We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality for a party of 17 - it's nice to be back!”
Review of Crown Inn

Crown Inn
Ranked #37 of 237 Restaurants in High Wycombe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This is so much better than the last time we visited - and resolved never to return because the service was so slow and disjointed. But we liked the venue so much we decided to give it another try - so a huge round of applause to Tracy and the team for the lunch they served for our party of 17 last Friday. As the organiser, I often receive feedback from members of our group and last week's event generated some of the most positive comments ever.
The food was excellent - with the sea bass and seared scallops risotto rated as 'best I've ever eaten' from one member of the group. Others were equally enthusiastic.
The service, led by Tracy, was friendly and efficient - enabling those who wanted 'starter' and 'main' to keep pace with those who wanted 'main' and 'dessert' and no one was kept waiting.
A note to organisers of large parties: make sure you give Tracy plenty of notice so she can ensure that she has enough staff to cater for you.
So pleased we came back! - We will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ijk945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Very disappointed having had previous good visits. Not a very good choice of food and prices very high for average quality. Service was abysmal. will not come here again in a hurry.
Brian M

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4489Tracy, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to place your first review on Trip Advisor. You state that you have previously had good visits however let down on this occasion. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. Detailed feedback is important. Please contact me on 6168@greeneking.co.uk to discuss further.
Kind Regards. Tracy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely place with delicious food. Have been there many times and have never been disappointed. Truly great food and very friendly staff. Strongly recommend to visit. Chicken & Smoked Cheese Sauce - absolutely delicious!!

2  Thank Хаотичность В
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughGarfield, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to The Crown,Penn. It's great to see that a regular visitor reviews us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the chicken and smoked cheese sauce which is a new dish on our autumn/winter menu.
Kind Regards. Tracy and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Very bad service last night walked out after waiting ages they spend their time cleaning tables when they should concentrate on looking after the people that are waiting to order.

3  Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughGarfield, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Les G
I am sorry that you felt compelled to write this review. Your table for 4 was booked for 8pm however your arrival was staggered and delayed. I appreciate that delays can happen however this can also affect our service at peak times. Our team member at the time you decided to leave was preparing 1 table for a booking that was due. Your open tab had drinks on it, so it was not a case of not concentrating on your table, just a short delay as outlined. I do hope you will consider dining with us in future.
Please contact me on 6168@greeneking.co.uk should you wish to discuss.
Regards Tracy Armour, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Even with the 40% discount the mains were disappointing. I don't know why the Crown has gone so far downhill. Starters and sweets were good and service fine

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
2  Thank janecJ1819LX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughGarfield, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to read that you had no issues with starters, desserts and service. However I note that mains were disappointing and hence your rating . Feedback is important on our menu or quality of the dishes we serve so improvements can be made.
Please contact me on 6168@greeneking.co.uk to discuss further.
Regards Tracy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown Inn also viewed

High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing