We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet rural retreat perfect for dog owners.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Longwood Cottage

Glorious views in all directions from the sun deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glorious views in all directions from the sun deck
Newly fitted separate kitchen State of the art modern bathroom - truly a loo with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Glorious views in all directions from the sun deck
Newly fitted separate kitchen
State of the art modern bathroom - truly a loo with a view
The cosy lounge has windows in both directions and doors on to the sun deck
Parker Knoll Chair overlooking wonderful views - just the spot for an after lunch snooze
The double bedroom has windows either end and a very cosy armchair
There is plenty of storage space in the double bedroom
The twin bedded room is spacious with lots of storage
Push the beds together if you prefer
View across the fields towards Woolhope - taken from the sundeck
Our family of fallow deer pictured in eight acre meadow one autumn morning
A sunny evening and a bottle of wine on the deck - perfect !
Looking from the deck towards the gallops at the top of Marcle Ridge
Spring flowers abound in Long Wood - primroses, orchids, violets and cowslips to name a few
View from the gate towards the cottage, with Long Wood in the distance
A family picnic by the pond last Autumn
view from Glowson Wood road - just up the hill from Longwood Cottage
a wintery scheme taken from Long Wood looking west
A beautiful Autumn morning taken from Long Wood
view from the sitting room across the sun deck
a young visitor helps move the sheep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sollers Hope, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Seaside61...
1 review
“Quiet rural retreat perfect for dog owners.”
Reviewed 11 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

The cottage is clean, pleasant and homely, with good facilities for a short break or a week away, and although in a very rural area, is close to Ross on Wye, Hereford, Symonds Yat and the Forest of Dean. Well behaved dogs are welcome and the large garden and private woodland are excellent for the morning walk. There are dog friendly places to visit nearby and pubs and cafes where dogs can also go. Ideal for up to 4 adults who enjoy a country holiday or break, that's easy to get to, but off the beaten track too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules523
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing quiet country cottage”
Reviewed 1 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Great place to get away from it all for a few days, nice safe garden for the dog to play in, and the addition of a wood next door to walk in with the dog was very handy.
The cottage itself is well equipped and comfortable.
Very central for visiting all the local beauty spots.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2018
Didn't you have wonderful weather too. Sadly took it home with you ! Pleased you enjoyed your break at Longwood Cottage and that you enjoyed your trip to the Wye Valley and Symonds Yat. There are so many lovely places to visit, we hope you come back again and do a few more !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msmjc2
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tucked away in beautiful Herefordshire this cottage brings peace and tranquility.”
Reviewed 24 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Everything you need (including high seated armchairs) with wonderful views over glorious fields and countryside.
The beds are a little hard (could do with toppers) and there would be added expense of further heating in cooler weather but this would not prevent us from returning. TV channel 10 does not work here but this is being picky!
Very well equipped with details of walks and local attractions.
We loved being here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2018
It was lovely to meet you and we are pleased you enjoyed your break inspite of the dreadful weather. It was chilly for the time of year, but must admit every time I popped into the cottage it was rather too warm for me. I know that when you are not fortunate enough to be as mobile as you might wish, you do feel the cold. We could always have provided a fan heater had you said. The single beds have a topper and are soft but the double bed is an orthopaedic one so may be a little hard for you. A topper might be a good idea for that one too so we will bear it in mind.
We look forward to meeting you again and hope that we can provide some sunshine next time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
149leeb
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great last minute decision”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This was a last minute decision to spend a week at Longwood Cottage and what a great decision it was! The cottage is perfectly set up for visiting dogs with a large enclosed garden as well as an enclosed woodland; we were fortunate enough to see fallow deer twice as well as a woodpecker. The surrounding area is beautiful and peaceful with loads of things to do. Veronica & Ken are excellent hosts; they ensured that we wanted for nothing and provided an abundance of information regarding places to visit and eat as well as the details of a fabulous drive to Hay Bluff where the views have to be experienced to be believed.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Longwood Cottage and will definitely return again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
Well, there's last minute and there's last minute! But so pleased it worked out well. Your dogs were beautifully behaved and the cottage was spic and span when you left, so very much appreciated. We love it when our visitors enjoy the cottage and hope very much to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2018
Well I can only say thank you for such a lovely review. We love living here so are glad when our guests do too! Honey was an angel and no trouble at all and we were delighted you had such a good holiday. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing