We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Place for a Drink.”
Review of The W. G. Grace

The W. G. Grace
Ranked #452 of 1,677 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: International, British, Pub
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We visited here early on a Saturday evening for pre-dinner drinks. It was still fairly quiet so plenty of tables available. The ladies in our group were trying items from the rum menu while us gents were sampling beers.

Good to see some nice local real ales on sale, and the two I had were very well kept. The ladies really enjoyed their rum-fest too! As with all Wetherspoons, the drinks always offer excellent value for money.

The staff were friendly, although for some reason it took an age to be served the second time. The place is pleasant enough with a cosy feel, unlike some of the huge beer halls at other JDW pubs. We will certainly return, and probably sample the food next time too.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hacendado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WG_Grace_Bristol, Manager at The W. G. Grace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thanks for the visit and the review. We pride ourselves on the conditioning of ales so happy to hear that you enjoyed yours. Please visit again and do try our new menu its always good to wash it down with more excellent ales. We also run our Gin palace and vodka distillery which the ladies can try out on the next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017

An evening out to celebrate a birthday.
12 people! A good evening out.
Some of us opted for a curry as it was Curry Night!
Service was reasonable, food could have been warmer.
The most annoying things was nobody removed the glasses from our tables in the end we had a collection of 30+

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jctld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WG_Grace_Bristol, Manager at The W. G. Grace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review.

I do apologise about some of the points you brought up. We hope you visit again and if there are any problems please let us know so we can rectify them during your time here.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We have visited here several times, ie we keep going back for more.

On the positive side, the food and drink are very good value for money and there is a wide choice of food and drink. The guest beers change frequently.
There is a lot of spcae, so not crowded.

On the negative side, the last time (sunday) there was just one person trying to serve (and failing), the glasses we had were all grubby (dishwasher probably just needed salt and a clean) and the ladies toilets lacked toilet paper.

We would go again, because it is a very convenient location, one can always find somewhere to sit and excellent value for money; the glasses have not been grubby before and we will bring our own toilet paper.

If walking in towards the back, we would avoid the seats on the right in the back room because the large TV screen is just there. I am sure that the menu will be on the Witherspoons web site to see what is available before arriving.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank SimonBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WG_Grace_Bristol, Manager at The W. G. Grace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi Simon

Apologies about the glasses they should always be clean as we renovate them weekly and as for the toilet paper the staff are checking the toilets hourly but I will bring up with the team. We are happy to see that this has not put you off returning. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Our son was working in Bristol and suggested that we popped down on the bus to meet him for a late breakfast (10.15am).

Restaurant not busy - a short wait to place the order at the bar and coffee made whilst I waited, after the food order had gone through to the kitchen.

Comfortable tables in booths round the edge in the main room up stairs at the back of the bar (there is a wheelchair lift). Food arrived in good time and was excellent - good portions, well cooked, very tasty. Excellent value.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WG_Grace_Bristol, Manager at The W. G. Grace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi Chris

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are over the moon that you appreciate the hard work the team does here to ensure customers are happy. Please visit again as we have just extended the menu to include Pizza's. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This is how a Wetherspoons should be run. We've visited quite a few over the past few years but this has to rate as one of the best. Clean, tidy, lovely atmosphere, attentive friendly staff and food cooked perfectly. First time we have visited but definitely not the last :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WG_Grace_Bristol, Manager at The W. G. Grace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review with flying colours. We are glad you enjoy visiting and even more happy that you are going to return. Thank you for noticing all of the hard work the team here at the grace do to try and provide the best customer experience possible.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The W. G. Grace also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to The W. G. Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing