We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
396
230
45
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
396
230
45
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blaise castle charming hotel evening meal and breakfast lovely building bristol area cooked breakfast no lift bus stop pleasant stay busy road room was large walk in shower easy access following morning car park free parking annex
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2021

We usually stay at Berwick Lodge but they were closed in November and recommended this place so we it gave it a go........ wish we hadn't .

Firstly all the staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was very good ( but last orders for 9am so no lie in........if that were possible ( see reference to traffic ).BUT

The Lodge is run down and has a strong smell of cooking oil as you enter. Our room was large but needed some TLC. It took an age for hot water to appear and a tip the radiators are turned off so at this time of year you may wish to turn them on if you book. The floor in the room had more creaks than the Kent countryside any one below us must have thought ' Caspar' had moved in. Only two pillows provided but two more appeared on request.There is a roundabout right outside and it is a very busy road. If you cannot sleep through traffic noise this place is not for you. We woke at 4am and could not get back to sleep. We were on the third floor ( stairs only ) and in our late 60's no offer of help with our bags. Going up three flights gave us the opportunity to see the other floors ..A lick of paint would not go amiss.The restaurant was shut. We were a little surprised that when we mentioned there was no bottled water in the room we had to buy two at a cost of £3.40 . This is usually a complimentary service and at this price a rip off.

There is parking but if driving a 4x4 be careful going through the gates.

We decided that this hotel was recommended by Berwick Lodge to ensure we return to them! This place really does not reflect the Best in Western.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank par14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Henbury Lodge, Owner at Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The Berwick lodge is a 4 star hotel in the countryside and we are a 3 star hotel in a busy area of Bristol City so there are going to be differences but that is also reflected in the price difference. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2021

Pleasantly surprised. Read all the reviews, including the negative one, which I thought was ridiculous before I even went there!. Outside faded charm but read the history of the property and understood. Rooms lovely and well converted and bathrooms well modern and clean. We were in room 5 lovely and big. People really friendly. Really recommend

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 November 2021

Brilliant hotel, great rooms, fab food, helpful staff, beautiful setting what more could you ask for?
Very attentive helpful staff, rooms very well equipped and clean, imaginative food served for vegetarians, our party thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience which included overnight stay, many thanks

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ssstmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2021

Stayed here for two nights. Nice country style hotel, set off a busy road but with no real road noise issues. The rooms were spacious and clean. Could do with a bit of updating decor wise, here and there but currently if feels right for a 200 year old building. Bathroom shower was super effective and immediately hot. Bathrooms have recently been modernised.

Parking for large cars might be a challenge at busy times and as far as I can see there is no lift. The staff were very helpful and engaging. Saw critism in other posts of the cost of drinks but I thought it was ok.

Ate in on the first night and was expecting the worst, as the hotel seems to cater for hotel guests only and with 20 rooms, I thought it would be unlikely to excel. Proven wrong, the food was well prepared and plentiful and there was a very decent choice of wines. The breakfast needs to be ordered in advance and was also very well prepared and served.

The hotel is situated in a Bristol suburb and Henbury is not the first choice for people who know the city. But it has pleasant gardens, Blaise Castle and John Nash's Blaise Hamlet close by. The bus stop opposite will take you into Bristol city Centre in 25 minutes.

What's not to like?

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank miles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2021 via mobile

Such a friendly and welcoming place to stay. Nothing to much trouble eg opening bar out of hours, Breakfast is Lovely. Great location. Cabs are easy to order by staff. Loved doing a Banksy drive before we left ❤️❤️Hotel is clean and staff are so helpful. Highly recommended a stay here.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hippyhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews