We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pit Stop”
Review of The Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wellington
Ranked #7 of 49 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped off for a quick pint, wasn't disappointed pub was busy and a vast amount of ale to chose from.The staff were friendly and judging by the amount of people having Sunday lunch I would say one to try with the family very soon.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank biggs1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

A good place to eat, and ok for vegetarians too as the menu does indicate with a V against suitable dishes. A good option is to go for perhaps three veggie side dishes, if there are no main dishes of interest. And a superb piece of salmon enjoyed by the fish-eater amongst us, although the portion was not very generous and could have done with some new potatoes. Beer and cider superb as always!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I like drinking here (in the little bit of the place that is not assigned to restaurant seating!) but the menu isn't vegan friendly. It's a shame because it's the closest pub to my house! I hope they might catch up one day.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Olive0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Sunday lunch was very good. Not cheap but good service and nice food. Veggie option unusual and not the norm. But no choice in the roast menu. Just a tip veggie gravy is better than curdled sauce. But veggie meal was lovely and I am hard to please!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We came here for the Balloon Fiesta, which incidentally is fab, well worth coming for. We arrived here at 2.30 on a Saturday and our hearts sank. The place was absolutely packed with football​ fans, albeit well behaved one, but within half an hour they'd all gone to the match.
The pub is beautifully decorated and the rooms are bright and clean and the toiletries were a nice touch. The outside has hanging baskets which makes it look bright and well cared for. We had lunch before we went back to the fiesta which was delicious and the service was fast and efficient. Next morning we all opted for the full English breakfast which was well cooked and piping hot and all made with local produce. It was surprisingly filling and thoroughly enjoyable. Having said that there were a couple of things that irked. My husband and I both had tea and the waitress brought us really good sized cups but the small pot of tea wasn't enough for both of us and we had to ask the waitress to refill it. We had toast with our breakfast but the amount of butter we were given wasn't enough to go round for 4 of us and we also had to ask for extra sugar and finally, we had to pay an extra £3 each for breakfast. Given that we paid £120 for the room for the night is it really necessary to add a surcharge ? It seems a bit churlish to me.All in all we had good stay and would highly recommend the place and would definitely stay there again, just had a couple of small niggles that slightly spoiled it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teresawebb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for you 5* review, it is always pleasing to read such positive feedback regarding all aspects of your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
4.2 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
4.4 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,316 reviews
3.6 km away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
3.9 km away
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington

Address: Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: $147 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing