We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$95
Hotels.comUS$95
MercureUS$86
PricelineUS$86
TripadvisorUS$86
travelup.com
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveller rating
253
292
267
195
157
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
253
292
267
195
157
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mercure Bristol. Was in a very good location with lots of places to eat and drink within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was beautifully clean and spacious with a good sized bathroom and a nice shower. The room had everything you would want for a weekend away.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AdieK94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Hello there, Thanks you for your review.

We're happy to know that you enjoyed our position here in the city with everything close by and that you felt well looked after by our dedicated team.

We can't wait to see you on your next visit.
Best wishes,
Mahesh Jay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2021 via mobile

We stay in Bristol a lot and usually avoid bringing a car. This trip we had to, and this hotel has a really useful car park next to it. They charge £15 a day mind you. We paid £140 a night plus the car park fee, and think they could go better at breakfast at that price. The room was ok, a bit small, a bit noisy; it overlooked a fire exit. We could hear people a few rooms away having a row. The shower was really good. Staff were fine, artwork was funky. The lifts were annoying. one had no button for floor 1 and the other would not come if that one arrived first. So you have to send it away. Breakfast was a massive disappointment. tasteless croissant, poor choice of cereal, horrible coffee; I mean utterly undrinkable. There was tinned fruit and the usual hot stuff. The hotel is close to some fantastic coffee shops so don't bother paying extra for breakfast. Chez Marcel is 2 minutes walk and has brilliant coffee and food. Plenty of other choices. The hotel is very close to the market, the harbour and not too far to the main shopping area. It is pretty much the best located hotel we have stayed in.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wanda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Hi Wanda, Thanks for telling us about your recent stay.

We're delighted to know you love our location as we do too. Let us know next time as we have rooms of all shapes, sizes, and positions and can find the right one for your next visit. Sorry about our breakfast, we'll pass your comments to the chef and get it sorted; we're always open to hearing about suggestions to add to our offerings. Thanks for mentioning our handy car park, we try to keep our fees at a competitive price for right here in central Bristol.

We really look forward to welcoming you back for a perfect stay.
Take care,
Mahesh Jay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2021 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel in Bristol. The staff were so welcoming and friendly. The room was extremely comfortable with warm colours and stylish decor. The complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious and the area to eat in was open and spacious looking out onto the marvellous architecture Of the Guildhall buildings. We will definitely recommend to friends and hopefully come back again soon.! Thank you to all the staff.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Newenglishrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Hi there, Thank you for your kind review and recommendation.

We're delighted that your stay was what you were hoping for and you felt so comfy and well looked after by our team. It's also great to know we helped start your day off right with our breakfast and we're glad you made the most of the stunning views we're so lucky to have.

We hope your next stay is just around the corner!
See you soon,

Mahesh Jay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2021

Had a great check in. Very comfortable bedroom. Super location. Stay was first class. Would definately go again to this hotel. Nice friendly and professional staff on reception. Had no complaints at all!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank adamsG1385DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Hi Di, Thank you so much for sharing this review!

We are happy that you had a comfortable stay and that our team hit the mark by looking after you well. Thanks for letting us know that you would visit us again.

We can't wait to see you again, there is so much more to enjoy.
All the best,
Mahesh Jay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2021

A disappointing stay at the Grand. The compact double is tiny, considering the price tag.

To start with, the lift was missing the buttons for our floor! So we had to get the lift to the 3rd floor then carry our luggage to the 4th floor via the stairs.

Our room was tired, stained carpet, decor in poor state. The bathroom fared no better - shower curtain was black with mold on the bottom, chips in the bath had started to rust. My girlfriend slipped over in the shower as there was no mat in there.

The upside was the bed was comfy and the room view was very nice. The staff are super friendly and chatty and they are a credit to the hotel. Also, the location is fantastic for all Bristol has to offer.

I think expection wouldn’t of been so high if the room matched the price tag, which it certainly didn’t. Certainly not a 4* room.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank markythatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Hi Mark, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

We're glad that you enjoyed our comfy beds and that our location was handy for you. We're really sorry that your room wasn't exactly what you were hoping for. Next time, please let us know and we can reserve you one of our larger rooms as we have different categories and this may be more suited to you. We're sorry to hear the issues you had and have taken note of all that needs to be done to make your stay better, thanks for letting us know.

We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Best regards,
Mahesh Jay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews