We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for friends and couples”
Review of The Lock Up

The Lock Up
Ranked #33 of 1,878 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 November 2018

The staff are lovely and very accommodating I would recommend this for a relaxed meal with your friends or just as a couple. There is seating outside which is covered and inside seating. The food was beautiful and affordable near the centre of Bristol so is highly accessible to get to. However, I would recommend booking a table because even on weekdays it is very busy.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank erinfitz95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

We visited The Lock Up last night for the first time. It was our first ‘date night’ in a long time having managed to get a last minute babysitter. We decided on The Lock Up because it had been recommended to us twice by family and friends.

It didn’t disappoint! We were greeted by a friendly host who took our coats and seated us in their lovely cosy restaurant. Our waiter was really friendly and efficient. We both had a two course meal, all 4 dishes cooked to perfection, tasty and flavourful. Special mention for the soup starter and duck main!!

All in all, a fantastic way to spend our rare night out, thank you!

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank LeahDeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

The lockup is an intimate cosy restaurant at the heart of Redfield. The menu is small but changes frequently. I have tried the Philly Steak roll with chips and a side salad. It was very good. Service is very good- the food can take while to arrive but it's made fresh to order and it's worth the wait. I love the decor and the cosy atmosphere of the restaurant. It can be really romantic in the evenings when the light are down and there's candles at the table. There's also seating outside which has heating. Again, very cosy.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank foodieash50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

We have tried a few of the tasting menu evenings at the lock up. It is always amazing not only the food but the wine pairing is very well done. The food is always well presented but very inspired pairings. Aiden and the team must spend a lot of time on these special menus. The staff need a mention all on their own they are friendly helpful and very passionate about the food.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sharon-bris1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Fantastic staff (Emily). Great food and service and very reasonably priced. Really enjoyed Sunday lunch and will return when in Bristol

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Annj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lock Up also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to The Lock Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing