We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit”
Review of The Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wellington
Ranked #7 of 49 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Choose this hotel as very close to family. Very friendly staff and clean room, nicely decorated and quiet. The bathroom was a good size, I would have preferred a walk in shower as the bath was deep and we did struggle to step in and out also the water did not go down quickly,! So you stood in ankle deep water every time.
The food was very very good no complaints there, breakfast was also good nothing was trouble. The only one thing that let it down was that on our second night stay we asked for the menu just after 7pm to be told the kitchen was shut! Then guest book stated that to food service was till 8 pm! This was disappointing as we only wanted cheese board and chips! We then had to find some where to eat as we was hungry

Room Tip: No lifts to the rooms, narrow stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angnorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. Please be assured that all your comments are discussed by us as a team and acted upon accordingly. We do hope to see you back here very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017

I have always thought of the Wellington as an after rugby or football venue morphing into a more cosmopolitan pub in the evening. However, following a visit with my wife on an early friday evening (we arrived around 6pm) and after being shown to a cosy table for two in the restaurant area we sat down expecting the usual pub meal of bland taste and limited menu. This was definitely not the case in this instance. Having ordered the chargrilled lamb for myself and the chicken breast for my wife we prepared ourselves for the meal with a couple of glasses of Merlot and waited to be underwhelmed. However, we were astounded at the quality of food served as it was definitely not the usual pub grub but more befitting of a quality restaurant. The presentation of the meal was superb and the blend of flavours an absolute treat! So much so, I felt I had to ask for Imre the chef to come to the table to congratulate him personally. The restaurant had a good vibe and the service from our waitresses Teyah and Polina excellent. Would recommend getting there early on Friday or Saturday.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank johnhutch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Wow Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your meal and that you were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. All your lovely comments will be passed on to the team and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We went later in the afternoon and it wasn't to busy
We were shown straight to our table
It was a usual menu so we had different starters and all had roast beef
All came pretty quick
Good size portions but beef not too tasty
Everything else ok

Staff friendly
All in all very good
Will be back

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank carpetman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely 5* review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, please be assured your comments will be passed over to the kitchen team.. we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This is a really lovely pub/hotel. The evening food is fabulous, and the rooms are very nice considering the price. The only downside is that the breakfast service is very slow, and the service isn't very attentive. The focus is very much on being a (very good) pub, but it takes so long to pay and eat in the morning that I would not recommend this pub for business travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarahmU9962WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

this is my local pub across the road, friendly staff and a warm welcome. perfect for a quick pint! foods a little bit pricey, but it is has been delicious the two times I have eaten here.
Yummy sunday dinner!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gwynevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We value you as one of our regular customers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
4.2 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
4.4 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,316 reviews
3.6 km away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
3.9 km away
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington

Address: Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: $147 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing