1977Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The perfect setting for my dads funeral tea and he would have loved it!
Mum and I decided what we wanted and Chris was very helpful in making sure it was.
Delicious sandwiches freshly made and gorgeous cake....wish I could have had more than two pieces of the coffee and walnut! Tea and coffee was plentiful and the food just kept coming.
Thank you Chris and all your staff for making the occasion so pleasant in sad circumstances.
We all totally recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovedourholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerefordshireOwner, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.
We aim to be sympathetic to our guests needs and provide a quiet and private setting for all occasions.
Please consider using us in the future for a happier gathering; making a request for coffee and walnut cake :)
Many thanks,
Chris & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

The room was very small. The windows would not stay open. I had to prop the window open with a pot. My mother had a fall on raised slabs on the patio area, she cut her head and is badly bruised. I went and asked for some ice and a first aid kit and was told that they did not have one.

Room Tip: Poor disabled access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerefordshireOwner, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Ceri
I'm sorry you felt the need to leave us a 1* review. Let me cover all the points you make:
The room you stayed in was selected for you by your son and daughter-in-law. We have a selection of size rooms; our smaller rooms, outside of an all inclusive package, are our best budget rooms.
It was an unfortunate incident that your elderly mother took a stumble outside. Your son said that no-one really saw what happened due to the fact it was early evening and most people had been drinking all day.
At the time, we attended to your family to the best of our ability, calling an ambulance to make an assessment, one of our members of staff (first aid trained and works in the health industry) stayed with her the whole time. We provided ice immediately and were correct in our statement that we could not provide a first aid kit, due to both allergies and the 'Health and Safety (First-Aid) Regulations 1981 does not require us to.
The ambulance crew discharged your mother without further medical assistance being required and recommended the bruising would be the only outcome.

We are so pleased the Kim & Ben enjoyed their day. In fact they left us the following review:
"Cannot thank Chris and her team enough for our fantastic wedding day and stay . Chris goes that extra mile to make everything run smoothly and be as stress free as possible . We stayed in a luxury four post bed, and breakfast was beautiful. Nothing was too much trouble we truly had a day to remember.
Kindest regards The Busby's xx"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 1 evening for my husband's birthday. Nothing was too much trouble and I was able to arrange a lovely cream tea in the afternoon as a treat.
The room was very spacious and clean and we had a great evening meal.
I would highly recommend if you want a bit of piece and quiet, close to Hereford.
I hope to return when we have more time.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SazzleH110914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerefordshireOwner, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay for your husband's birthday and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Chris & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretton Sugwas
5.6 km away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
475 reviews
12.5 km away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
829 reviews
5.5 km away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hereford
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hereford
288 reviews
5.2 km away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
810 reviews
5.0 km away
Munstone House Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: Priory Lane | Stretton Sugwas, Stretton Sugwas, Hereford HR4 7AR, England (Formerly New Priory Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Stretton Sugwas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stretton Sugwas
Price Range: $215 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in rural Herefordshire, but just 3 miles from the Cathedral city of Hereford.Chris & Chris Rowbotham operate the family run country house hotel as a home from home. There are 8 en-suite bedrooms, ranging in size and bathroom options, offering every comfort. At the heart of the hotel is our Hathway Restaurant priding itself on using the finest local ingredients cooked fresh to order. Enjoy a glass of wine or local beer in the cosy lounge bar with an open fire for the winter or on the sun terrace if lucky with the weather. We also are a popular wedding venue in the area, licensed for civil marriage ceremonies and able to cater for up to 80 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Priory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing