We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Whitebait”
Review of The Grouse and Ale

The Grouse and Ale
Ranked #14 of 254 Restaurants in High Wycombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: With the relaxed ambiance of an English country pub, an elegant menu made from local produce and plenty of room to breathe (and park) the Grouse & Ale is the perfect venue for a social occasion or an informal meeting/function that needs more than just biscuits and coffee.The entire bar and restaurant is WIFI and there are plenty of niches to relax in with open fires to banish any winter chills, come the summer, take your drinks outside into our secluded courtyard.We hope that you will feel able to relax in comfortable surroundings, secure in the knowledge that the service, drinks and food will be perfect – whatever the occasion; Sunday lunch, a romantic dinner or a business session.Gastro Pub of the Year - 2010Quite simply, we’re very proud of our food. Our approach to designing the menu, reflects our ethos – do the simplest things brilliantly well. Our daily specials reflect a table d’hôte offering to supplement the a la carte menu along with an extensive, informal menu at the bar. Wherever possible, our menus are created from locally sourced produce and meats.
Reviewed 18 September 2015

I tend to use this pub/Restaurant whenever I'm in the High Wycombe area. I have been there many times and i have never been disappointed, the staff are friendly and the food is great and even if they are busy the service is prompt.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 355 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with my family. Staff were extremely friendly and service was excellent. Would definitely recommend

Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos m, Owner at The Grouse and Ale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely dinner with family at this pub. It was a Saturday & quite busy, but found parking easily at 8.30. Food was lovely around £20 per head for 2 courses - really friendly staff & great warm atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

Thank rahhodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos m, Owner at The Grouse and Ale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

We're happy that you and your family celebrated a birthday with us and that you enjoyed the food and friendly service. There's another warm welcome waiting for you next time you come.
Best regards, Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

Visited The Grouse for a lunch meeting in July. The car park was full, usually a good sign. Managed to get a table, the lunch menu was extensive and well balanced. The food came in reasonable time, well presented and tasty. Good Ales selection, service was prompt and efficient. Definitely would recommend.

Thank marzolios2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos m, Owner at The Grouse and Ale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review the Grouse & Ale. We pride ourselves on offering good food in a comfortable pub environment. I'm glad you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope you can join us for dinner on another occasion. Best wishes, Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Great evening. Very friendly staff, great service, food was delicious and the wine not overly priced. A really lovely atmosphere and décor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SMC2014900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos m, Owner at The Grouse and Ale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a great time with us. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grouse and Ale also viewed

High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
West Wycombe, High Wycombe
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
Great Kingshill, High Wycombe
 

Been to The Grouse and Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing