We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$89
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$77
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$57
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$90
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$111
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$60
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$79
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
113
58
30
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
58
30
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooked breakfastrange of beersnice pubgreat roomfull englishfresh fruitbusy roadbreakfast was includedone night staybed was very comfortablewellyrugbyaccommodationbathtoiletrieswardrobeensuite
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2017

I have always thought of the Wellington as an after rugby or football venue morphing into a more cosmopolitan pub in the evening. However, following a visit with my wife on an early friday evening (we arrived around 6pm) and after being shown to a cosy table for two in the restaurant area we sat down expecting the usual pub meal of bland taste and limited menu. This was definitely not the case in this instance. Having ordered the chargrilled lamb for myself and the chicken breast for my wife we prepared ourselves for the meal with a couple of glasses of Merlot and waited to be underwhelmed. However, we were astounded at the quality of food served as it was definitely not the usual pub grub but more befitting of a quality restaurant. The presentation of the meal was superb and the blend of flavours an absolute treat! So much so, I felt I had to ask for Imre the chef to come to the table to congratulate him personally. The restaurant had a good vibe and the service from our waitresses Teyah and Polina excellent. Would recommend getting there early on Friday or Saturday.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank johnhutch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Wow Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your meal and that you were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. All your lovely comments will be passed on to the team and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We went later in the afternoon and it wasn't to busy
We were shown straight to our table
It was a usual menu so we had different starters and all had roast beef
All came pretty quick
Good size portions but beef not too tasty
Everything else ok

Staff friendly
All in all very good
Will be back

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank carpetman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely 5* review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, please be assured your comments will be passed over to the kitchen team.. we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This is a really lovely pub/hotel. The evening food is fabulous, and the rooms are very nice considering the price. The only downside is that the breakfast service is very slow, and the service isn't very attentive. The focus is very much on being a (very good) pub, but it takes so long to pay and eat in the morning that I would not recommend this pub for business travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarahmU9962WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

this is my local pub across the road, friendly staff and a warm welcome. perfect for a quick pint! foods a little bit pricey, but it is has been delicious the two times I have eaten here.
Yummy sunday dinner!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gwynnhipkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We value you as one of our regular customers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Visited today 18th March with friends and we decided to order food as we had ate here previously and it had been good, could not fault the service if a little slow getting drinks but we ordered our food and 2 of our mains came out and we had to wait a few maybe 5 minutes for the other 2 meals. I had the chicken burger which was cold and the chips warm I just carried on and ate as I was hungry my wife had the haddock on mash and we had to send it back as it was very cold, when it came back we had all finished our mains so she had to eat it on her own at no point were we offered a free coffee or an amount off of the bill we were just left alone, the suet pie one had was steaming hot and lovely but the rest was luke warm or cold, if the restaurant was packed I could perhaps understand the food being a little cold but not to that extent so chef please heat your food better and we wills see how it goes next time

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews