We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avon Gorge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$92
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$101
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$73
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$128
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
242
403
274
102
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
403
274
102
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclifton suspension bridgewhite liongreat view of the bridgelarge terraceterrace barlovely hotelstreet parkingthird floorhotel du vinstayed for one nightfamily roomfull englishlovely roomcooked breakfastweddingpermitrefurb
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and have mixed feelings about the hotel.

The position of the hotel is great overlooking the suspension bridge. The hotel has been undergoing major changes and I believe that is part of the problem.

The room itself was acceptable with regards of size and the rooms have been recently been refurbished. However, the building work has caused a huge amount of dust and a fine layer could be found everywhere. The bathroom was caked in dust, along with the table and mirrors located in the bedroom.
The lighting of the room was inadequate and although atmospheric too dark.

The dust issue I believe is unacceptable and better house keeping is required.

Overall the location sells it ! But hopefully with the building works completed and a series of deep cleans will make things better.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rexy_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

It's been interesting to read some of the reviews for the Avon Gorge Hotel before writing my own so as to put mine in context. The hotel, from our experience was pretty much perfect. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Clearly there was work in progress and where we came across a workman, he was as friendly and as courteous as the hotel staff (as we were in response of course). We were checked in to see how we were and that if everything was fine also. There is clearly a lot of work going on but it's pretty much all behind doors and away from guest areas and without any noise interference. We look forward to getting back there as soon as we can and look forward to having breakfast in the restaurant rather than the cafe at the other end of the hotel. Our room was fantastic. We didn't opt for the upgrade to the gorge side of the hotel and enjoyed the rooftops of Clifton when we occasionally looked outside. It was unusually cosy in Bristol when we stayed so we ramped the heating up in our room!! The hotel was kept warm as well.

So yes, April 2018: a great mid week stay. Lovely welcoming staff. Radeck and team were fantastic hosts in the restaurant. Gorgeous revamped design and colours, amazing bathroom and bedroom and food was just exquisite.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GuyBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

First things first,the room was lovely, bathroom really good, except the shower had no hot water in the morning, bed kings size and comfy although the mattress was not pulled up to the headboard so the pillows kept falling down the hole. It was a huge mattress that i couldn't move. Only one breakfast teabag in the room seemed a bit tight. But the decor is dark and moody and beautifully done.
White Lion in my view is poor and expensive. On a quiet Monday night the volume of the music was very loud and they style completely inappropriate for the age of the guest. Seemed like it suited the young staff rather than the paying customers. The beer was expensive and by the way Heineken lager is not 5.4% ABV as advertised everywhere.
A great location and lovely rooms but just needs that real attention to detail to be good.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Okay I think there is a few things that need separating here on Trip Advisor. There is the Avon Gorge Hotel soon to be a fully branded Hotel du Vin and there is the White Lion and the current lounge restaurant in The Avon Gorge Hotel. Tess yes they are all the same company but the Accommodation should not be judged against the standard of the restaurants. The hotel is still in development but the rooms are complete and my word they are in a class of their own so individual and quirky we loved it. Huge bathroom and super kingsize bed in the Bollinger garden suite. Unique decor in the main hotel building with a modern yet warm feel. We also had a good but not excellent meal in the temporary lounge bar with some good cocktails and wine. Service fine at points staff were stretched but it didn't affect our experience. Breakfast in the White Lion was also lovely with fast pleasant service.

My gripes and I always have some. ditch the oil candles in the lounge bar, they make the whole lobby smell a bit like a fuel station.

Get the cocktail service a bit quicker.

Discreet ear pieces for your radios would be a suggestion.

more coffee pods in the room 2 normal and 2 decaf are not enough.

I'm just being fussy as we really really enjoyed our stay and will return for sure!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CharlieDogUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Although £55 for Sunday lunch sounds a bit expensive when you break it down its a four-course meal with a glass of wine, therefore, reflects great value for money. You start with a Charcuterie of various assortments of cold meat and fish, then homemade soup, then a Roast Dinner completed with dessert and wine

Room Tip: Sunday Lunch
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank webbscatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews