We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I absolutely love this place......”
Review of The Wheel PH

The Wheel PH
Ranked #38 of 249 Restaurants in High Wycombe
Price range: US$7 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Wheel is a traditional English Pub that dates back to the Late 1700's. We are situated in the heart of The Chilterns with great walks and very near Hughenden Manor. We are an award winning Real Ale Pub, that also has awards for food. The pub has two great gardens and also has a great smoking area. This traditional pub is dog friendly, muddy boot,family friendly and has great space for all your needs. You can get to us by bus from High Wycombe on the 300 bus route.
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I have been here for lunch several times now - the staff are friendly, welcoming and nothing is never too much trouble.
The first thing I noticed was the sign saying "muddy boots welcome" - this made me smile - as being out in the countryside, there are many hikers and cyclists (my husband being an avid cyclist), and I know that they are not always made to feel welcome when in need of some refreshments - well that certainly does not apply here!
The food has always been absolutely gorgeous, really fresh and ever so tasty - and the price is absolutely spot on!
This really is a recommendation as, nowadays, it is so very rare to find such great qualities in a rural pub/restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Melbelle1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark c, Owner at The Wheel PH, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2016

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Popped in with my Dad and Nan one Friday lunchtime. The landlady and barmaid couldn't have been more welcoming. Really nice homely food at value for money - would definitely recommend. They were happy to do a smaller portion for my Nan as well. There were 3 real ales on, the two my Dad and I tried were excellent.
Two lovely pub dogs too!

Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark c, Owner at The Wheel PH, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2016

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

This is not a delightful building from the outside. However inside it is really great. We went for a family saturday lunch. The staff were genuinely welcoming and that continued throughout our stay. To be honest they were so delightful we would have forgiven them anything. But we didn't need to. The beer was good as was the food. All hand prepared and cooked, they really have a chef rather than a cook.

Can't recommend it too highly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnOxfordCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark c, Manager at The Wheel PH, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review. I will ensure that I let the relevant staff know you comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We stumbled on this pub whilst we were looking for another pub! But after driving around we decided to stop and have a well earned drink.

We received a very warm welcome from the landlord who was outside at the time and he told us they were doing food if we decided to eat and that we could sit in restaurant or the bar. We ventured in and ordered our drinks and decided to sit in the bar. We got chatting to some friendly locals who were 'full of beans' so we decided to forget about the other pub and stay for something to eat. The food was excellent, I had a burger and my husband had the Ham, Egg and Chips. I don't understand the review about the burger bun as mine was lovely and fresh! The food came out promptly and the lady serving us was very friendly. My husband commented on how lovely the Guinness was and he's a hard man to please with Guinness.

We ended up staying a lot longer then we planned chatting away to everyone, time seems to fly by in there, and a taxi was needed to get home! All in all great pub and a fantastic find, we will be back.

Thank SarahH-W01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark c, Owner at The Wheel PH, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Thank you for you review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

We often travel and the Wheel is a great place to eat and drink after a tortuous journey. The welcome is always friendly, the beer is always good and it's a good plce to eat for pub favourites. Naphill is very lucky to have the Wheel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tripsat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark c, Owner at The Wheel PH, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheel PH also viewed

High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
Lacey Green, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Wheel PH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing