We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I booked this hotel primarily because it was close to the departure point for the airport bus. I had a 6.30 am flight out so needed to be close to the bus stopat the station. The hotel is located opposite temple meads train station in an area that I being redeveloped and is mostly office blocks. The realtown centre is a good 15 minutes walk away though there are plentynof buses.

The hotel facade is 1960s concrete though the interior was more recently refurbished. The room was also quite recently renovated with a good size flat screen tv and comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean and modern with a good shower not a bath. Aircon and a separate wall heater are also supplied. No safe provided. Parking is available but I did not need it.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a local small tesco store about 5 mins away for essentials. Town maps avaiable at reception. Wifi is only in the lobby for whichyou get a voucher (30mins) at reception but is very slow. A bar next door has it for free if you need it but plenty more places in the city centre and near the university have it also for free. Breakfast is basic, plenty of toast and fruit etc. Avoid the newly available hot (slightly warm) cooked breakfast especially the scrambled egg which seem to be powdered eggs. Really not good!

Was leaving early and the staff offered coffee, toast and yoghurts without being asked.
Overall a functional business hotel but a little out of the way. Based on the price I got online it offered value for money and the staff were very good. Would use again but not for leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking away from the station as it is on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IT-nerd-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear IT-nerd-on-the-road,

Thank you for writing a review for us. We are pleased to hear that our service is of satisfactory level to you, especially for the purpose of your stay this time.

We provide 30 Minutes Free Wi-Fi to In-House guests every night for using the internet at the lobby, or a voucher of 24 Hours Internet Access can be purchased at £12 at the Reception. Room + Wi-Fi package is also available at the time of reservation subject to room availability.

We apologise that our newly available hot items at the breakfast disappointed you.
This is going to be one of the topics that we will discuss during our team meeting today, as we learned from the other reviews that the scrambled egg does not seem to be that acceptable as well.

Once again, thank you for your review and our friendly and helpful team here look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

Kamen Cheng
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    303
    160
    46
    28
See reviews for
74
225
73
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
teramo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Fortunately me and my boyfriend slept there for only one night; not so close to the city centre we arrived late at night and the receptionist told us we had to wait for our room. We booked a non smocking double room and we slept in a smocking twin room because the hotel didn't have any others options. No breakfast, no water (i had to pay a glass of running water) and an unresolving staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nappita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear nappita m,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay 10 months ago.
We hope that the recent positive reviews will bring you back to our hotel in the near future.
We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us and it was an unfortunate that we were not able to accommodate the room type you requested.
We are aware that some travel agencies book a standard room for our guests which means the room type is run of house, subject to the availability on the arrival date. At this case, we encourage our guests to contact us directly to reconfirm the room type immediately.
Continental Breakfast with selected hot items are served complimentary for all In-House guests between 06:30 - 09:30 during the week and 07:00 - 11:00 on the weekend as Holiday Inn Express Brand Standard.
Should our guests have an early departure, we are more than happy to arrange a light breakfast before they leave the hotel, so our Night team will prepare it by request in advance.
As of the running water, we do not charge anyone for the tap water as we provide free tap water by law.
Once again, thank you for the review and we hope you will choose to stay with us when you visit Bristol again.

Regards,
Kamen Cheng
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at Holiday Inn Express, Temple Gate House, Bristol for a weekend in February. The hotel was easy to find. It’s right opposite the railway station. Check-in was quick and we were given Room 507. It was a quiet room overlooking the car park at the back of the hotel. Not a splendid view but we were not bothered. I’d rather have a quiet room than a great view. The front of the hotel faces a busy road so I am not sure how quiet these rooms would have been.
Our room was typical of a Holiday Inn Express. It was clean, moderns with just about enough storage space for your belongings for a weekend. There was a TV, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom was clean and modern with a large walk-in shower. As with Holiday Inn Express, you do not get a selection of toiletries but you do get a choice of soft or firm pillows.
Breakfast had an adequate selection of hot and cold buffet.
The staff were polite and friendly throughout our stay. During both the Saturday and the Sunday I could smell cigarette smoke from a room along our corridor. When I mentioned this to the reception desk on the Sunday morning, the Manager shot up there with her keys to find out who had been smoking. I was really impressed how seriously she took this matter. Not sure of the outcome.
There is a limited number of car parking spaces allocated to the hotel in the car park at the back but, on the weekend we stayed, there was no problem with parking. However, it does cost you £6 per night.
I would certainly recommend this hotel if you wanted to stay in Bristol. It was just
10 – 15 minute walks to the centre of town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Annathetraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
We hope that you had enjoyed your weekend in Bristol.
I have spoken to the Duty Manager Victoria, who dealt with the cigarette smell issue on the 5th Floor. She checked all the Non-Smoking floors from the floor you stayed and could not locate where the smell came from. Victoria has done all she could and we are really happy to hear that you were impressed with her responsibility at work and we are proud of her.
We have a few Smoking rooms located on the 6th Floor and Penalty Notice in all Non-Smoking rooms, so we hope this allows our guests to enjoy their stay in a smoking free area whilst there are still a few choices for the others.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,
Kamen Cheng
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We used this hotel as an overnight stop on our way back from holidays and did not arrive there until 2am. We were really pleased with the warm (and sympathetic) welcome, the quick way we were checked in and given our room key. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room - very much needed after a long cold journey, plus each room has it's own air con/heater which we switched on immediately and it warmed the room really quickly.

Immaculately presented clean room/bathroom. Very comfy beds and warm bedding. Breakfast was OK- nothing to write home about - but you did have a really wide choice of hot and cold items and could eat as much as you needed to. The staff were very efficient in replenishing used items too.

The Staff in the hotel were friendly and efficient and seemed to really care about customer service. If I or my partner travel to Bristol for business we will definately use this hotel as it is well equipped with desk and internet facilities, TV, etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Mara C,

Thank you for writing a review for us, it's been shared with the team.
We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the end of a long journey.
I would love to thank you especially for the compliment on behalf of the Night team.
We understand that when our guests arrive late, all they want is to get to the bed as quick as possible, we are happy that our service had given you a good night sleep.
Please feel free to contact us to make reservation directly for both leisure and business, as we have wide range of packages to suit our business travellers as well.
We greatly appreciated your encouraging comment and we aim to provide better service to our guests.

Regards,
Kamen Cheng
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Although not the prettiest hotel out there, the location is perfect for anyone travelling by train. The room was basic, but clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and provided us with a useful map showing directions to Harbourside and the city centre. We were also able to leave our bags at the hotel between checking out and when we caught our train which was useful.

We stayed at a promotional rate of around £55 for the room which was good value.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor which helped reduce the noise of the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SC79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear SC79_10,

Thank you for mentioning the good location, the great customer services that our friendly staff provide and the great offer you managed to find. Your comment will be useful for other travellers who are considering to stay with us.

We hope that you had a great time in Bristol and look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.

Regards,
Kamen Cheng
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.9 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 km away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.3 km away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#13 of 38 in Bristol
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Address: South END Temple Gate, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price range (per night): $118 - $253
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing